Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 1671 rum

Captain Morgan 1671

Puerto Rico | Spiced

7.1/10
76 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
5
8
18
16
13
11

Rate Captain Morgan 1671

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Captain Morgan 1671 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Laura from United States with 1 rating

I haven't been able to find this rum in my hometown of Longview, TX for over a year. I was told that it wasn't being produced anymore. Well, to my pleasant surprise, I'm spending the night in Ft. Worth and the liquor store across the street from my hotel has it! Woot woot! I am so excited. The guy there told me he had just ordered it a month ago and had no problem getting it. I had also found it in Austin last year so Idk why I can't find it near me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Chetwynd from Australia with 8 ratings

Very smooth, amazing as well, I love the bottle it is what made me buy it, the flavors inside are so yummy, shots or with Cola. A huge fan of this one, wish they kept it around for longer.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Not as much vanilla as Private Stock, but still a good/excessive amount. I add it to rum and coke, but will an equal amount of some other non-vanilla bomb rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I like the 1671. I feel it is quite smooth. Caramel and vanilla, with an almost chocolate finish. Have not mixed, but use for a sipper. Cool bottle also. On a side note, I also like the Captain Morgan Sherry Cask, which I feel is a bit smoother. All in all, I think 1671 is a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

If you are considering this the private stock is much better and worth the price difference. Agree with the reviewer who noted cocoa notes. Vanilla does not come through as much and kind of clashes with coke instead of improving it. Have not found the right application for this yet, may mix better with ginger beer?

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

A good effort from the captain but it is still a rum for university students not a rum collectors choice to buy. Nice bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

No typically fan of spice rum however I saw this and I though I would give it a go.

Nose: The best part. Cocoa and spices.
Feel: You hardly know you are tasting rum...
Taste: because all you can taste is the sugar. You don't even need to put it with coke they have added quite enough already. Sickly.
Presentation: This is why a bought it. I though they were taking rum seriously and could make a nicely balanced spice rum where the goal was to flavour rather than mask.
Cost: 38CAD. Way way too much.