Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 1671 rum

Captain Morgan 1671

Puerto Rico | Spiced

7.1/10
76 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
5
8
18
16
13
11

Rate Captain Morgan 1671

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Captain Morgan 1671 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Laura from United States with 1 rating

I haven't been able to find this rum in my hometown of Longview, TX for over a year. I was told that it wasn't being produced anymore. Well, to my pleasant surprise, I'm spending the night in Ft. Worth and the liquor store across the street from my hotel has it! Woot woot! I am so excited. The guy there told me he had just ordered it a month ago and had no problem getting it. I had also found it in Austin last year so Idk why I can't find it near me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Loiselle from Canada with 1 rating

Brown caramel color verry surprising a smooth entry in mouth no strong alcool sent to the nose the finih and after taste leave a verry plesent taste on the rock or strait up in a cold glass like other captain morgan this rhum is better served chill but not cold. To my taste it is the onlyMorgan that deserve to be left unmixed.
Morgan's your captain would be proud of that one. Arrg arrg.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Robert from United States with 76 ratings

Good rum with some decent vanilla flavor. Too bad this has been discontinued.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 31 ratings

I did not expect much from Captain, however boy did he deliver. This is still one of my favorite rums for an excellent rum and coke. Similar to Private Stock, however has a much more pronounced vanilla taste. On the nose it has vanilla and numerous fruits which I could not quite pinpoint. Sad that I only have two left in my possession.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jonny RumBallz from United States with 4 ratings

Familiar Captain Morgan flavor but with a smoother flavor. The bottle is pretty cool too.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jim Beekler from United States with 1 rating

VERY VERY Good! Not enough O's in SMOOOOOOO......TH

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Terry from Canada with 2 ratings

this is by far a surprise to me. I could not believe how much I enjoyed this rum. I'm just so happy that I have 3 more bottles to enjoy. Actually 2, one I think I will save for a very special occasion.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by AlohaRover from United States with 11 ratings

Like the vanilla hints. Big fan of this rum, inexpesive, great over ice or with your favorite mixxer

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I don't know exactly what possessed me to buy a bottle of this. Especially after rating Capt. Morgan Cannon Blast with a 1 (wish I could've given it a 0) and the Capt. Morgan Private Stock with a 2. But I've been told that this one is different and better. Plus I read it's been discontinued. So when I ran across some for sale on the clearance table, I thought, "Why not?".

As the title says...it doesn't suck.

It's not great, either. But it doesn't make me want to vomit after consuming a few meager sips like the Canon Blast did (that stuff sucks with a capital SUCK).

The color in the snifter is like a lightly stained mahogany.

The aroma...smells like candy...uh-oh...could spell trouble...

The flavor is indeed sweet but not sickenly sweet. It does have spices but nothing really stands out. At only 70 proof (35% ABV) it does not have as much of a kick as 80 proof (or higher) rums. Borderline liqueur. A little too sweet for colas and fruit-based drinks. Probably works well with coffee-based cocktails and with drier beverages (as a counter to the sweetness).

Okay...I admit...this doesn't suck. It's still not good but it is not the worst out there either. Take it for what it is. If this was discontinued by the folks at Capt. Morgan then I consider it a poor decision by their marketing department.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jay from United States with 8 ratings

Arguably the best in the Morgan line. Very full and dark. Awesome with pineapple and grenadine.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

This rum has such a unique flavour to me. Serve it with cola and some bergy bits and a fine refreshing drink is had. Hearty, sincere, and very tasty.