Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 1671 rum

Captain Morgan 1671

Puerto Rico | Spiced

7.1/10
76 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
5
8
18
16
13
11

Rate Captain Morgan 1671

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Captain Morgan 1671 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Laura from United States with 1 rating

I haven't been able to find this rum in my hometown of Longview, TX for over a year. I was told that it wasn't being produced anymore. Well, to my pleasant surprise, I'm spending the night in Ft. Worth and the liquor store across the street from my hotel has it! Woot woot! I am so excited. The guy there told me he had just ordered it a month ago and had no problem getting it. I had also found it in Austin last year so Idk why I can't find it near me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by John from United States with 1 rating

Aroma: vanilla dominates, but caramel present with potentially hints of clove. Spice not overwhelming, but present

Taste: smooth, very adaptable. Like others have said, fine with coke, although the vanilla and caramel notes do not clash with fruit juices or other liquors.
Honestly, I could drink this straight, room temperature. It's just that good.

Cost: surprisingly low for such a great rum

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 470 ratings

This rum reminds me a lot of the Brinley Gold Shipwreck Spiced Rum (in case you never find this one as I read it might be discontinued). I ever so slightly prefer the Shipwreck Spiced because it doesn't have quite as much spice to it.

Smells and tastes of caramel, vanilla, sugar, with a strong, and somewhat floral spice. A bit weak at 35%abv, but a very nice spiced rum nonetheless.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

The bottle caught my eye while in the USA and I couldn't resist the packaging. Mixed or neat you can't go wrong. Love the overall experience paired with a great cigar. Was available for a short time in Canada for double the price. Still worth every penny.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

This is a good spiced rum. For some it could be considered overly sweet with all of the additives but it is a good sipper for something different. It has a strong vanilla flavor as well as a bit of apricot and chocolate. Good finish and as stated before be prepared because it is sweet. This is a good sipper and good to cook with. I make a BBQ sauce with this as well as a pancake syrup.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Simon maloney from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Came across this in Vegas and loved it. Very cool bottle design, great taste and perfect with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 87 ratings

Not a bad rum by any means, but overpriced for what you get. Aside from the nicely presented bottle, the actual rum is only marginally better than standard captain morgan rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by matt from United States with 2 ratings

Slick bottle to start with. At first taste a mild vanilla hollered by stronger spices than you standard captain morgansbut minus the bite . sweeter than the original captains but not too sweet. Highly drinkable over ice but great with coke or my favorite bundaberg ginger beer

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. This was really good for a cheep rum from captain, good job

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

Was a good rum b
UT not the best. Much better then any other captain I have had and works good as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Smitty from United States with 3 ratings

Surprisingly smooth and has a good finish, nothing overpowering, just a very good spiced rum. It has been mixing in so well with most applications that it is becoming my go-to rum for mixed drinks. The bottle is pretty cool too.