Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 1671 rum

Captain Morgan 1671

Puerto Rico | Spiced

7.2/10 (75 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
5
7
19
15
13
11

Rate Captain Morgan 1671

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


75 Captain Morgan 1671 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Everyone has that one kind of alcohol that makes them gag because they once drank too much of it and vomited all night long. For me that alcohol is Captain Morgan original spiced rum, I hate the stuff. I also don't drink spiced rum very often and the last bottle I bought was The Kraken original spiced rum around the time when it was brand new. Somehow I decided to buy this CM 1671 bottle bc I haven't seen it at any other liquor store I've ever been to, and it was only 20 bucks. I can say that I don't hate this one, it's sweet and very smooth with tons of vanilla and some solid spice flavor to it. It still reminds me of regular captain but not gag worthy, idk all spiced rums tastes the same to me. I did have a tiny 50ml bottle of Kraken on hand at the time and when I compared them the flavors we're quite similar except the 1671 was sweeter and smoother which was expected. The 1671 is 70 proof with a lot of added sugar vs Kraken 94 proof w ?some sugar but likely less added. Nothing very special but 1671 is smooth and sweet and good to mix, I happened to bevdrinking it on the rocks and it had zero burn. My next spiced rum will be the new 70 proof Kraken Black that is not yet on rum ratings AKA "the Blacken". It reminds me of partying in the summertime and taking shots of some kind of spiced rum. Overall it's smooth enough to sip if u like the flavor but probably tastes best to make a vanilla rum n coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

This rum has a great flavor with nice legs and beautiful aroma. Strong hints of vanilla and spice. One of my favorite sipping rums

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Britain22 from United States with 21 ratings

One of the other reviews said that and I totally agree. A very good rum and a great bottle!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by jrtglobal from Spain with 9 ratings

I don't know what happened to CM, but their quality has dropped plenty over the years

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 123 ratings

This one is actually pretty solid. Very interesting dark notes.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

Glad I tried it. Probably wouldn’t drink it again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by cmpopp1 from United States with 12 ratings

I’m not a real “regular” Captain Morgan fan, but will occasionally have a Captain and Coke when I’m out. I went to my local package store to buy my regular go-to rum because we were hosting a bunch of friends for a party but they were sold out. There was a single dusty bottle of this left at a very inexpensive $20 price tag so I gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise. I drank half the bottle in rum & cokes, but spent the rest of the weekend drinking the rest on the rocks. So smooth & tasty. I’d never do that with regular Captain Morgan. Buy with confidence (but save me a bottle lol).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

I am not a Captain Morgan hater though I prefer Sailor Jerry's at the bar. Not the Captain Morgan most know, it has a much smoother taste and nose though not a sipper, There is a dominant taste that is different than most spiced rums, pleasant but better in coke than citrus. Will keep it in my bar for that unique taste but believe Bacardi Black Oak is more rounded overall.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2659 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Captain Morgan 1671 rum with my friend during a 5,000 mile road trip across 18 States. Bottle and label design look nice and unique, not the traditional low end Captain Morgan style. Amber color. Strong caramel flavors straight to your nose and palate. Quite a burn at the end. This is still a mixer rum, although its the best Captain Morgan has to offer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark Beckman from United States with 1 rating

For me it starts with the aroma going to Simply the taste of the spices and it's smoothness and it ends on a wonderful finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ghost Monkey from United States with 6 ratings

This is a surprisingly elegant offering from a brand I associate with keg stands on the beach in panama city fl. Lots of not so subtle flavors and sweet finish. This does fine sipped on its own or mixed. Price seems to vary greatly. Would not pay top dollar for this one but definitely pleasantly surprised.