Posting your rating...
St. Nicholas Abbey 15-Year rum

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 St. Nicholas Abbey 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

This rum is beautiful. The nose is richly filled with notes of banana, papaya, mango, vanilla and oak. It has a golden color with a subtle greenish shade and the texture is very oily. The rum really clings to the glass if you give it a light swirl. This is a very smooth rum, but don't mistake that for a lack of taste. The slightly frail palate treats you intensely with the same fruity notes found in the nose. This is coupled with a bit of oak, tobacco and earthy, roasted hazelnuts and subtle sugarcane juice sweetness. There's also a taste reminiscent of melted butter. The real trick with this rum though, is how perfectly balanced the notes are. The lovely fruit notes discretely lingers on for a very long time at the back of your throat. This rum is amazing and downright elegant. It might take some time to appreciate the composition, but every glass just seems to get better.

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Let this rum rest for a while and you will find more aromas and less sticky alcohol. At first you sense some chemicals (acetone) and alcohol. A strange aroma of chemicals that reminds me of the smell when my wife does her nails. After a while you get more light aromas of fruit, vanilla and some oak.

In mouth the St. Nicholas Abbey 15-Year is smooth and you can find vanilla, dried fruit and some oak. The aftertaste is long and a little bit harsh.

This rum is not sweet enough for me. It is a high quality rum but maybe it is too sophisticated for my palette. This rum reminds me of a light single malt whisky.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Based on the other reviews, I feel bad rating at an 8, but I need to be honest. It's very good. Smooth. Creamy. I get tropical fruit and smoked oak. It's light, and smooth, and dry.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I've promised myself that I will drink this rum all the time. It looks good, it smells great and the taste is pure Bajan gold. There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this superbly crafted product. It is extraordinary.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is a really smooth rum, the smell of this rum is fabulous too. Its fresh tropical fruit The smell and flavours marry together well.

I let my wife taste it and her words were, thats nice.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Recently took a trip to Barbados and visited Simon at St. Nicholas Abbey. He explained the detailed process to rum making and we began tasting. I thought the 10yr was good until I had a taste of the 15yr.
Not only is the bottle a work of art, the rum is out of this WORLD.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

I got to try this one at the UK Rumfest in 2013, and if the 12 is amazing, well then this one is just priceless...one of the absolutely best rums i ever have tasted. It has everything the 12 yo has but much more...it´s fuller, thicker, even more flavorful, i love it!

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a pretty good bourbon aged rum, but I'm not really a fan of bourbon aged rums.

I felt the 18 year had too much bourbon, so I stepped down to this. This also has very heavy bourbon, and is also very similar to the 18 year. In a side by side comparison, however, I ever so slightly preferred the 18 year. The extra aging gives it just a bit more of a sophisticated flavor.

Like the 18 year, this is a very smooth rum, with smells and tastes of bourbon, spice, pine, tobacco, leather, and a hint of oak, vanilla, brown sugar, and cinnamon. It's just too dry for my liking.

If you like bourbon aging, you'll probably love this rum as much as many other raters do.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

This has everything you could wan't in a nice old Barbados Rum. The nose has tropic fruits, caramel, banana, a slight vanilla and more. I would have loved to taste a cask strenght expression of this Rum, the 40% seems a shame.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Interesting sugary smell.

Syrupy full flavoured.

Medicinal, almost like a peated malt whisky (think Laphroaig) but not quite as intense as that.

It is different but not nice enough for me to spend that much money.

Did I mention how cool the bottle is? The cheaper versions do have bottles just as cool though.

Posted 5 months ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 123 ratings

Someone loves me way more than I deserve. This is outstanding.

Posted 8 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 0-5 GPL. This is the smoothest of the St Nicholas line of rums that I have been able to taste or own. I was able to snag a sample of this while touring the Abbey. Oak, honey, vanilla, clover, tropical fruit, and subtle taste of smoke with a long smooth burn. In my opinion all of the St Nicholas Abbey rums have similar flavour profiles that become smoother with aging. I have the 5, 8, and 12 year old rums in my bar and the 15 year old was tempting to own, but it's a bit overpriced compared to the 12 year old vintage. The rum is pure gold but you need some gold in your pocket to own it. I bought a bottle of the 5 and 8 year old vintages for less than the cost of the 15.

Posted over 1 year ago by Torbs (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is not just a fantasticly smooth rum but it also has a sentimental factor. We just keep going back to it

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of St. Nicholas Abbey 12y and 15y back-to-back while vacationing in Paris. Okay bottle design, but could be much fancier taken into consideration its price. Color is amber. Very strong whisky flavors to both nose and palate. A hint of burn at the end. Hard to tell the difference between 12y and 15y for this vintage. Both earn a respectable 7.

Posted about 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

I enjoyed this expression of Rum at Smugglers Cove, 650 Gough St, S.F. What a damn good vintage. Once again, St. Nicholas Abbey rocks the house! Somehow they have mastered this smooth sweet no sugar game. Without exception, the older the expression, the smoother and oakier flavors start to dominate in my mouth. Nothing too strong or overwhelming, more like honey kisses from tinker bell. The long finish is simply heaven. I give this a 9, and upgraded the 18 yo to a 10. Too bad the 15 is no longer available, it’s a big jump from the current 12 to the18 year old offerings. Enjoy this If you got it! There is something special going on here,

Posted over 3 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Top rum van de Foursquare Distilleerderij die nog wat gerijpt heeft bij St. Nicholas Abbey.

Heerlijke smaken van caramel, hout, banaan, sinaasappelschil en toffee.

Zacht en droog. Geen suiker en kleurstoffen toegevoegd.

Prijzig maar wel een aanrader.

Posted over 4 years ago by Casper from DK with 9 ratings

I really like this rum. The smell i gentle and with oak, caramel and a hint of fruit. II was surpriced how thin it is in the mouth and glass. The taste is oak with some sweetness and very gentle. The taste stays in the mouth a long time and is a pleasure. But i cant give a higher score than 8 because its expensive and i expext more at that price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

Nose is super inviting, fruity and with a slight industrial touch that really suits it. In the back im also finding Vanilla.
In the mouth, a little weak at first, vanilla, dried fruit (abricot and banana?) and some coconut dominates to me. But the exit to the aftertaste is very good!
Aftertaste is long, and varies... Fruit comes, then disappears, comes again. Its dry and yet it feels a bit sweet. I like it but will never be a gigantic fan of the genre, a bit too watery. BUT dont get me wrong this is good. 8/10

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lorne from CA with 10 ratings

Amazing rum. Not sweet, but lots of flavours to enjoy..banana especially.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

This is a single cask rum so it is all 15 years old, and nothing is added to this rum which I like a lot!! The rum is very light in color because they haven't added any color to it, and when you swirl it in the glas, it makes some medium fat drops that moves slowly down. It is incredibly intense in the nose and the first that comes to my mind is ''tropical fruits in a summer day'' like if you were enjoying it on Barbados (have never been there, so I'm only imagine it:-). I find banana, melted butter, vanilla and some orange peel in the nose, delicious!! In the mouth it is also very intense, clean, thick and a little bit dry, and there I find notes as banana, orange, oak and in general tropical fruits. The aftertaste is well balanced and just keep on coming for a looooong time. This rum is really outstanding and everyone should try this authentic rum!!