Posting your rating...
New Grove Old Tradition 8-Year rum

New Grove Old Tradition 8-Year

Mauritius | Aged

6.0/10 (35 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
8
5
15
3

Rate New Grove Old Tradition 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


35 New Grove Old Tradition 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Čekal jsem vzhledem k věku víc. Lehce nadprůměrný zlatý rum s trochou dřeva na konci.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Schönes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase der Duft von einem Karamell Bonbon das auf Eichenholz klebt und langsam an der Sonne zerläuft. Auch die Mauritius typischen medizinal-pflanzlichen Düfte sind präsent.
In Gaumen eher etwas sperrig und wild im positivem Sinn. Holz, Harz, Mango, Pflaume buhlen um die Gunst der Geschmacksknospen.
Im Abgang lang anhaltend, Kräuter und Gewürze mit einer Priese Salz.
Ein "purer" Rum mit Ecken und Kanten für Entdecker und Liebhaber dieser Machart . Leider nichts für Süss-Rum Geniesser. 7+

Beautiful amber in a glass.
In the nose the scent of a caramel candy that sticks to oak wood and slowly melts in the sun. Also the Mauritius typical medicinal herbal scents are present.
In the palate rather bulky and wild in a positive sense. Wood, resin, mango, plum vie for the favour of the taste buds.
Long finish, herbs and spices with a pinch of salt.
A "pure" rum with corners and edges for discoverers and lovers of this style. Unfortunately nothing for sweet rum connoisseurs. 7+

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kru from Denmark with 8 ratings

A lot of oak which is nice, but not a lot of depth and still a bit of kick from the alcohol

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Smells like there is lots going on, including some orange peel, but unfortunately there isn’t a lot of taste of anything.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 145 ratings

Although I am from the cold north of Denmark, then my family still have quite a history with Mauritius, so it is always special for me, when a bottle from this island nation hits the table.

Nose: Cinnamon, nutmeg and a small whiff of oak
Taste: A very light tasting rum with flavors of dry fruits and subtle funky quality
Overall: There is a lot going on with this rum and it packs a lot of flavour. Complex, but still friendly to more inexperience rum lovers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Nose reminds me of apples, the actual flavor is very... unique. Seems like they mixed beer or something into this, probably a result of whisky barrel aging.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Duft af frugt og især af syltetøj. Faktisk ret meget, hvilket giver en forventning af noget sødt, men smagen lever ikke op til duften. Smag af fad, lidt tobak og lidt lakrids. Er lidt sprittet, som giver en tørhed i munden, der gør at man bliver tørstig. Har smagt rom, der var meget dårligere, men bestemt også bedre. (3. December 2018)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Very spicy and harsh on the tongue, wax on the nose. Definitelly not my kind of a rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

8 years aged rum from Mauritius with no additives.
Aroma with dried fruit, honey and hints of tobbaco.
Flavour is rich with some refreshing tones in the middle. There are hints of tee, cinnamon and bit of smoke.
Long mild, sweet and woody aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 90 ratings

Doften är ok lite fruktig, kryddig i smaken, torr i avslutet. Saknar fyllighet. Ok.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Vune je velmi zajimava neco jako fiky a horici ovocne drevo. Chut je podstatne drsnejsi, dub a kour. Dozvuk je dlouhy a prijemne hrejivy