Posting your rating...
Panama Red Overproof rum

Panama Red Overproof

Panama | Overproof

7.0/10 (33 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
6
9
10
3

Rate Panama Red Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 Panama Red Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

This is a rum with a lot of kick. At first it goes off like a bomb in the mouth with a 54% alcohol. When the tongue have become accustomed it reveals a lot of spicy flavors with a long taste. It is very intense, but does a very good job on a cold evening. Certainly a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

I truly like like this one. My first overproof rum (90+) it sits on 108 proof and it is really a nice experience.

Nose: fresh mountain air, hazel nuts and chocolate.

Pallet: burned figs, dark chocolate and a really long sweet pleasent burn.

Because i want to have an overproof on the topshelf, this one is uprated from 7 to 8 untill i find an overproof that can knock it of the topshelf.

Cant find any sugar test for this one, but i'd say it has plenty added ;-)

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

A temperfull little lady with 54% Dont let it scare you though, nose nor taste.
Nose: Alcohol, notes of chocolate and some vanillale vanilie?

Mouth: Feel the alcohol, let it hit you and then observe it beeing taken over by burned sugar, dark chocolate and some tobacco-ish taste.
For the extremely low price-tag this is impressive, especially when you get used to the impressive 54% Dont let the somewhat dodgy bottle (cap) scare you, obviously the money here is spent on whats inside.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Classic spirit bottle with screw cap. Interesting label, almost 2. world war - pinup - style. Beautiful color of dark honey/amber.
First nose from the bottle - sweet rich dark chocolate, caramel, mint.
In the glass - Again beautiful color, but a little thin when looking at the legs.
Nose - Strong sent of dark chocolate, sweet molasses, caramel, vanilla, coconut.
Taste - Sweet, burned caramel, wood/oak, vanilla, butter, hazel nut finish.

Very nice rum. The 54% ALC/VOL is not to overpowering. Still a lot of notes in the rum, and a powerful nose and taste of dark chocolate. Very interesting - extremely long - finish. I was recommended to drink this rum mixed with cola, but it is just as good straight up.
When it’s gone, a re-buy is a must.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Saw this Rum in our local liquor store, bottom shelf, and just had to try it. It has a nice bouquet, orange and lemon to start and sweet overall. The first taste is again orangey, also sweet, but quickly turns spicy and hot on the palette. The flavor is overpowered by that sensation. The second taste however is tamer, with hints of licorice and cocoa coming through in the finish. On the throat, it's not as peppery as it is the mouth. It's smooth enough to drink straight up, save for the first bit of heat. The last taste in the mouth is sweetness, polished. 7 out of 10. Good neat or a cola.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Fonzie from Denmark with 3 ratings

Amber in color. Strongish but not to strong. Sweet and spicy

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Belle découverte, goût de cassonade et chocolat. Malgré l'alcool de 54%, le goût d'alcool est surprenament pas persistant.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

This rum have all the makings of something horribly sweet, but the added kick from the 54abv saves this and puts in a good territory.

Nose: Burnt sugar, caramel and some burn from the alcohol
Taste: Milk and white chocolate, almost like Bailey´s, but with a nice punch from the alcohol
Overall: At 40abv it would have been sweet, almost sickening, but it is saved by the added percentages.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 188 ratings

Duft af whisky i duft og smag. Ville være ok, hvis det ikke var rom, jeg hellere ville have. Den er ikke dårlig og 6,5 var måske en bedre karakter. Kan ikke genkende, at erstatningen skulle være Companero Panama, som er chokolade på flaske.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum sucré, beaucoup trop sur la vanille. S'accompagnent des arômes de banane. Son 54% alcool ne parait pas trop. Manque de complexité. Bien en drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

I treat this rum like a single cask whiskey and water it to about 47%. At that level it's still buttery,nutty and sweetly sippable. At some point I may play with mixing, but really, when I enjoy it in the glass this much, why?
IDK if I found it at stores clearing an obscure product that didn't sell well, but I got 2 bottles for every 1 I have of El Dorado 12 and Diplomatico Reserva. And I am enjoying it more! 8/10 for quality blended with 10/10 value equals my score of 9.