Posting your rating...
Panama Red Overproof rum

Rate Panama Red Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Panama Red Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce rhum bien épicé arrive avec une finale de lait au chocolat. Ça fait différent et permet de faire changement son gout est unique en son genre.

Posted over 3 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

I truly like like this one. My first overproof rum (90+) it sits on 108 proof and it is really a nice experience.

Nose: fresh mountain air, hazel nuts and chocolate.

Pallet: burned figs, dark chocolate and a really long sweet pleasent burn.

Because i want to have an overproof on the topshelf, this one is uprated from 7 to 8 untill i find an overproof that can knock it of the topshelf.

Cant find any sugar test for this one, but i'd say it has plenty added ;-)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

A temperfull little lady with 54% Dont let it scare you though, nose nor taste.
Nose: Alcohol, notes of chocolate and some vanillale vanilie?

Mouth: Feel the alcohol, let it hit you and then observe it beeing taken over by burned sugar, dark chocolate and some tobacco-ish taste.
For the extremely low price-tag this is impressive, especially when you get used to the impressive 54% Dont let the somewhat dodgy bottle (cap) scare you, obviously the money here is spent on whats inside.

Posted about 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Classic spirit bottle with screw cap. Interesting label, almost 2. world war - pinup - style. Beautiful color of dark honey/amber.
First nose from the bottle - sweet rich dark chocolate, caramel, mint.
In the glass - Again beautiful color, but a little thin when looking at the legs.
Nose - Strong sent of dark chocolate, sweet molasses, caramel, vanilla, coconut.
Taste - Sweet, burned caramel, wood/oak, vanilla, butter, hazel nut finish.

Very nice rum. The 54% ALC/VOL is not to overpowering. Still a lot of notes in the rum, and a powerful nose and taste of dark chocolate. Very interesting - extremely long - finish. I was recommended to drink this rum mixed with cola, but it is just as good straight up.
When it’s gone, a re-buy is a must.

Posted 5 months ago by Fonzie from Denmark with 3 ratings

Amber in color. Strongish but not to strong. Sweet and spicy

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Belle découverte, goût de cassonade et chocolat. Malgré l'alcool de 54%, le goût d'alcool est surprenament pas persistant.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

This rum have all the makings of something horribly sweet, but the added kick from the 54abv saves this and puts in a good territory.

Nose: Burnt sugar, caramel and some burn from the alcohol
Taste: Milk and white chocolate, almost like Bailey´s, but with a nice punch from the alcohol
Overall: At 40abv it would have been sweet, almost sickening, but it is saved by the added percentages.

Posted about 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Duft af whisky i duft og smag. Ville være ok, hvis det ikke var rom, jeg hellere ville have. Den er ikke dårlig og 6,5 var måske en bedre karakter. Kan ikke genkende, at erstatningen skulle være Companero Panama, som er chokolade på flaske.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum sucré, beaucoup trop sur la vanille. S'accompagnent des arômes de banane. Son 54% alcool ne parait pas trop. Manque de complexité. Bien en drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

I treat this rum like a single cask whiskey and water it to about 47%. At that level it's still buttery,nutty and sweetly sippable. At some point I may play with mixing, but really, when I enjoy it in the glass this much, why?
IDK if I found it at stores clearing an obscure product that didn't sell well, but I got 2 bottles for every 1 I have of El Dorado 12 and Diplomatico Reserva. And I am enjoying it more! 8/10 for quality blended with 10/10 value equals my score of 9.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Fiery but exceptionally sweet. Like an overproof vanilla liquor. Not really rum IMO, but drinkable

Posted over 2 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I was almost afraid to try it after trying Wray and Nephew Overproof. That’s still the worst rum I’ve ever had. This was exceptionally smooth for being over half alcohol. None of the cloying banana taste I’ve come to dread in Jamaican rums. It’s a little on the thin side but very easy to drink for so much octane. Highly recommended for someone that knows enough about rums to not be blown away by something a little different. Maybe get to know your own palate before trying it or mix with something and try a sip to see if you like it. You may be surprised as well. I’m glad I tried it

Posted at The L Garage almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

The bottle (with a screw cap) doesn't inspire greatness, and the (generally) low price doesn't suggest high quality. Don't let that fool you. This is a very tasty rum. Considering the ABV, this is an extremely smooth rum. Sweet, soft, pleasant nose, decent sipper, but it will kick you. I prefer it mixed, I find the flavor expands considerably when added to a cocktail. Or a classic Cuba Libre :)

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Sampled Panama Red rum and I expected a bit of a burn from this overproof rum (54% ABV) but found it rather smooth despite the higher ABV, however, too much spice (cinnamon) to make this a regular sipping rum for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

en rom som har en eftersmag af kaffe, eller en meget sød rom.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dennis Kjer from Denmark with 33 ratings

Duft af marcipan fylder næsen, procenterne fylder dog også, men sukker og røg er til stede også. En billig flaske, som egentlig ikke gør nogen fortræd. Smagen er fin med prisen i betragtning, eftersmagen er lang og alkoholen kan mærkes, men på en behagelig måde.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Ok rom meget duft og smag af vanilje - kan sagtens drikkes men meget sødlig

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

Dufter godt, smager sødt med power til sidst. Klart en rom jeg køber igen

Posted about 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Udemærket uden at være noget særligt. Designet minder mest om en billig blanderom, men den er klart mere værd end det

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Solo para mezclar y decorar tragos de mixologia así que por favor no tomar solo

Posted over 3 years ago by runforrum from Canada with 6 ratings

Have not had many overproof rums. When i opened this i expected it to burn all the way to my stomach. Maybe further. And i had the mix ready just in case. But not so! Surprisingly smooth and pleasant. Would give it a 7.5 but it was a gift. So it gets an extra 0.5. Yaarrrrrr!

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

It is very alcoholic in its taste, thin with burn I would describe it. Not my cup of tea.

Posted over 3 years ago by Thor Grønbæk from Denmark with 24 ratings

Kraftig rom med en duft af chokolade og kokus og lidt sprittet i starten men som forsvinder igen.

Posted over 3 years ago by Claus from Denmark with 5 ratings

Kraftig duft, noget sprittet i smagen, men forsvinder hurtigt igen, efterfulgt af en dejlig eftersmag.
Duft. Karamel, chokolade, sprit
Smag. Karamel, sprit

Posted over 3 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Worthy overproof that has a good taste, not just for burning. Its my go to when recipe calls for a rum float.