Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


143 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

I was expecting a harsher version of plantation xo. While it may have been that, it appeared darker with more influence from the oak. Still on the sweet side but balanced enough with just a little funk. Good for the price!

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

My first taste of Kaniche XO left me unsure if I loved it or hated it. Being a big fan of Plantation XO, I found myself comparing it to that since it is made by the same company (C. Ferand). After a second visit, I found it enjoyable. The smell and initial taste are sweet and fruity with a pleasant oak flavor. Kaniche XO is quite similar all around to Plantation XO but with a bit more harshness at the back end. This bottle came in a nice wooden box and goes for $24-29 at Total Wine so you can't go wrong. Go grab a bottle if looking for a low-budget Plantation XO with a bite.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

At only $29.99 (Total Wines 2015), this beats some of the $100+ rums I've tried.

Sugarcane, vanilla, and a hint of coconut, this also includes a little oak and cognac - just enough to add to the flavor without taking from the rum goodness. Similar to the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, but not quite as good. Still an excellent rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

This was recommended by fellow Rum Raters. This is one of my new favorites, alongside Ron Zacapa, Zaya and Kirk & Sweeney. It does have a sweetness to it, which I prefer. Just a really smooth rum that I would buy again and again.

Posted over 3 years ago by ian from United States with 1 rating

Got this at Total WIne, and so far it is the only Rum for sipping we buy. It has beat out rums that have cost waaaay more money. I think i have purchaed about 5-6 bottles its that good...

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Lots of added sugar makes it hard to take this rum too seriously. Another confection from the Plantation factory.

Posted over 5 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This rum came on sweet but not too sweet. It is smooth, complex, and has a finish that stays with you for a bit. Phenomenal rum, especially for the price

Posted over 4 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

Well, found the Kaniche Reserve! (Yay me!) I have found what is very likely going to be my main rum in the house. This was outstanding! It has an almost sweet finish, and oak overtones without tasting like it was ran through a charcoal briquette! I like the fact that you can drink it neat, and still have tastebuds that can still tell the difference between sweet and sour. And the price was definitely nice! I have paid a LOT more for what I would now call "Inferior" Rums. This is a rum that is worth your time.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Så fik jeg fat på denne skønhed af en rom! Var på tilbud til 300 kr, så kunne jeg altså ikke sige nej.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum is very soft on the palate is moderately sweet with tastes of coconut, cognac, vanilla, and honey. It's is similar to Plantation XO but is a little softer and less bold or sharp of a taste. Basically it is Plantation XO Lite. As other rum posters mentioned, this was suggested to me by the Total Wines associate and he was right. This is a great tasting rum for sipping at a moderate price. If you see it in your local store, try it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Yes, it has added sugar, but so does Plantation 20th Anniversary, which is much more complex and tasty. Kaniche XO seems thin by comparison, without the depth of flavor of other Pierre Ferrand/Plantation rums.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

My wife picked this up for me on a recommendation from staff at Total Wine. I see that several reviewers state similar recommendation. I tried it on the rocks but found it had a harsh bite and was a bit too sweet for my liking. I then tried it with Coke Zero and liked it because of the subtle sweetness. I shall try it again and see if it grows on me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I literally bought this rum on the recommendation of a couple of friends and from an employee from my local liquor store. I was totally disappointed and felt let down after the build up of others. For me, it was "OK" at best. It went into the "rum cake rum cabinet" lol

I tried this straight up, on the rocks, and with coke.

Posted about 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 46 ratings

This rum is made by the same company that makes plantation and it has that quite mellow sugared plantation profile of their most popular sippers.
Nose: Pineapple, cinnamon, caramel
Taste: The pineapple comes strong, then vanilla and baking spice, toffee. Quite sweet but not too much for my taste.
Finish: medium and sugary smooth and spicy and bit sharp with a good amount of oak.
Overall: decent quite mellow sugared sipper, probably very good in tiki cocktails.
Im sure this has quite a lot of added sugar but not too much to totally ruin the rum but it would be better if it had less.

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

Posted about 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

this XO has to much flowering taste for me. i dont like it so much.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

The taste is pleasant; but I have had a difficult time with what specific flavors I detect.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first impression I got in my first taste of this rum was SWEEEEEET!!!

Wow! I think my back teeth are floating.

This rum is aged in bourbon casks and finished in Cognac casks which gives it an interesting flavor profile once one gets past the massive sweetness. And it's rather difficult to get past it. In fact the more I sip it the less I like it. The over sweetness masks what could be interesting flavors. I do detect some cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg. Frankly, if you like sweet rums you may...I emphasize...may like this.

I will leave it at that. If you like sugared rums then this one might be right up your alley.

There's probably a really good rum hidden somewhere under all that sugar. It's a shame it won't be discovered. I truly wonder how it would taste if they hadn't sugared it. I recommend this in mixed drinks that call for something spicy or bitter. It would counterbalance nicely. Perhaps a variant of a Bloody Mary with McIlhenny Tabasco Sauce?

Posted about 4 years ago by Steven Kight from United States with 2 ratings

Great value rum. Clean finish on the rocks. A steal when on sale at Total Wine.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from United States with 7 ratings

I didn't really care for this rum on the rocks and I'm yet to try it any other way. I put this up against Zacapa 23 one night and it got blown away; I'll pass next time.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Decent rum, was a bit disappointed, but it is still a decent buy $25 at Total Wine. Good nose a bit of a burn on the finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Sebastian I from Sweden with 14 ratings

Very similar to plantation xo and from same company, could it be the same rum? Good in coctails just remember to go easy with the syrup, lots of sugar in this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This is a spiced rum! It tastes like a spiced rum. It tastes like it has so many things added to it to give it flavor, it should be labeled as spiced rum. It's not bad at all (for a spiced rum), but I'll detract a point because of the fraud. This is one time I will agree that the rules and laws for rums should be clarified and standardized. I am disappointed. I feel like I have been duped.

I would recommend it to those who like super sweet spiced rums and flavored rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

I first encountered this in Arizona at the Total Wine Store. Travis and I were busily looking about for the rum aisle when we heard a voice..."would you like to try a free sample of our new arrival?" YES! The store associate smiled because he knew he just made an easy sale. The double aging process with different barrels seems to be the secret.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Strowell1 from United States with 7 ratings

Great color, definite hints of vanilla and oak, with a tinge of smokiness