Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.8/10 (151 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
8
38
56
31
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


151 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jim from United States with 1 rating

This is by far the worst rum I have ever tasted, and left my mouth very dry. Maybe I got a bad bottle judging from the other ratings on this page, but this tasted more like whiskey than rum to me. The advertisement in the store indicated that it had coconut flavor, which is what I was looking for, but I noticed that there was no mention of it on the bottle, so I was reluctant to buy it. However, one of the employees at Total Wines swore up and down that it was the best rum ever. I should have listened to my own instincts. Unfortunately this stuff will be going down the drain.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

My first taste of Kaniche XO left me unsure if I loved it or hated it. Being a big fan of Plantation XO, I found myself comparing it to that since it is made by the same company (C. Ferand). After a second visit, I found it enjoyable. The smell and initial taste are sweet and fruity with a pleasant oak flavor. Kaniche XO is quite similar all around to Plantation XO but with a bit more harshness at the back end. This bottle came in a nice wooden box and goes for $24-29 at Total Wine so you can't go wrong. Go grab a bottle if looking for a low-budget Plantation XO with a bite.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

At only $29.99 (Total Wines 2015), this beats some of the $100+ rums I've tried.

Sugarcane, vanilla, and a hint of coconut, this also includes a little oak and cognac - just enough to add to the flavor without taking from the rum goodness. Similar to the Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, but not quite as good. Still an excellent rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by ian from United States with 1 rating

Got this at Total WIne, and so far it is the only Rum for sipping we buy. It has beat out rums that have cost waaaay more money. I think i have purchaed about 5-6 bottles its that good...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

This was recommended by fellow Rum Raters. This is one of my new favorites, alongside Ron Zacapa, Zaya and Kirk & Sweeney. It does have a sweetness to it, which I prefer. Just a really smooth rum that I would buy again and again.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

Well, found the Kaniche Reserve! (Yay me!) I have found what is very likely going to be my main rum in the house. This was outstanding! It has an almost sweet finish, and oak overtones without tasting like it was ran through a charcoal briquette! I like the fact that you can drink it neat, and still have tastebuds that can still tell the difference between sweet and sour. And the price was definitely nice! I have paid a LOT more for what I would now call "Inferior" Rums. This is a rum that is worth your time.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Lots of added sugar makes it hard to take this rum too seriously. Another confection from the Plantation factory.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar: 24 gpl. This rum is very soft on the palate is moderately sweet with tastes of coconut, cognac, vanilla, and honey. It's is similar to Plantation XO but is a little softer and less bold or sharp of a taste. Basically it is Plantation XO Lite. As other rum posters mentioned, this was suggested to me by the Total Wines associate and he was right. This is a great tasting rum for sipping at a moderate price. If you see it in your local store, try it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eric from United States with 7 ratings

This rum came on sweet but not too sweet. It is smooth, complex, and has a finish that stays with you for a bit. Phenomenal rum, especially for the price

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Så fik jeg fat på denne skønhed af en rom! Var på tilbud til 300 kr, så kunne jeg altså ikke sige nej.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Yes, it has added sugar, but so does Plantation 20th Anniversary, which is much more complex and tasty. Kaniche XO seems thin by comparison, without the depth of flavor of other Pierre Ferrand/Plantation rums.