Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


143 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Not so sweet, but smooth and pleasant. Really recommendable.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

her kommer man langt med få midler.
rigtig dejlig rom til en fornuftig pris.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Definitely something positively different. Nice flavour that stays with you afterwards.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I like some Plantation rums aged at Ferrand after the local aging process. This rum is in my opinion close to some of them. This is one of the best of the ones I have tested together with Plantation St:Lucia. I bought it in Germany for 44 euros, super price for this rum. Worth mention is the nice wood box!
Must have for rum collectors.......

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

Like others have said this rum is a tad on the sweet side, but still an excellent sipper with lots of cognac notes to it but still staying on the lighter side. The finish on this rum is one of the longer ones I have had and can still be noticed on the palate a few minutes later.

Posted about 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I bought this at total wine, on sale for twenty four bucks. A fantastic price for an XO rum. They had it at the tasting counter and I instantly liked it, so I bought a bottle. It's good stuff, smooth, mildly sweet and exactly what I want in a sipping rum, lots of pleasant flavor, no unpleasant aftertaste. I don't like rums that taste like harsh lighter fluid, and this one goes down easy, not harsh in any way. In fact, I like to hold this in my mouth for some time and it's so smooth and tasty while doing so, mmmm, mmmm.

Edit: This has become my "go to" rum. My friends all love it, and they feel it's the best they've tried also. This rum is my gold standard, and I directly compare it to others. So far, nothing is better and I try every good rum I can.

Posted about 5 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

beaucoup plus present que son petit frere (le reserve) avec plus de caractere, mais on peut trouver mieux dans sa gamme de prix

Posted about 5 years ago by Josh from United States with 1 rating

Invited to a wedding on an island so I needed a sipping rum that would not break the bank and stand next to single malts and I got this one a recommendation. Basically, everyone that tried the rum loved it, and the bottle ran out way before the McAllen 15, 18, and Nikka.People took pictures of the bottle to remember and was a hit. It does not have a strong bite but is flavorful with hints of fruits and a lasting finish. I don't want to sound sexist, but even the women at the party were drinking this (with 1-2 ice cubes) Also stating how flavorful it was. So if you want a great rum and a great price point that will be appreciated by most, you can't go wrong. I wish I had a picture!

Posted about 5 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

for about $ 30 also a great value has some coconut and other spices which is an alternative to some of the other rums which have a hint of vanilla.

Posted about 5 years ago by Henrik Krogh from Denmark with 26 ratings

God og lang eftersmag. En anelse sød. Dufter af kokus og appelsin, men smager ikke af det. Passer rigtig godt sammen med en kop god kaffe.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Smooth with vanilla notes typical if island rums, with a sophisticated aged taste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Ed from United States with 20 ratings

One of the best rums for the money. A bit too Sweet with caramel flavor but also a bit dry as it lingers. Not as good as Zacapa but close. Just not quite the same body as Zacapa but I have no problem sipping it. Definitely not one that you need to mix.

Posted about 5 years ago by Aubreywan from United States with 20 ratings

Good sipper. Recomended by other reviews. You won't be disappointed.

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin from Denmark with 12 ratings

En hyggelig rom med kokkos duft og smag. Perfekt til kaffen.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The nose is covered in alcohol. Which leaves me with low expectations.. The taste is free from alcohol, covered in raisins an real mellow. Almost like a light version of the swedish Punch.. And the finish is real long and evolves in many different tones as it slowly leaves you.. Great for a warm evening sip.

Posted over 5 years ago by Blank from United States with 1 rating

It comes in a wood box.
Doesn't that say it all?
Well at least mine did.
It's called "Double Wood".
It's awesome!

Posted over 5 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 33 ratings

Definitely sweet, but a warm, full, rich and deep sweetness. Very tasty.

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

A wonderful, sweet rum. Your nose is greeted by molasses and roasted coconut. Give it 10 min in the glass before drinking. The palate has decent body and is fairly smooth and sweet, with caramel, coconut and a nice spicy hint in the end. Slightly unique and surely a crowd pleaser.

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Utrolig sød, ikke lige min kop te. Lillebroderen Kaniche Reserve, er langt bedre.

Posted almost 6 years ago by JE Tressler from United States with 18 ratings

You will love this smooth tasty rum. I used to drink Bourbon and I can taste the sweetness of a hint of oak barrel aged Bourbon in this delicious rum. It is full bodied yet sweet. The sipping rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Fanø from Denmark with 3 ratings

Kaniche XO overrasker med en markant kokosduft. Den er sød uden at være voldsom. Den udfordrer og man kan udforske dufte længe. Virkelig en behagelig oplevelse. Kan på mange måder minde om Plantation 20y anniversary

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chuck from United States with 10 ratings

Was recommended by a friend who is a rum expert. Great color , orange peel on the nose. Can taste the bourbon aging.

Posted almost 6 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Sweet with nice dept and long aftertaste.