Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10 (153 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
8
39
56
32
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Smooth with vanilla notes typical if island rums, with a sophisticated aged taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

This rum is a true pleasure to sid down and drink, especially on a nice summerday. I'm a fan!! A lot of tropical fruits, medium sweetness and a light power.

Nose : I find banana, coconut, orange and in general tropical fruits. The rum is really delicious when you stick your nose down into the glass, for just enjoying the lovely notes.

Taste : I find banana, orange, tropical fruits and molasses. The aftertaste is tropical in the beginning, and it get mixed with molasses in the end.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 34 ratings

This was alright for the price. Found it on sale for about $35. Definitely has a taste of banana and some sweetness. I would definitely drink again but maybe not purchase again. Has a slight burn at first taste as well

Ffffff

Posted 15 days ago by strummed76 from United States with 2 ratings

I am new to drinking rum, and this is my first rum review. I have tasted only Doorly's XO before trying this Kaniche XO so my reference is very limited. With that being said, my first impression of Kaniche XO is that it is a shade lighter in color than the Doorly's XO. The bottle is obviously taller, and first pours seem to be a bit messy. I ended up spilling a bit as I poured my first couple of glasses. The aroma is sweeter with hints of butterscotch, coconut and bannana. The initial taste is slightly sweet followed a second later with a smooth nose. The mouth is flavorful, but noticably thin compared to the Doorly's XO. The finish is long, but also a bit harsh. I have to say I prefer the taste of the Doorly's XO overall. The price for this bottle of rum was $24.99 at Total Wines compared to $19.99 for the Doorly's XO. Doorly's XO is in my humble opinion a better purchase for the taste, and also the money. Thanks for reading!

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by synchtw from United States with 14 ratings

Just a nice, tasty rum at a really great value. Not going to be a favorite but I’ll happily drink it again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by z town scott from United States with 1 rating

Incredible carmel and vanilla with some nice spice. I bought a bottle of the Plantation and it didn't compare. This does not have that rubber tire taste at all. One of the best sipping spirits I've had, especially on one large cube of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight’s Rum, Kaniché XO, a Barbados Rum aged in French Bourbon casks, finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France. This review is with the assistance of my friend Lee. The nose of this Rum earthy, maybe even sour with apricot, dry brandy, a bit of vanilla and nut, not sure what kind of nut. On the tongue we detect oaky caramel orange, apricot and the sweetness of a fine Rum. Lee even mentioned cherry. I don’t detect it; I guess we all have a unique tasting experience and opinion. After a swallow coconut comes through with a hint of orange reminiscent of Grand Marnier. In the throat the Rum is quiet and reserved, no burn. The finish is very nice with orange, apricot coming through along with chocolate, coconut and just slightest taste of banana. This a damn fine Rum, a rare 9 out of 10 from me and Lee. So definitely get some… If you can find it (I got mine in Washington at Total Wine & More). #164 of 500. Thanks to Lee for his input.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Chris from Switzerland with 30 ratings

Quite sweet and easy to sip. I taste cinnamon and spices. Pretty good value for the price 👍

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by carl from United States with 42 ratings

If you let it breathe for an hour or so after pouring, the flavors and aromas come through nicely. Also great on ice.

I did a blind taste test with this rum against the Kaniche Perfeccion... This rum (the XO) came across as being sweeter and had some additional flavors that made me a little suspicious :-O Still delicious, however.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Metalli from Finland with 12 ratings

A great sipper that also works as a dessert drink. Sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. I personally can't stand anything too sugary or sweet, however I feel like this rum is an exception. The flavor consists of coconut notes mixed with something I can only describe as a mix of lime and maple syrup. Kaniche XO is definitely not for everyone's tastes, but it works for me. A rum worth trying out.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Anne Mitchell from United States with 1 rating

Truly love this rum. It has a smooth and easy finish that is perfect for a sipping rum. The finish in the cognac casks makes a huge difference.