Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.8/10 (153 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
8
39
56
32
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Smooth with vanilla notes typical if island rums, with a sophisticated aged taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first impression I got in my first taste of this rum was SWEEEEEET!!!

Wow! I think my back teeth are floating.

This rum is aged in bourbon casks and finished in Cognac casks which gives it an interesting flavor profile once one gets past the massive sweetness. And it's rather difficult to get past it. In fact the more I sip it the less I like it. The over sweetness masks what could be interesting flavors. I do detect some cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg. Frankly, if you like sweet rums you may...I emphasize...may like this.

I will leave it at that. If you like sugared rums then this one might be right up your alley.

There's probably a really good rum hidden somewhere under all that sugar. It's a shame it won't be discovered. I truly wonder how it would taste if they hadn't sugared it. I recommend this in mixed drinks that call for something spicy or bitter. It would counterbalance nicely. Perhaps a variant of a Bloody Mary with McIlhenny Tabasco Sauce?

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Kight from United States with 2 ratings

Great value rum. Clean finish on the rocks. A steal when on sale at Total Wine.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from United States with 7 ratings

I didn't really care for this rum on the rocks and I'm yet to try it any other way. I put this up against Zacapa 23 one night and it got blown away; I'll pass next time.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Decent rum, was a bit disappointed, but it is still a decent buy $25 at Total Wine. Good nose a bit of a burn on the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Sebastian I from Sweden with 14 ratings

Very similar to plantation xo and from same company, could it be the same rum? Good in coctails just remember to go easy with the syrup, lots of sugar in this.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This is a spiced rum! It tastes like a spiced rum. It tastes like it has so many things added to it to give it flavor, it should be labeled as spiced rum. It's not bad at all (for a spiced rum), but I'll detract a point because of the fraud. This is one time I will agree that the rules and laws for rums should be clarified and standardized. I am disappointed. I feel like I have been duped.

I would recommend it to those who like super sweet spiced rums and flavored rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

I first encountered this in Arizona at the Total Wine Store. Travis and I were busily looking about for the rum aisle when we heard a voice..."would you like to try a free sample of our new arrival?" YES! The store associate smiled because he knew he just made an easy sale. The double aging process with different barrels seems to be the secret.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Strowell1 from United States with 7 ratings

Great color, definite hints of vanilla and oak, with a tinge of smokiness

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Note overly impressed with the nose, but amazingly intense burst of concentrated brown sugar a second after sipping. Not too sweet or spicy, nice to sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by m keating from United States with 32 ratings

Now if you enjoys a smooth, slightly sweet rum that has some complexity in the finish and don't want to ration out some high priced exotic, this rum is for you! Straight up is best or on the rocks but don't let the ice melt and water down the wonderful taste.