Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


143 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a joke Kaniche XO really is. Purchased a bottle from the local Total Wines & Liquor based on their new inventory item and a recommendation, but the smell is off putting, taste is swanky and the burn is pretty nasty. Save your money and buy much better rum, there are boat loads of them available when you search for 5 minutes.

Posted almost 3 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Gave this a shot based on some favorable reviews here. Nice presentation. First whiff some coconut , banana with a hint of orange. Taste: Sugarcane, vanilla, and a hint of coconut, a touch of oak and cognac -an excellent rum.
Highly recommend

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

denne rom er rigtig god til den pris og lidt speciel historie bag

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mikkie Chu from United States with 1 rating

Got a good body. Nice taste and a really good rum to give to the parents! They love it. I had a good night with KanIche XO

Posted at Chick-fil-A almost 3 years ago by Arjun Patel from United States with 1 rating

Awesome rum! Very nice flavor from Barbados! One of the best rums I have ever tasted.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Travis from United States with 8 ratings

Very smooth rum with a light amber appearance. Can taste the oak barrels which is a nice hint. It pairs excellent with a splash of coke and lime or just by itself on the rocks. I didn't try it in any other drinks but I feel that it would go well with your rum runners and such but I think the flavor by itself is good enough

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 1 rating

Love rum and tonic. Kaniche is great for this. Brugal Anejo is a ditsnt second.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Less syrupy sweet than I expected from some reviews here. Has a fruity and vanilla taste to it. Almost juicy flavor when u sip it just right. I wouldn't describe it as super oaky being that it says "double oaked". Good on the rocks for now. For me most of the flavor comes from the added sugar and it doesn't seem very aged. It does remind me of Plantation XO so if you like that then buy this too.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Pro pamětníky: pamatujete ještě na OPRAVDOVÉ Eskymo za padesátník - to malé, dobroučké, bez špejle - z šedesátek a sedmdesátek? Ne ty hnusy, co se dělají pod stejným názvem už čtyřicet let a jsou pořád jen odpornější a odpornější?
Třeba to na tehdy bolševik vozil materiál z Barbadosu...
Kaniché XO (opravdu je to na etiketě s dlouhým É, zatímco na obyčejné Reserve s krátkým) vám tu chuť i vůni připomene. Je lépe nechat ho trochu vydýchat, čímž se rozvoní; v chuti kokos dominuje vždycky. Nesmíte si ovšem představovat nějaký prvoplánovitě ochucený sajrajt typu Malibu - tohle není žádný likérek pro báby, ale poctivá kořalka.
Znáte-li Plantation XO, tak to, co je v něm stran kokosu decentně naznačeno, je zde rozvinuto do astrálních výšin. Bohužel ovšem trochu chybí ta mnohodimensioniální koňakovitost.
Pokud bychom hodnotili rozdíl mezi Plantation Grande Reserve a Plantation XO vs Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche XO, tak je sice velmi podobného charakteru, ale přece jen vyznívá jednoznačně ve prospěch Plantation XO. Nejen pokud jde o daleko důstojnější adjustáž, ale hlavně o poněkud důstojnější obsah.
Přesto si Kaniché XO i za ty peníze určitě ještě někdy zopáknu (protože jsem měl rád to staré Eskymo), navzdory špatně vyrobené a natřené překližkové krabičce, která je jedinou přidanou hodnotou k jinak naprosto stejné láhvi i uzávěru; druh "luxusu", který by si našinec věru s potěšením odpustil. Ovšem Kaniche Reserve nejspíš současně objednám celý karton.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

Not too sweet, good balance, smooth, good sipper neat or on the rocks!

Posted about 3 years ago by Kp from Canada with 9 ratings

A very complex tasting rum, yet very smooth. I highly recommend having a bottle around for a cold winter night in front of the fire place.

Posted about 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Rating kommer i når jeg er blevet ædru i morgen eller lige efter - ikke genkøb

Posted about 3 years ago by Sebastian Tachau from Denmark with 14 ratings

Rating kommer i morgen nå jeg er blevet ædru eller lige efter

Posted about 3 years ago by FPS from United States with 2 ratings

Great aroma and color. Good for shots as well as mixed.

Posted about 3 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

This is in my top 5. The others are El dorado, Zaya, Pyrat, and Flor de Cana. Other reviewers compare this to Plantation XO and I personally like the Kaniche slightly better. I think the double aging in a cognac barrel really adds something special to the finishing taste. I will definitely buy more of this.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Sød og dejlig til vanilje rom elskeren. En favorit

Posted about 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Not sure if this is the $60 version. It says double wood aged. Very good, smooth, a little wood.

Posted about 3 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

not what I thought. This rum is from the same company as the Plantation Rum XO 20th anniversary. And it is not as good as the anniversary rum. I like the anniversary rum better. It is everything a bit better. Bit smoother, bit longer on the palate and so on. But worth a buy anyway.

Posted about 3 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Good value offering from Total Wine. Sweet approach with some complexity and burn on the finish.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikkesmagt. .

Posted about 3 years ago by Allan Bojesen from Denmark with 8 ratings

At first it comes up with nice sweetness wich quickly turn into a nice smooth taste of oak +++ and a kind edge.

Posted over 3 years ago by Claus Høegh Andersen from Denmark with 51 ratings

Super lækker Rom, kan varmt anbefales, har en fantastisk god eftersmag

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicolai Ryberg from Denmark with 31 ratings

Har masser af kukus noter og søde frugter. Der er som man sider der nede.

Posted over 3 years ago by Raul from United States with 13 ratings

This is an AMAZING Rum for Zipping, what a great Rum. Got to have this one!