Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.8/10 (151 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
8
38
56
31
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


151 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Smooth with vanilla notes typical if island rums, with a sophisticated aged taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

For the money, this rum hits all the high points. It's great by itself, works wonders in simple agreed cocktails, and isn't expensive. It lacks an upper level complexity, but for $30 you don't really expect that anyways. Go grab a bottle!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados and aged first in ex-bourbon casks (customary for rum) and then given a finish in cognac barrels (unusual in the industry but more customary for Kaniche)... hence, "double wood" rum. The suggest looking for "exotic notes" of vanilla, coconut, and cocoa.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 30 ratings

Saw some reviews just now after I had already bought and tried it, but I must say that I really do appreciate this rum. Its sweet, but not too sweet. Similar to the Perfeccion. I would rate them both the same in my opinion. Nice wooden box too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ColoRobO from United States with 4 ratings

I taste cinnamon. My wife tastes coconut. Those rise to the top of a nicely complex and smooth rum. Spices are not too strong and overall not too sweet. Price was on point and while this isn’t my celebratory aged rum, it’s a good value for an everyday sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jeff Sutker from United States with 5 ratings

Cheap enough to drink every day, good enough to want to. Smoothest (most mellow?) rum I've had.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 62 ratings

This rum is made by the same company that makes plantation and it has that quite mellow sugared plantation profile of their most popular sippers.
Nose: Pineapple, cinnamon, caramel
Taste: The pineapple comes strong, then vanilla and baking spice, toffee. Quite sweet but not too much for my taste.
Finish: medium and sugary smooth and spicy and bit sharp with a good amount of oak.
Overall: decent quite mellow sugared sipper, probably very good in tiki cocktails.
Im sure this has quite a lot of added sugar but not too much to totally ruin the rum but it would be better if it had less.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

this XO has to much flowering taste for me. i dont like it so much.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

The taste is pleasant; but I have had a difficult time with what specific flavors I detect.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first impression I got in my first taste of this rum was SWEEEEEET!!!

Wow! I think my back teeth are floating.

This rum is aged in bourbon casks and finished in Cognac casks which gives it an interesting flavor profile once one gets past the massive sweetness. And it's rather difficult to get past it. In fact the more I sip it the less I like it. The over sweetness masks what could be interesting flavors. I do detect some cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg. Frankly, if you like sweet rums you may...I emphasize...may like this.

I will leave it at that. If you like sugared rums then this one might be right up your alley.

There's probably a really good rum hidden somewhere under all that sugar. It's a shame it won't be discovered. I truly wonder how it would taste if they hadn't sugared it. I recommend this in mixed drinks that call for something spicy or bitter. It would counterbalance nicely. Perhaps a variant of a Bloody Mary with McIlhenny Tabasco Sauce?