Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


143 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Ce rhum n est pas très dispendieux. Et il descend très bien juste comme ça.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael Sørensen from Denmark with 1 rating

Sweet and fruity as I like it. Not cheep, but worth the kr 500,-

Posted over 1 year ago by Rick8548 from United States with 1 rating

The only thing this rum is good for is mixing with orange juice or pina coladas. The flavor is overwhelming with sweet coconut. Yech.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ray Julian from United States with 1 rating

Friend offered me a drink and I have been hooked since that day. It is a very smooth rum. Great tasting and makes an excellent gift.

Posted over 1 year ago by Travis Smith from United States with 1 rating

I’m not one to engage in unnecessary exaggeration, but I find that Kaniché XO is the perfect rum. It’s not overly sweet. It’s not overly smoky. It’s the perfect balance. It’s engaging and interesting. It’s smooth. It is best neat or over a small piece of ice. It’s defini a sipping rum, not for shooting. At $30 or so per bottle, it’s a great buy.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Vanilla in the nose; coconut, cacao and oak on the tongue. Almost perfect if you do not like your rum too sweet. Unfortunately, there is not much left, once you swallowed.

Posted almost 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

trvalo mi déle, než jsem jí přišel na chuť. je jemná, ale přesto má lehký dojezd hořkosti. Z počátku jsem si nebyl jistý jestli je dobrý nebo ne. Porovnání se zacapou nebo Plantationem jsou přehnané z mého hlediska.
Vůně je slabší méně výrazná. Barva světlejší ale ideální. Chuť ovocnější a lehce sladká.

Slabší 8 (7.7)

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rudolf from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Decent rum, semi sweet multi layered taste. Plantion XO family but probably a bit more harsh. A good companion for night sipping.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Velmi jemná sladká vůně, žádná směs ovocných aroma. V ústech jemná sladká chuť. Neškrábe v krku.

Posted almost 2 years ago by CHARLES from United States with 1 rating

Originally received it as a gift, pleasant surprise. On par with rums costing 2-3x as much. Smooth with an easy finish - my go to is a splash of water/ lime on the rocks. Mixes well, makes a mean dark & stormy.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cc from United States with 2 ratings

Almost a criss between rum and whiskey. Meaning very woody from the barrels. Really a unique rum. Not as sweet as others like Rumsons... which i love.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

Really nice with a cigar. This rum is definitely on the sweet side, and a bit sweet for me for general sipping. But putting on the rocks tones it down a bit. Has a nice spice when neat, and very present coconut and caramel flavors come through. Flavors are forward and present. Very smooth, but not the smoothest I've had. I picked this up at total wine on sale for $25 and it's a very strong buy at that price. Not my favorite rum in general, but if I plan to have a cigar, definitely one of the better ones for my preference. As I enjoy the sweeter rums with my cigars. Great buy at $25, at $30+ I would opt for others. For me a solid 7 - 7+.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

Excellent rum! Not overly sweet and pleasant to drink. Its nothing out of this world but I like it. Better than other rums of known brands that go for higher prices. I would recommend it to anyone looking for good inexpensive rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 123 ratings

This is pretty darn good. Lovely smooth sipper. Big cube of ice all thats needed.

Posted about 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Rommen dufter godt af vanilie og karamel. Starter med en eksplosion af smagsnuancer, som stikker i mange spændende retninger, men smagen når desværre at dampe af inden, man når at nyde det hele i fylde drag. Kunne godt få 9, hvis eftersmagen blev hængende. Kan godt anbefales til begyndere.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

A fine rum wich comes in a beautiful box and bottle. C. Ferrand the plantation guy is behind this rum and it shows. Quality in a bottle. Aroma: sweet coconut and a touch of pineapple. Palate: round smooth taste of raisins, vanilla, arrak and punchpralins. Thumbs up!

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill Zytkowicz from United States with 5 ratings

Tasty with a good finish! Sweet, but not too sweet. Finished in cognac casks and appeals to me and my whiskey palate!

Posted over 2 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

If your looking for a smooth drop, a touch sweet and some warming after notes.... well this is it.
The only downside for me, i feel it lacks some starting notes in flavor. Give it a couple of seconds then you feel it.
Minor point but great value for money.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian Hackney from United States with 8 ratings

This is one of the first bottles I tried when looking to step my (rum) game up a bit. Although I dislike the fact that its aged in bourbon cask (hard pressed to find one that isnt), I still appreciate the taste. Its smooth, with a nice velvety nose.

Since I've moved up in the world a bit, its no longer one of my top choices, but its still one of the close favorites.

Heck...I drinking it right now.

Cheers

Posted over 2 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

I got this as a gift during my Christmas party. I'd never had the XO and it's really good. On the rocks, it smooth, a bit oaky with hints of caramel and vanilla. It doesn't bite and is very smooth at the end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Troy from United States with 29 ratings

This truly one of my favorites and at a good price for around $30. Find a good lime with this one. And for a six year old, you can’t beat it.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

The title really gives the best explanation for anyone that has tasted those 2 rums. It's got some vegetal / tropical fruit quality that you normally get with the Jamaican and some honey and butterscotch character that I associate with the Barbados rum.

Very soft on the palate to boot!

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

I was expecting a harsher version of plantation xo. While it may have been that, it appeared darker with more influence from the oak. Still on the sweet side but balanced enough with just a little funk. Good for the price!

Posted over 2 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 8 ratings

Elysium - where brooks and Ponds contains A.H.Riise......on the way, I am fond of tasting Kaniche XO. Sweet, smooth, with a little burning at the beginning, then sweet and mild, taste of milk chocolate and vanilla.