Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.8/10 (145 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
7
36
55
30
9

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


145 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C8434a3569533fe98c86dc41e6be2e85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I bought this at total wine, on sale for twenty four bucks. A fantastic price for an XO rum. They had it at the tasting counter and I instantly liked it, so I bought a bottle. It's good stuff, smooth, mildly sweet and exactly what I want in a sipping rum, lots of pleasant flavor, no unpleasant aftertaste. I don't like rums that taste like harsh lighter fluid, and this one goes down easy, not harsh in any way. In fact, I like to hold this in my mouth for some time and it's so smooth and tasty while doing so, mmmm, mmmm.

Edit: This has become my "go to" rum. My friends all love it, and they feel it's the best they've tried also. This rum is my gold standard, and I directly compare it to others. So far, nothing is better and I try every good rum I can.

731c6cb7701ba1ee9243bb770df95016.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

My wife picked this up for me on a recommendation from staff at Total Wine. I see that several reviewers state similar recommendation. I tried it on the rocks but found it had a harsh bite and was a bit too sweet for my liking. I then tried it with Coke Zero and liked it because of the subtle sweetness. I shall try it again and see if it grows on me.

39f1488a4e3a376e14016cc97fad1b3b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I literally bought this rum on the recommendation of a couple of friends and from an employee from my local liquor store. I was totally disappointed and felt let down after the build up of others. For me, it was "OK" at best. It went into the "rum cake rum cabinet" lol

I tried this straight up, on the rocks, and with coke.

6133272c7c87519e4e3bd69c460febf8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 58 ratings

This rum is made by the same company that makes plantation and it has that quite mellow sugared plantation profile of their most popular sippers.
Nose: Pineapple, cinnamon, caramel
Taste: The pineapple comes strong, then vanilla and baking spice, toffee. Quite sweet but not too much for my taste.
Finish: medium and sugary smooth and spicy and bit sharp with a good amount of oak.
Overall: decent quite mellow sugared sipper, probably very good in tiki cocktails.
Im sure this has quite a lot of added sugar but not too much to totally ruin the rum but it would be better if it had less.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Značka patří do stejné stáje, jako například Plantation. Kaniche XO zraje v sudech po bourbonu na Barbadosu
a následně v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Tento rum je nejvyšší z řady. Setkat se ještě můžete s Kaniche Reserve a Kaniche 11 yo.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Silný, kořenitý, v trochu v suchém, koňakovém stylu. Ale dá se tu najít i trocha nasládlosti. Skořice, kůže, lesní med, trochu až borové dřevo a lehký závan kokosu. (88 b)
Chuť: Olejnatý, překvapivě dost sladký. Jemně kořenitý, převládá skořice. Rumová tresť, kokos. Dozvuk je kratší, odezní poměrně rychle. (90 b)
Body: 89/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Velmi zaujal. Budu se muset poohlédnout po lahvi.

135e2c5e4c0a3c8ff96465f91947b35d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

this XO has to much flowering taste for me. i dont like it so much.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 175 ratings

The taste is pleasant; but I have had a difficult time with what specific flavors I detect.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The first impression I got in my first taste of this rum was SWEEEEEET!!!

Wow! I think my back teeth are floating.

This rum is aged in bourbon casks and finished in Cognac casks which gives it an interesting flavor profile once one gets past the massive sweetness. And it's rather difficult to get past it. In fact the more I sip it the less I like it. The over sweetness masks what could be interesting flavors. I do detect some cinnamon and a hint of nutmeg. Frankly, if you like sweet rums you may...I emphasize...may like this.

I will leave it at that. If you like sugared rums then this one might be right up your alley.

There's probably a really good rum hidden somewhere under all that sugar. It's a shame it won't be discovered. I truly wonder how it would taste if they hadn't sugared it. I recommend this in mixed drinks that call for something spicy or bitter. It would counterbalance nicely. Perhaps a variant of a Bloody Mary with McIlhenny Tabasco Sauce?

5d08bb7c3dd40e7c3623617ac5f276e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Kight from United States with 2 ratings

Great value rum. Clean finish on the rocks. A steal when on sale at Total Wine.

C8abcf6cbb55c58d30d11cd1bb184a05.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from United States with 7 ratings

I didn't really care for this rum on the rocks and I'm yet to try it any other way. I put this up against Zacapa 23 one night and it got blown away; I'll pass next time.

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Decent rum, was a bit disappointed, but it is still a decent buy $25 at Total Wine. Good nose a bit of a burn on the finish.