Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.8/10 (148 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
5
7
37
55
31
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


148 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

5bbe8467273561c98160ec0d129c1d67.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Smooth with vanilla notes typical if island rums, with a sophisticated aged taste.

731c6cb7701ba1ee9243bb770df95016.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

My wife picked this up for me on a recommendation from staff at Total Wine. I see that several reviewers state similar recommendation. I tried it on the rocks but found it had a harsh bite and was a bit too sweet for my liking. I then tried it with Coke Zero and liked it because of the subtle sweetness. I shall try it again and see if it grows on me.

39f1488a4e3a376e14016cc97fad1b3b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I literally bought this rum on the recommendation of a couple of friends and from an employee from my local liquor store. I was totally disappointed and felt let down after the build up of others. For me, it was "OK" at best. It went into the "rum cake rum cabinet" lol

I tried this straight up, on the rocks, and with coke.

B3e20a1782d5c0712f4f8e9c635c3383.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Bruce from United States with 5 ratings

So, I asked the guy in the store, what do you have that's a lot less expensive than the Ron Zacapa XO that has complexity and some body. It was a trick question as I've had lots of rum that would meet the request, but I was looking for something new. He recommended the Kaniche XO. I was Alitalia hesitant as I had the Kaniche 11 Year Old, liked it a lot, but found it light in body. He said this one was different. He was almost spot on. It doesn't have the body of a Zacapa xo, but at 1/3 the price, the body works out fine. The taste is just scrumptious. Loaded with butterscotch and vanilla, it's just so wonderful to sip and enjoy. Will become my go to rum!

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 days ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

A month ago, I chose the most expensive bottle of Kaniche to start out with. It started out as my highest ranked 7. Then is slowly slid downhill due to excessive added sugar. Then a few other reviews mentioned that this one was better. So for only $30 US, I gambled on it today. It would also be a test of Bajan rum for this one versus Panamanian rum for their Perfeccion.

There is just something off putting in the aroma from the Perfeccion, but not this one. And yes, this cheaper version from Barbados indeed tastes better than the more expensive one from Panama. I am glad that I gave this one a try. Both rate as a 7 in my book, but this one ranks a few notches higher overall. That 7 rating is some very stiff competition. At least I did not get stuck with a bottle of crap.

054f6754ca1d5a5ebfb2a14462e3bd19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by Richard from Sweden with 57 ratings

Sweet, but not too sweet. A bit fruity, a bit spicy. Very smooth. A near perfect balance

3305db1568f022cc6fb1a2bc1581e992.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by rfnovo from United States with 5 ratings

Very good rum with well balanced flavor. A great pick

79b08f24a6e277cccacb2485e88e1ccc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by allredb from United States with 13 ratings

I have a very nice collection of rums and this one will always be in my cabinet. Easy on the palate with the perfect combination of flavor and aroma. Highly recommend.

315c45f8dd5e7131cf9e869c0202035f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

I think it’s only available at Total wine. Which is a shame because it’s a fantastic complex rum at a reasonable price, I always grab a couple of bottles when I can. I appreciate the time it spends in cognac cask.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Now one of my favorites, so much of a wonder found in a glass.

840b5757aaeb05d667412d9399e544d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

For the money, this rum hits all the high points. It's great by itself, works wonders in simple agreed cocktails, and isn't expensive. It lacks an upper level complexity, but for $30 you don't really expect that anyways. Go grab a bottle!