Posting your rating...
Kaniche XO rum

Kaniche XO

Barbados | Aged

Kaniche XO rum is produced in Barbados where it is first aged in bourbon casks. It is one of the few rums that is then double aged for a more mellow finished in Pierre Ferrand ex cognac casks at their location in France.

7.7/10 (159 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
9
40
59
34
10

Rate Kaniche XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

159 Kaniche XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

My go to drink is always an aged rum neat and once in a while on the rocks. At less than $30 Kaniche XO is always my bargain brand when watching my pennies or if there are going to be heavy drinkers at my home who don't appreciate the really good stuff. A little sweet but nice and smooth with a great taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

My wife picked this up for me on a recommendation from staff at Total Wine. I see that several reviewers state similar recommendation. I tried it on the rocks but found it had a harsh bite and was a bit too sweet for my liking. I then tried it with Coke Zero and liked it because of the subtle sweetness. I shall try it again and see if it grows on me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I literally bought this rum on the recommendation of a couple of friends and from an employee from my local liquor store. I was totally disappointed and felt let down after the build up of others. For me, it was "OK" at best. It went into the "rum cake rum cabinet" lol

I tried this straight up, on the rocks, and with coke.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Bruce from United States with 5 ratings

So, I asked the guy in the store, what do you have that's a lot less expensive than the Ron Zacapa XO that has complexity and some body. It was a trick question as I've had lots of rum that would meet the request, but I was looking for something new. He recommended the Kaniche XO. I was Alitalia hesitant as I had the Kaniche 11 Year Old, liked it a lot, but found it light in body. He said this one was different. He was almost spot on. It doesn't have the body of a Zacapa xo, but at 1/3 the price, the body works out fine. The taste is just scrumptious. Loaded with butterscotch and vanilla, it's just so wonderful to sip and enjoy. Will become my go to rum!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 37 ratings

Sweet oaky "sugary" flavor. Not sweet like sugary rums ( Zaya 16yr), but rather like a "dry" cinnamon roll frosting. Long finish ends well without bitterness. Reminds me of a smoother Plantation brand rum. Complex flavor of banana, carmel, and light brown sugar.

Definitely worth your consideration.

On the nose: Warm sugar, vanilla frosting
Flavor: Warm, rich "sugar" flavor without being really sweet. Just a tad bitter and oaky. Long finish.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by YohoYoho from United States with 10 ratings

I tried this on the recommendation of a Total Wine associate. Liked it immediately and I have bought two bottles. Yes, I’m sure it has some added sugar, but so what? 😄

Small inline garnish 2

Posted 4 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 30 ratings

Tropical fruits, coconut, and subtle oak flavors, punctuated by a syrupy sweetness. Definitely more added sugar than I prefer (bone dry) but enjoyable neat nonetheless. Great in a tropical cocktail, especially with a splash of pineapple juice and coconut cream. Not your typical Bajan profile (lacking the caramel and vanilla of Foursquare), but that's not necessarily a bad thing in this case. Personally, I prefer a fully dry, no-sugar-added rum but this did not disappoint overall. Wouldn't buy again but it's not something I'd dump down the drain.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 357 ratings

A month ago, I chose the most expensive bottle of Kaniche to start out with. It started out as my highest ranked 7. Then is slowly slid downhill due to excessive added sugar. Then a few other reviews mentioned that this one was better. So for only $30 US, I gambled on it today. It would also be a test of Bajan rum for this one versus Panamanian rum for their Perfeccion.

There is just something off putting in the aroma from the Perfeccion, but not this one. And yes, this cheaper version from Barbados indeed tastes better than the more expensive one from Panama. I am glad that I gave this one a try. Both rate as a 7 in my book, but this one ranks a few notches higher overall. That 7 rating is some very stiff competition. At least I did not get stuck with a bottle of crap.

Small alien 200 200

Posted 6 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

Sweet, but not too sweet. A bit fruity, a bit spicy. Very smooth. A near perfect balance

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by rfnovo from United States with 7 ratings

Very good rum with well balanced flavor. A great pick

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by allredb from United States with 13 ratings

I have a very nice collection of rums and this one will always be in my cabinet. Easy on the palate with the perfect combination of flavor and aroma. Highly recommend.