Posting your rating...
Kaniche Reserve rum

Kaniche Reserve

Barbados | Aged

6.5/10
39 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
9
17
6

Rate Kaniche Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 Kaniche Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small profile 1

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Brown sugar, oaky nose. Spicy immediate hit that lasts forever. Incredibly long. Not much gets last the spice, nice balance on the sweet side, but just don’t get many flavours coming out. Try because it’s unique, but you’ll only want a taste likely.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

You get a big taste of cinnamon and pepper which would attribute to somewhat of a burn plus the alcohol will only elevate the heat. It has a moderate sweetness with vanilla, oak, tobacco and Werther's candies(caramel)!
This could be a decent sipper, though I'd go for the XO instead for about 8 dollars more at Total Wine And more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Janis from Latvia with 14 ratings

Lemon vanilla flavir, spicy and oak barrel. Modest as expected

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brian Dent from United States with 1 rating

Very strong flavor of cinnamon. Actually produces a burning sensation in my mouth. (Capsicum source also added?) Label says "artisan". Seems the opposite of artisan to me- processed food. Might be good in mixed drinks, but I don't drink mixed drinks. So problem is label. If you drink rum for the pleasure of the flavor of rum, avoid this.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by krasnal from Poland with 40 ratings

Może być całkiem ok spoko i wogole ok. Tak jak miętowy

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 48 ratings

It’s not terrible. A bit harsh to sip but good enough to mix. It’s very inexpensive but can only be bought at total wine.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

A few months ago, I started out with the most expensive rum from Kaniche, which is their Perfeccion from Panama. It was just too disgustingly sweet for my tastes. Some time later, I dropped down to their XO from Barbados, which I liked a little better despite both being sweet rums with about 25 gpl of added sugar. So today, I dropped down to their cheapest one, their Reserve for only $17 US. It also has about 40% less added sugar than it's two more expensive siblings.

It is pale amber in color and cinnamon dominates the aroma and the taste. It tastes a LOT like Foursquare Spiced but not nearly as much cinnamon, so for those that like that spiced rum, you will also probably like this spiced rum. I originally had this one classified as Semi-Dry before opening. Then I had no choice except to classify it as a Spiced Rum, and a pretty good one at that.

Update 2 days later: Last night, I had only about 2 ounces of this one as a nightcap. I was then woken up only a few hours later with my internal plumbing having gone havoc. This spiced rum did it to me. In the past, when this happened to me, I would drop my rating down to a 5 so that I would never buy it again. However, it is really not fair to lower my rating for this tasty spiced rum just because it does a number on me. Instead of pouring it down the drain, I will save it for my Thanksgiving cooking project.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Kevin Guske from United States with 6 ratings

Tasty but a little too harsh for sipping. Maybe it's the spices that add heat, but a little longer aging would make this much smoother

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 7 ratings

Not my style for sipping, but it mixed well. I liked the fact that they kept it a lighter gold color instead of darkening it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Nu mă așteptam să fie așa plăcut, aromă interesantă, se simte zahărul destul de mult.. La prețul lui e ok...

Small cropped 01

Posted 10 months ago by Ovret from Finland with 7 ratings

Plain bottle, could mistake for a wine
Mid shade liquid
Mid odor, caramel
Spicy beginning taste
Spicy caramel mid taste
Short after taste, caramel