Posting your rating...
Kaniche Reserve rum

Rate Kaniche Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 Kaniche Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

You get a big taste of cinnamon and pepper which would attribute to somewhat of a burn plus the alcohol will only elevate the heat. It has a moderate sweetness with vanilla, oak, tobacco and Werther's candies(caramel)!
This could be a decent sipper, though I'd go for the XO instead for about 8 dollars more at Total Wine And more.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Janis from Latvia with 14 ratings

Lemon vanilla flavir, spicy and oak barrel. Modest as expected

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian Dent from United States with 1 rating

Very strong flavor of cinnamon. Actually produces a burning sensation in my mouth. (Capsicum source also added?) Label says "artisan". Seems the opposite of artisan to me- processed food. Might be good in mixed drinks, but I don't drink mixed drinks. So problem is label. If you drink rum for the pleasure of the flavor of rum, avoid this.

Posted 3 months ago by Imaks from Latvia with 14 ratings

7,5 score for this rum, good taste of this rum. Softly.

Posted 3 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

For the price ($16.99), it was okay. No particular flavors of note. Stronger straight than the other Kaniches I have tried. Mixed was decent.

Posted 5 months ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

After tasting the Barbados XO and the Panama perfecction I though that Kaniche can't fail with anything. But this one I will only use for mixing. Taste of alcohol and black pepper.

Posted 8 months ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Brown sugar, oaky nose. Spicy immediate hit that lasts forever. Incredibly long. Not much gets last the spice, nice balance on the sweet side, but just don’t get many flavours coming out. Try because it’s unique, but you’ll only want a taste likely.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Kaniche Reserve is good value at $20 a bottle. Decent bottle and label design. Light golden color. Strong vanilla extract, plenty of raisins and oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Much better mixed in with your favorite soda.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Die günstige Variante zu meinem Favoriten Kaniche XO! Angenehm süß, sowohl in der Nase als auch auf der Zunge intensiver Geschmack von Vanille mit Anklängen von exotischer Frucht in Kombination mit schönem Holz.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Bought this at my go to spirit shop based on the rating (a 90 pts) and the price. Deep flavor (hint of spice) with vanilla as main highlight but not as mature as I would like. Sippable but not a 90 pts rating in my opinion.

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

S ohledem na cenu naprosto skvělý produkt firmy Plantation uvařený opět na Barbadosu.
V principu jde o výrazně sladší variantu Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve, takže je opět charakterem trochu podobná předválečnému pravzoru tresti do tuzemáku (což neberte jako pejorativum!l), ale díky přidanému karamelu se pije ještě lépe.
Pro Čecha pravděpodobně ta nejfyziologičtější možnost, jak začít s karibskými rumy.

Posted about 3 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Ale vůbec nezklamalo, lehká citrusová chut, trochu tabák, sud, za tu cenu přijatelný

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Decent rum, I've been enjoying it on the rocks and the ice balances it out some. Drinking it straight it is a little peppery and almost has a slight cardboard taste. I'm sure it would be a good mixing rum.
Update: had to raise the score on this one. It makes an amazing rum and coke!

Posted over 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Nice rum finished at cognac barrels. Typical taste of raisins.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

The nose of this is slightly astringent with hints of oak, tobacco and citrus. The taste deflects all of this but it doesn't wow me like the XO. I believe this would be best mixed in certain cocktails. Ex. Cuba libre

Posted over 3 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Kaniche Reserve er en sødlig og krydderret rom, til en fornuftig pris.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

typical plantation style. barbados fine rum with notes of sugar and fruit. half dry, i think. smooth, fine and a pleasure, if you like it sweet! :) for me it´s more pleasure to taste something like the mount g black barrel.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Not a bad rum. Amber in color and has a very nice aroma. The flavor is sweet...apparently not as sweet as their XO...and has a vanilla/caramel/toffee mix with a dash of cinnamon to the flavor along with a slight oakiness to it. No real burn but a nice warmth that coats the throat. A nice rum altogether that would qualify as a sipping rum if you like sweet rums and qualifies as a mixing rum as well. Quite versatile. I recommend using this with mixed drinks calling for bitters or even hot sauce (like a rum-based version of a Bloody Mary).

Posted about 4 years ago by Kent C from Canada with 2 ratings

Smooth and a definite vanilla taste but for $17 a bottle this is a very nice sipping rum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 8 ratings

Il se voit bien sec sans glace. Légère sensation de brûlure sans plus.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

Wasn't sure what to expect. Was suggested by clerk. Smooth but nothing stood out.

Posted over 4 years ago by AC from United States with 26 ratings

Just tasted this rum yesterday and I was happily surprised at how good it tasted. Very nice coloring and taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This rum is both sweet and spicy (cinnamon?) and also very smooth. That's because it's been sweetened with sugar. I prefer the drier Bajan rums, the ones without added sugar. This rum is produced by the Plantation people, makers of many sugared rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Må starte med denne og se om den er noget for mig, og er den det, så kommer storebror snart i skabet også :)