Posting your rating...
Flor de Caña 25-Year rum

A sugar-free 25-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, and paired with 70% cocoa chocolate.

Rate Flor de Caña 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


120 Flor de Caña 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This Rum in a bit expensive, but it makes us happy.
It's aroma with hints of butter caramel, vanilla, dark chocolate, and also nuts.
It was good enough for Flor de Cana18, but this one is more rich, much higher level.

Posted over 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

Im inclined to rate the Flor 25 as a 10, but I too feel its overpriced at well over a 100 euro's. The packaging and bottle are really swanky though. You do feel you are buying something special. Tastewise this one sits halfway between the Flor 18 (lots of caramel, oak and vanilla) and the Flor 12 (zesty and spicy). But its smoother than both. You can feed this to a baby. Its has no burn whatsoever. Also it is, as expected, more complex than both. Less sweet than the 18, slightly more adult and masculine tasting. There's a hint of old books in the smell and taste. But delicate too at the same time. Let it sit and breath, clean your palate and taste consiously otherwise it won't register fully.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Definitely adding this to my sipping rum list. There isn't anything about this rum that I don't like. The aroma in the bottle is awesome. I cannot really describe it save to say it smells wonderful with just a little bit of sweetness. The flavor is simply luscious. Silky smooth on the tongue with subtle sweetness married brilliantly with soft oakiness leading to an enveloping warmth and leaving with a satiny vanilla aftertaste.

Sounds like something from a romance novel but frankly this rum will evoke romantic notions. This is a very special rum well worth the $100+ price. Highly recommended! In my humble opinion, having this as anything other than a sipping rum would be criminal. As close to a 10 as I can get thus far.

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 15 GPL. I found this rum to be sweeter than any of the other rums in the Flor de Cana lineup and I like my rums in the 15 to 20 GPL range.
It's my opinion that this is the All Star rum in the Flor de Cana lineup. Can't help myself, it's World Series time of the year. You will find this to be a perfectly balanced mixture of oak, vanilla, caramel, with a hint of smoke, spice and maybe a touch of leather in your glass. Smooth on entry then an explosion of the flavors mentioned. All of this is followed by a nice long warm aftertaste. Note: Let this breath a bit before sipping. This rum is in the same league as the Abuelo Centura and not surprisingly it's the same price. Save this rum for special occasions or it will be gone before you know it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jrtorres from Puerto Rico with 33 ratings

En la copa, tiene un color ámbar oscuro.
En la nariz, hay caramelo, vainilla, almendra amarga y aromas de roble suaves.
En boca, es seco, no tan fuertemente amaderado como era de esperar de un 25 anos. Las notas de madera se equilibran junto con caramelo, vainilla y almendras amargas.
Compleja, termina agudo y seco con el roble suave, no es dulce ni empalagoso Fenomenal

Posted over 5 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

Beautifully balanced wood, caramel, vanilla notes. Very smooth and soft nose.

Posted over 1 year ago by Partagas&rum from Norway with 7 ratings

My experience with this one was a bit disapointing.. Lack of rich taste and complexity. A bit harsch on the nose. A possible high expectation, but this was what my pallets told me.

Posted over 1 year ago by Bert Bouquet from United States with 5 ratings

When I buy a Rum I expect it to tast like Rum. This rum has been aged so long in sherry cask that it has taken on the tast. I think there best rum is the 7 year old, it tastes like rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

I tried all of the them collection. 25YO - ok is the best. Very good balance, nice nose and colour.
It is good rum but sorry...worst one from 25YO rum what I drunk. For 25YO you expected more. Disappoitment.

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Flor de Cana 25-Years comes in a very nice and classy black box.
 
You really have to let this rum rest in the glass. I think the equation one minute per year old works fine. The sticky alcohol disappears and smooth aromas of caramel, vanilla, honey and oak becomes clearer.
 
Flor de Cana 25-Year is very smooth and you taste nice flavours like vanilla, caramel, dark chocolate, oak and a little bit of smoke. You also get some spice. Flor de Cana 25-Year is less sweet than expected.
 
The aftertaste is smooth and long. This is a very good rum but it has a bit too much oak and spice for my taste. Flor de Cana 25-Year is a bit dry and I like my rums a little bit sweeter.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack from Canada with 27 ratings

It is very good, just did not live up to the hype. It is strong and bold.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Flor De Caña has a very good catalog. This is the only one I probably won't buy again because it's priced way beyond what it's worth. You get a slightly less defined flavour from their 18 year at a quarter of the price. Far better value there.

Classic rum taste, smooth caramel, hints of oak.

Posted about 4 years ago by Trevor Owens from United States with 5 ratings

Tastes like a classic, smooth rum. Problem is I just won't remember it in a few days.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

End of the bottle so not as aromatic as it should be i guess. Discreet nose compared to the 18 years old.

Aromas of dried apricot and orange.
Long oaky finish. Woody, grilled toasty bread flavors.

Posted over 5 years ago by Richard k from Canada with 5 ratings

Nice hint of Carmel easy on the nose and easy on the pallet very little burn

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 256 ratings

Nice smooth aroma. Not so complex body as expected from 25y. Aftertaste is nice smooth and long. For that price I expected more...

Posted over 1 year ago by vladim from Romania with 7 ratings

Wonderful starting taste of vanilla, dried fruits ,caramel, a few floral accents and wood...
Taste of sweet aromas of almonds, nougat,raisins,chocolate,cherry and apple caramelized, a bit spicy.
Finish: Persistent, aromatic flavor.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Flor de Cana 25 year old was initially tasted at the Flor de Cana distillery in Chichigalpa Nicaragua and the initial feeling was much more closer to a high end cognac instead of a sweet and flavorful aged rum. It is super smooth and has no afterburn, but it is very dry for an aged rum. If you like quality cognac, you will absolutely fall in love with this rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by John Josub from Romania with 9 ratings

Full body, subtle sweet, soft oak very classy. One of my favorites.

Posted over 3 years ago by Maik22 from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Barevné zlato v lahvi. Již sklenice napovídá, že se nebude jednat o jen tak nějaký rum. Jeho vůně je kouzelná,lehce připomínající čokoládu i trochu vanilky. Tuto láhev si dokážu představit do své sběratelské poličky.

Posted over 3 years ago by guillermo from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth and clean . No sweet at all. Let it sit and breathe for a short wile.
Less sweet than Zacapa XO

Posted almost 4 years ago by mike from Canada with 28 ratings

Excellent! Perhaps a bit overpriced; but very tasty and extremely smooth. One of the smoothest rums I have ever had. So easy to sip straight.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Top-notch flavors, beautiful color and aroma, smooth and naturally sweet. What's not to love in a rum this good? It's not just twice as good as the 12yo, it's much better in every way. A delicious and warming pleasure.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

End of bottle. Toasty nose with a hint of hazelnut. Grilled flavours in mouth and long smooth finish, more buttery, balanced. Not a favorite but a good rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum smells and tastes of oak, caramel, light vanilla and cacoa. Not as sweet or smooth as I'd like, but sill good. Over priced for what it is ($159.99 at BevMo! 2015) though my rating doesn't factor in the price.