Posting your rating...
Opthimus 25-Year rum

Opthimus 25-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.6/10 (76 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
19
33
14

Rate Opthimus 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


76 Opthimus 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F1ea3ace305aed91216dd1f4f67dee9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

I had high expectations of this rum due to my Opthimus wishkey finish rating. It is a sweet rum with a really oaky aftertaste. It is ok for its priceclass, but I do not think the best.

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is great. When you open the bottle the smell that hits you, makes you fall in love immediately. That's when it starts, the game of wanting to conquer this goodlooking, sweet smelling liquor! The first sip I took, made me drop on my knee and ask this rum to stay with me forever!!!

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

The nose is very full and sweet with thick caramel, fudge and vanilla. Nice but not a lot happening. I get the same notes in the taste, perhaps supplemented by dried dates. It's very sweet and smooth. The finish even things a bit with a long, rounded barrel note, but to me, it's not quite enough to counter the massive sweetness. A shame that Oliver & Oliver went overboard with the added molasses, as I think it slightly ruins what seems like a nice rum.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

As of this review, the Opthimus 25 is rated slightly lower than the Opthimus 21, but I think the 25 is better. The 25 is smoother, and simply tastes a little better imho.

Has a sweet honey nose, with just a touch of bourbon and oak. Taste is also nicely sweet, with a hint of caramel.

Easy drinking at only 38%abv. A very good rum.

9f988d15b9e7541f7681e7a1cc18c9b0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Si le paradis des rhums existe le mien est en république dominicaine chez OLIVER I Oliver, j'apprécie énormément leurs rhums et celui ci tout particulièrement.

Df4152e91ab4cfbd5fff58ce9779614f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Lovely rum, sweet, complex, lot of taste, no alcohol feel - and do miss that a little bit.

Ad1f77a28181e0e7f1d6a7b53d48b58c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 15 days ago by Mark from Netherlands with 1 rating

An exceptional smooth and tasty rum. This is the best rum I have tasted sofar.

C11b0cce6c0ff17957a3365cb15ccc96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Pedro Ferreirinho from Portugal with 8 ratings

Adquirido numa viagem à República Dominicana em 2014.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 162 ratings

Smell: sweetness, caramel, intense dried fruit (plum), barrel (whisky).
Taste: caramel, spice, fruits, oak, slight bitterness, nice and mild. Nice aftertaste (sherry), it's typical for Oliver and Oliver.
There are some other rums that are similar. This is still nice and round.

Sweetness: 3 / 5
Spice: 3 / 5
Fruit: 3 / 5
Mildness: 3.5 / 5

B22be1d265fb52bb2610ac9520cc2bbb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by zaks from France with 40 ratings

Caramel et vanille, ce rhum est agréable à boire.
Gouté en septembre 2017

271e857ef8b669d2544f00e0e5d5fdbb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

In my top 3 along with Plantation XO and Brugal Leyenda.