Posting your rating...
Opthimus 25-Year rum

Opthimus 25-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.6/10
79 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
20
35
14

Rate Opthimus 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

79 Opthimus 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Oliver y Oliver don’t distil their own rum but, according to them, acquire selected ultra fine alcohol from the best distilleries in Panama, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago and other distilleries from the French and Caribbean islands. They age, blend the different rums to be matured in Tempanillo and Bourbon barrels using the traditional Solera Method.

I was surprised to learn that they have a considerable product range. This includes the brands of Quorhum, Cubaney, Presedencial. The Opthimus range is apparently their higher quality rum.

The Opthimus range comes in a wide variety of solera ages (12, 15, 18, ,21 and 25) and also two additional finishes for the 25 year old (malt Whisky & oPorto)

I picked up the standard 25 year old. The rum comes in an unassuming chunky bottle with a written bottling series number and year which is a nice touch. Suprised to see that it isbottled at only 38% abv.

A dark mahogany brown color. Sweet smells of caramel, dark fruit, vanilla. The taste is again very sweet and similar to the nose but not lots of complexity. Good long finish with a bit of dry oak. Very morish though.

A bit pricey for an under proofed solera rum. However it does make for a very tasty and easy drinking solera rum

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 11 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 79 ratings

This rum is great. When you open the bottle the smell that hits you, makes you fall in love immediately. That's when it starts, the game of wanting to conquer this goodlooking, sweet smelling liquor! The first sip I took, made me drop on my knee and ask this rum to stay with me forever!!!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

The nose is very full and sweet with thick caramel, fudge and vanilla. Nice but not a lot happening. I get the same notes in the taste, perhaps supplemented by dried dates. It's very sweet and smooth. The finish even things a bit with a long, rounded barrel note, but to me, it's not quite enough to counter the massive sweetness. A shame that Oliver & Oliver went overboard with the added molasses, as I think it slightly ruins what seems like a nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 468 ratings

As of this review, the Opthimus 25 is rated slightly lower than the Opthimus 21, but I think the 25 is better. The 25 is smoother, and simply tastes a little better imho.

Has a sweet honey nose, with just a touch of bourbon and oak. Taste is also nicely sweet, with a hint of caramel.

Easy drinking at only 38%abv. A very good rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Si le paradis des rhums existe le mien est en république dominicaine chez OLIVER I Oliver, j'apprécie énormément leurs rhums et celui ci tout particulièrement.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Lovely rum, sweet, complex, lot of taste, no alcohol feel - and do miss that a little bit.

Small e209bc5e 5a5b 4380 87d3 5431d22d229d

Posted 1 day ago by MaartenVL from Belgium with 29 ratings

Very smooth rum with flavors of caramel, baked bananas and dry fruit. The rum is not to sweet and is a little bit sticky in the mouth. Very decent rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Limike from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

Vůně medově nasládlá,lehce dřevitá, rozinky. Velmi příjemná luxusní vůně typická pro Oliver. Chuť vyvážená hlavně med, skořice,dřevo. Dlouhá dochuť na jazyku. Výborný sladký rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 424 ratings

This rum has typical Oliber&Oliber signature which I like 😍 Aroma is strong with wood, raisins and fruit tones. Taste is sweet, smooth, warm and very complex. Raisin, plum, forest fruit, peach oak and many other notes you will discover with every sipp. Aftertaste is longer and pleasant. Very good also for beginners and woman, due to lower level of alcohol - not burning.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Mark from Netherlands with 1 rating

An exceptional smooth and tasty rum. This is the best rum I have tasted sofar.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Pedro Ferreirinho from Portugal with 11 ratings

Adquirido numa viagem à República Dominicana em 2014.