Posting your rating...
Opthimus 21-Year rum

Rate Opthimus 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Opthimus 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Mikey from Germany with 6 ratings

... von einem Rum. Lässt sich sehr schwer in Worte fassen, darum lass ich es besser.

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

Sweet, smooth, vanilla, but not much complexity overall. Fine, nothing special

Posted about 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

Picked thus up in P. Plata duty free recently, $55.
Very classy bottle, handwritten.
Lovely colour and very smooth on the tongue. A little bit of spice, not too sweet, vanilla, coffee and slightly orange.
Top class sipping rum.
Graham.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed back-to-back 25, 21, 18 and 15 year old Opthimus rums this weekend. Surprisingly the 25 year old was not the best of the bunch. The 21 year old was the goldilocks with a very nice flavor profile and super smooth finish with hardly any burn. If you want to try Opthimus for the very first time, try the 21 year old and it will set you a very good benchmark.

Opthimus 25 year 7 points
Opthimus 21 year 8 points
Opthimus 18 year 6 points
Opthimus 15 year 4 points

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 41 ratings

Not the best one from Oliver Oliver distillery. I expected something better but still really good rum. Classic sweetness from Dominican Republic with light alcohol burn for me. Give it a try.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum really went down easy. I guess that's because it's only 38%abv.

Has a sweet honey nose, with just a hint of bourbon and oak. Taste is also nicely sweet, with a hint of caramel. Not quite as good as the Opthimus 25 imho, but a very good rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Smooth woody premium rum in stylish "pharmaceutical" bottle
But twice cheaper Atlantico private cask is quite similar...

Posted 17 days ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

- vůně nasládlá, klasický Oliver koření
- chuť jemná, nasládlá
Hodně mi připomínal ve vůni i v chutí Exquisito 1995, jen o ždibek jemnější, Opthimus 38%, Exquisito 1995 40%

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 5 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

My first Opthimus and I have to try also his older brothers. Clasic Oliver aroma with hints of oak, caramel and honey. Rum in mouth is super-smooth with flavours of vanilla, sugar cane, chocolate and oak. Simply awesome. My top 5.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

This is a rum that walks the spanish route. Sweet and smooth with caramel and dried fruit.

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

Having tried and rated both the 25 year and 25 year port finish I thought I would try this. All around great. Smooth, great sweet taste with just a little lingering aftertaste. Lacks just a little in complexity than the 25 year and is equally as good as the port finish. Give it a try, it won’t disappoint.

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Vona plna rumova, vanilka, melasa, susene ovocie, ceresne. Chut zodpoveda voni, sladka, vyvazena, jemna drevitost, alkohol takmer necitit, len prijemne hreje v hrdle. Dalsi skvely kusok z dielne Oliver&Oliver. Odporucam.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tivadar from Hungary with 5 ratings

Opthimus 21 éves rum, amelyre Romero mester ráírta, hogy melyik palack... Akár egy jó Zacapa rumra emlékeztet engem, a többi tételük is kíváncsivá tett :)

Posted over 1 year ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

excellent, plus doux que son petit frère de 15 ans et plus complexe aussi, j'adore

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Tobacco in flavor, walnut in the after aroma. It reminds me of Esclavo, it is one of the better O&O offerings. It is maybe a bit flat with too much sweetness, 25y is better balanced thanks to the extra maturation.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Deosebit, arome puternice dar un aftertaste mediu. Este suficient de fin mai ales on the rocks!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

I expected something better but still really good rum. Excellent, but not as good as the 25yr.

Posted over 2 years ago by Co from Switzerland with 3 ratings

I really like this rum a lot. Great mixture of light spices and roynd finish. Sweet but not too sweet. One of my favorite.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

En god rom med smag af vanille, men også et strejf af kokos. En lidt sødere rom, men det trækker ikke ned. Var i tvivl om det skulle være et 9-tal, men måske forventningen om noget mere skuffede nok lidt. Giver den nyt forsøg på et tidspunkt med en mere neutral indgangsvinkel. Men stadig en rigtig rigtig god rom, der kan anbefales.

Posted over 2 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

It's more spicy than the 18 and the 25 year old. I liked that

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter Flodin from Sweden with 2 ratings

Magic in a bottle. Sweet, vanilla, honey and caramel

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Igen ligesom 15års en meget mild rom. Dog lidt mere og længere eftersmag.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hans Erik from Denmark with 56 ratings

En virkelig god Rom efter min smag har en god og lang efter smag

Posted almost 3 years ago by Björn from Sweden with 2 ratings

This bottle is very nice and the label amazing, beautiful with handwrite numbers.

The coulor of the rum is very nice. It's a easy smooth rum to drink. I smell some smook and sweet.

I taste some bitter, woody and sweetnes.

Ok rum to sipp on.