Posting your rating...
Opthimus 18-Year rum

Rate Opthimus 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Opthimus 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

It's a nice Spanish-like rum. I had it straight up. It was sweet but not too sweet. It has no heavy aftertaste

Posted 16 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This is a decent rum. It drinks away good but I think it is to expensive for what you get in the bottle. The 25 year-old is much and much better!

Posted about 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

Nose: Rich and fruity, wood, some smoke, orange and caramel. Nice.
Palate: smooth, a bit smoky maybe, not much burn, sweet and spicy. Authentic and pretty harmonic, but lass aromatic than the nose promises, and a rather short aftertaste. Not as well balanced and voluminous as the 25-Year with Malt Whiskey Finish. Seems to be a bit less sweet and a bit more orangy than the 15-Year.
8,7

Posted over 1 year ago by mmorgan103 from United States with 6 ratings

Color not as dark as I enjoy but vey pleasing, a hint of mystery, Taste is like it was made from the finest sugar cane, you can taste the rum on the tip of your tongue then the finish of a deep Sherry and light bourbon taste. Sip this one, light to no ice especially after a day of skiing.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed back-to-back 25, 21, 18 and 15 year old Opthimus rums this weekend. 18 year old Opthimus is not bad at all when you drink it in isolation from the others, but the flavors are clearly lacking the depth and the smoothness when compared side by side with the 25 and 21 year olds. If you want to try Opthimus for the very first time, try the 21 year old and it will set you a very good benchmark.

Opthimus 25 year 7 points
Opthimus 21 year 8 points
Opthimus 18 year 6 points
Opthimus 15 year 4 points

Posted about 3 years ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Not bad, but I can imagine several better rums for this price, honestly I think it is not for mass of people, but rather for advanced rum drinkers. It's taste is not so rich.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

Everything looked super with this one. Great bottle and nice color.. But at the first sniff.. There is alcohol.. Tasted it.. Main taste is alcohol with some nice tones underneath.. The finish is also packed with the pure taste of ethanol and some nice tones underneath.. Have to trie an older one to see..

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Nicht ganz günstig, aber sehr gut. Unglaublich mild und tolle Aromen.

Posted 5 months ago by thejesse from United States with 4 ratings

It's an elegant rum with excellent smoothness. Drinks very well neat with perhaps a couple drops of water to help open it up. A slightly smokey bouquet but a sweet (not too sweet, just right) initial sip followed by a dark maple / apple finish with gentle alcohol. If you find this do not pass it up.

Posted 6 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...it was an ok and quick taste at a lokal rum store, was curious...not disapointed but not overwhelmed either.

Solid rum yet nothing fancy. There are better rums from O&O.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

As all Opthimus this is a sweet and rather smooth rum.

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Sweeter taste with honey, vanilla and fruit. More complex body and a bit longer aftertaste than 15y. Worth the small price difference vs 15y. But nothing special to remember - 7,5 points 😐

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

God rom, har haft en 25 års, den når ikke den i niveau, men ganske udemærket til prisen

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Its a good rum, but very expensive.
You can drink it straight up or mix it, its still nice.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kim Guldager from Denmark with 3 ratings

It’s fine, taste: light, around and soft taste, works fine for me

Posted over 2 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

takova stolni rum pro kazdou prilezitost neuskodi a flaska padne hned..

Posted over 2 years ago by Meteleskublesku from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

...,.............. .. .. ... ... ... ...... . . ....

Posted over 2 years ago by Fredrick from Sweden with 10 ratings

Stockholm/Sweden 8-12-2017
This was a happy surprise. I didn't feel the strong alcohol taste on this one. Medium I would say. I find the Diplomatico has a stronger Alcohol presence. I haven't tried the other years but this one really opened my eyes. Delicious. Look forward to go deep....

Posted over 2 years ago by Andreas Bisgaard from Denmark with 27 ratings

Dejlig "nem" rom, som smager rigtig lækkert, og hvor det kan være svært med kun et enkelt glas

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 38 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Typická dominikánská nasládlost. Navíc jsme u firmy Oliver and Oliver, u ní je voskově medové aroma hodně časté. Včelí plástve, trochu větrové. Mléčná čokoláda a broušené kůže. (86 b)
Chuť: Jak voněl, tak i chutná. Voskově medový, pikantně větrový, s kůží a kakaem. Jemný, uhlazený, pikantně větrový, nasládlý ale i trochu peprný. (86 b)
Body: 86/100
Shrnutí: Lahev byla mým příspěvkem do další společné akce s kamarádem. Stylově mi Opthimus dost připomíná rumy Quorhum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

this tastes for me smooth but stronger taste with cinnamon ans spice, the end of taste is stronger
With Neutral smell at the beginning , good rum

Posted about 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

This Opthimus 18y is a step above its younger bro the 15y. More mature and complex, this rhum can be a good daily sipper. Small reproach, maybe a little bit too alcoholic ...

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

Much better than 15, little bit sweeter and smoothier.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jose Segura from Germany with 20 ratings

Wood and caramel flavors
Light cinnamon flavor. Light spice and sweetness.
Spicy mainly on the finish.
More powerful than the 3 years less mature Opthimus 15-Year

Holz und Karamell-Aromen
Leichter Zimtgeschmack. Leichte Würze und Süsse.
Würze vor allem im Abgang.
Kräftiger als der 3 Jahre weniger gereifte Opthimus 15-Year

Posted over 3 years ago by Anders Jørgensen from Denmark with 3 ratings

Denne Rom har en dejlig sød smag, og er en af min favoritter.