Posting your rating...
Opthimus 15-Year rum

Opthimus 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.0/10 (77 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
9
35
22
2
1

Rate Opthimus 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


77 Opthimus 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jup!man from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Jantarová patnáctka z Dominikánské republiky, která se válela v sudech od bourbonu a whisky, má krásnou chuť po vanilce, čokoládě a kakau s jemným dlouhým medovým závěrem ξ;

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Ein wunderbarer Sommer Ron.
In der Nase, angenehme Aromen von Trockenfrüchten, Banane und Honig.
Im Gaumen werden diese Aromen noch mit einer gewissen Schärfe untermalt.
Der Abgang himmlisch.
Ein super Ron aus dem Hause Oliver&Oliver

A wonderful summer Ron.
In the nose, pleasant aromas of dried fruits, banana and honey.
In the palate these aromas are still underlined with a certain sharpness.
The departure celestial.
A super Ron from Oliver & Oliver

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by LOBU from Belgium with 8 ratings

Ok rum, nothing special but decent. Nothing to remember though.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristofer from Sweden with 11 ratings

This rum was an dissapointment the first times i drank it.
But after 3-4 Times i disovered the tastes that i had missed.
This is a realy good rum!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

Simple isn’t a bad thing. I classify rums a simple and complex first, then into sub categories. Simple rums are unadulterated with excess flavors, sugar or colorings, complex rums have a wide range of flavor notes, colors and aromas.

All that said, this rum is lightly sweet in a natural way and has a good medium burn. It’s smooth and not harsh, and the nose hints of flavors without bashing you about the head with them.

The taste is not identifiable to me just yet, whether it’s indistinguishable or just beyond my palate, I don’t know.

Final impressions: this is a GOOD rum. It’s pleasant, not overly sweet and there is no offensive chemical additive taste to it. I liken it to a Zacapa just less so.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 50 ratings

Really more like a 6.5, but I’m feeling generous at the moment. Def heavy on the caramel and sweet note, which I’m totally fine with, but I’m not sure I would make this a go to for a sipper. Plenty smooth and tasty enough to sample though, and ultimately would do in a pinch.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 350 ratings

As usual, I walked into one of my favorite liquor stores hoping to buy a specific one and it was not there. Browsing through what was available, I finally found a rum by Opthimus at only $46, which is still below my $50 per bottle limit. With the name of Oliver & Oliver on the box, I knew that it had to be good since I love their Vizcaya rums by the same company. Mine is bottle number 124 from 2016. It is a 15 year solera rum.

I opened it up and poured a snifter, then let it breathe for more than an hour. The aroma and taste are of caramel, with no after burn or horrible taste. It is a very good rum, but not complex enough to make it into my top ten sipping rums. It won't go to waste and I now have another expensive fancy bottle for my collection. I should be thankful that I have already found my top ten after starting out only two months ago. Thanks to all of the reviewers who guided me to the right ones.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

I really like this one, just had it again.
Nose: caramel, oak, well balanced

Palate: really smooth, well balanced, some sweetness, also some slight sharpness, slightly smoky. More volume and body than many others, but not lasting very long.

Sugar: 29 g/l

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Positivt overrasket - fin balanceret med gode nuancer

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Lot of very sweet flavor, vanilla, custard, butterscotch. Not very complexe with pastry taste and nice aftertaste. This is a good rum for an introduction to the range Opthimus