Posting your rating...
Opthimus 15-Year rum

Opthimus 15-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

7.0/10
79 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
10
35
24
1
1

Rate Opthimus 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

79 Opthimus 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Den er ikke så kraftig i næsen. Vanilie og en smule lakrids er hvad jeg får ud af den.
Smagen er ikke noget at råbe hurra for. Den er ok men smager ikke af meget

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

Because of the price point, it is expected that Opthimus 15 is a good sipper. I believe that this is a great rum, but best served over a hard cube of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Opthimus 15 38% Dominican Republic

Eye: Liquid mahogany

Nose: We begin with a peculiar smell of sawn timber, like singed oak. Then dusts of alcohol, honey, fir, resin and exotic spices e.g. cinnamon and dried vanilla. It is very “natural” and the alcohol burn is strong which is surprising for the mere 38%. No dominant sweetness here which is a relief. There are some promising fragrances of burnt sugar, heavy white blossom, like lily and sleepy ripe tulips.

Mouth: Low key? No. Everything washes over the palate at the same time and crowds the mouth. The strength bring tears to my eyes and they are not tears of joy. Is this really only 38% ABV? It is like a sweetened Balvenie double wood. It is difficult to discern what is what as this angry spirit and its fiery components battles on the palate. It is a bit astringent (guess that’s the oak) which is different but not wrong. I find honey, fir resin, some christmas fruits, dates and a hint of pomegranate. There is also some green apples (it has a slight resemblance of Calvados actually), burnt caramel, coconut milk, herbs, spices and a little varnish.

Reaction: It feels like a cask strength. What kind of steroids is this Opthimus on? It is really quite strong but at the same time that compensates for the lack of breadth and elegance. What a paradox! The sweetness is formidable and the notion of sawn wood is a welcome touch which alone makes this odd rum worth trying. It is no standard beginners edition for wannabes but something for the true aficionado I think. I look forward to try an older Opthimus where the elements had time to settle just a little bit. The capacity for greatness is certainly there in this bomb-of-a-rum.

85p

Price: 500 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jonas Vikkelsø from Denmark with 5 ratings

En rigtig fin rom med gode frugtede toner og masere af sødme

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

A decent rum that is OK on the pallet... Not depths of flavour but a gentle spice which is nice in the aftertaste....

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Turambar from France with 21 ratings

Un rhum léger, facile, bien fruité, sur les fruits exotiques et surtout la vanille.
Rendu plutôt sucré mais élégant. texture sèche.
Un rhum solera (donc les plus vieux rhums ont 15 ans) hélas trop dilué à 38% et
qui mériterait d'être vendu à 45-46%

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

Surprised I was to find out this does not taste much, not much at all... But it is sweet :)

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Benco from France with 7 ratings

Très agréable à boire! très rond!!
Léger et doux en bouche !!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Sehr Lecker und mild etwas Eiche, honig, und Vanille..

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jannick from Denmark with 15 ratings

Fin rom, til pengene. Har en god eftersmag uden at blive for sød.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 159 ratings

I must have something to collect, so here is another fine rum.
In time, i must taste it, but not now :)