Posting your rating...
Ron Esclavo 12-Year rum

Ron Esclavo 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.7/10 (76 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
17
34
13
3

Rate Ron Esclavo 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


76 Ron Esclavo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 419 ratings

A good choice. It's simple an complicate, in the same time. Excelent aftertaste. Beautiful notes.

Fb84e2e26f09266e1a01dbcd80b94599.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Thomas Nørlund Nielsen from Denmark with 9 ratings

Rigtig god rom, smag ag melasse og vanilie. En lille smule sprittet

05b6646c797134db09c259a29a8ed10b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

I like it, lovely sweet taste, not as good as the XO but closes. Need to try the 15 YO just to compare them all.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

I had the luxury of tasting Ron Esclavo XO, 15 and 12 year old rums back-to-back and what a nice treat it was on a sunny Saturday evening. Ron Esclavo rums come from the Oliver & Oliver group, so it does not surprise me a bit that they are all amazing since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO has a very deep color, whereas the 15-year old Ron Esclavo is much lighter in color and the 12 year old is once more darker, a bit closer to the XO color. Coffee, chocolate and toffee have an amazing balance and when you move downwards from XO, which is super smooth, to 15 which is very nice to 12 which has a gradually larger amount of burn at the end. Flavor profile stays the same, but the intensity of the burn increases very gradually. The Ron Esclavo XO is much better than the Dictador XO Insolent which has a similar flavor profile, but it's nowhere close this good, whereas the Ron Esclavo 15 and 12 are much closer to the Dictador XO Insolent flavor profile.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 16
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 85

Dea36e9a8f84b38f25c9c08c242c0a13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Duft: lækker sød duft. vanilie, røget, blomme, kandis og en lille smule sprit.
Smag: sød og lidt røget i smagen. Karamel og blomme. God lang sød eftersmag

028e632551d40b4e566f5d17f446fc91.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Skvělý jemný rum, pokud máte rádi jemné sladší (nikoliv však sladké) rumy, už 12y za to stojí. Ostatní vyšší kategorie (resp. starší - 15y, XO, Cask) jsou ještě lepší, což nebývá vždy pravidlem.

102f1793e493eee2e667792043577f71.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Schöner Einsteiger Rum.
Nichts zu komplexes. Würzig, Fruchtig, minimale Süße im Abgang.
Auch günstiger Preis.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

Tasted this in a hotel bar with a very limited range of rums. Would never have tried it under normal circumstances cause that I tried the XO just over a year ago and thought it was to sweet.
This one is also sweet but not nearly as sweet as the XO, which pleases me.
I recognized vanilla, fruits and chocolate but there is also hints of sharp alcohol.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 161 ratings

Not bad, but not exceptional. I'm not a fan of Esclavo Rums. They are intensive and have this typical smell of dry fruits and burned suggar rums. But I can't find something special in them. There is no special aroma or a combination of aromas that I could remember.

Smell: molasses, caramel, oak, dry fruits, some fermeted fruits
Taste: caramel, burned sugar, spice, light bitterness, warm burn

Sweetness: 3/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

A9a43906ed6ebbd4757a925ee816e70c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 68 ratings

If you go for the Esclavo 15y or above you’ll get very good and tasteful rums. This is perhaps okay as an introduction to the brand?

79eecdff0e9b55fb2ee356d48cd903a2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

... hope the big brothers (15yo and XO) are better.