Posting your rating...
A. H. Riise Non Plus Ultra Very Rare rum

Rate A. H. Riise Non Plus Ultra Very Rare

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 A. H. Riise Non Plus Ultra Very Rare ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Krapaow from Sweden with 6 ratings

Tastes like one of those chocolate pralines that you feared of getting in your mouth when the box was almost empty. The flask though is probably one of the most beautiful I've seen. If you're a fan of those horrible pralines you will probably love this one.

Posted about 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

It´s one of my favorite. (9,5 / 10)
it´s a little bit to sweet , with an icecube it´s a little bit less sweet.

Nose - Great :sweet, dark ,fruits ,sherry ,smoke
Taste - Great : very sweet ,very rich, long and fruity ,sherry ,caramel , vanilla ,smoke,tabacco.
very long aftertase .

If you like sweet Rum , you must try this one.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Claus Høegh Andersen from Denmark with 51 ratings

Virkelig lækker Rom med masser af smag og behageligt eftersmag, en Rom der passer til en speciel lejlighed

Posted over 2 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Best Riise I have ever had, but I can't give it full score, because it isn't very good value for money. XO Reserve is very similar in taste but it is also 50% cheaper. If money is not a problem for you, than this is defitnitely must have. If you want to have something little but worse but for much less money, than XO should be your choice.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Beautiful bottle, but a glas - plastic combination to close the bottle. It looks like a cristal caraffe.
I smell caramel, tabaco, toffey, vanilla. Then caramel again, sweet, vanilla, wood, and long lasting coffee and toffey. Really long lasting.
But it sweet. You will love it or hate it. I love it!

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

I am not a fan of the Riise productions in general, so I wasnt too optimistic when i poured myself a glass of this. However I must admit this is the first Riise ever that I actually enjoy. The orange is kept at such a low level that its hardly noticeable, unlike all other Riises I've tasted.

Nose: Oak, Caramel, burned sugar, sherry
Taste: Caramel (ALOT of caramel and volume!), vanilia, dried fruits
A very round and gentle aftertaste, that small alcohol bit that felt in the beginning is completely gone now.
It is still a very sweet rum, and to many it will be too sweet. But for me this is the best Riise production I've tasted to this day, this is actually drinkable! :-)

Posted over 1 year ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Not my cup of coffee. For sweet candy lovers. Smells nice, nice dark color.

Posted about 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

The flavor is like whole candy dissolving in your mouth at once. Great bottle you can show to your friends, but pour a glass only for your enemies.

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel from Sweden with 3 ratings

The bottle looks old and fansy. The rum is amazing. Heavy toffe and caramel. Rich taste and smooth to drink. Get one and try for yourself.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mat from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

because of the price and bottle presentation I expected at least the perfect quality of quorhum30. first thing you notice is very strong smell after dried orange.Then you take first shot, and what you can feel, is very significant taste and afterburn of, yes, dried orange. smell and taste are very different from all the others rums in my cabinet. One reviewer here wrote that this is not even a rum and I didn't understand. now I understand,it's significant and specific smell & taste makes you think about this is not a rum.

on the other hand, it's really smooth and you can feel the age. it's pretty sweet (for sweet rums lovers this is a must-try, for others it's over-sweetened) and yes, the bottle looks like from Dallas TV series, looks perfect, even the cap is made from glass. 67/100

Posted almost 3 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Well judging by the reviews I was nt sure if I was gonna buy s bottle or not. Eventhough I like sweet Rum and the bottle is probably one of the most beautiful on the market...
But I came across a bottle in a small low profile bar in Zürich... 24 Swiss Francs for 4cl I thought : " Sure ! Let's do it !!! ".
Well I m glad I did.
At first the smell was so horrible I thought somehow it went bad...A bit like the Mocambo I rated to be the worst Rum ever made.
Then I take a sip, and... woooooooooooooooooooooooooow!
Never had something breathtaking in my mouth (I m a straight male).
Don t want to spoil it for you guys so do yourself a favor. Get your hand on a bottle or order a glass of it if you can find it. The experience totally justifies the price you pay for it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Peter V Stolten from Sweden with 1 rating

One of the best rum served to me at all.. Thanks a lot

Posted about 3 years ago by Jan Mariboe from Denmark with 3 ratings

The taste is Non Plus Ultra a unique experience, with its very rich, long and fruity flavor with hints of cedar, Vanilla, Caramel, fine Sherry  and Seville Orange, which continues almost indefinitely, and ends of with an elegant soft finish.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

I bought this bottle, in the very beginning of my rum adventures. I got sold on some great promotion and salesmanship, and the flashy decanter.
Boy did I regret that. This just is not rum. No information on whats in the bottle, but I can tell you, that if there is any rum in there, it has been diluted with all sorts of weird added flavors and obviously colouring.
It tastes like hystericly sweet candy, with odd non natural flavors.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dennis Kjer from Denmark with 33 ratings

Sød og til dels rund rom med frugtig duft. Sødmen og den til dels små parfumerede smag og duft bliver dog hurtigt for meget. Et godt glas som altid kan drikkes, men ikke pengene værd. Prisudviklingen er dog også gået fra 900 til 600kr.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Vejle Krog from Denmark with 66 ratings

Very fruity. Does not stay very long on the pallet

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

De sabor en boca anaranjado y cerezas se convirtió en una experiencia totalmente diferente

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 41 ratings

You can love it or hate it. Nothing in between. For me its love. Excellent sweet rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

This rum is provided in a nice and classy bottle which shows you that you are in the premium range of the brand. I have been told that one of the caracteristic of the brand was the presence of orange taste in their products and it is sadly clearly true. The Orange taste predominate others aromas like caramal, vanilla and even the sherry. Clearly a premium product but it does not match my taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

Sweet with a lotof sherry body, it is not far away from Dos Maderas 10+5 years.

Posted over 3 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

2th best rum after embassador. Smooooooooth. Man sooooo smooooth. Nothing harsh, no ethanol, just a smooth sweet rum without feeling like a candy or chemical. Amazing after taste that kept on lasting. Vanilla, fruty, citrus and orange. My favorit tastes all together well blended in one bittle. One if the most beautifull decanter bottles i have seen btw. It looks expensive, too bad it is, but worth it. Only small side note: the orange was just that little bit too strong to have every single taste 100% balanced. But i'm nitpicking. I want a bottle !! (I even payed twice with tokens @ the rumfest because i wanted more!! )

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

After tasted the XO Reserve, I was curious to taste this rum. The bottle is maybe one the most beautiful if you forgot the Angostura Legacy and the Havana Maximo. But my fear was that the predominant aroma of orange will always be present in it. And it was the case ! This one is more complex with oak, leather, citrus, tobacco. Long and fruity flavors in mouth with vanilla and caramel. If you study the history of this company, you can understand the aromatic orientation for this product. But if you closed your eyes, you can recognize a syrup for the throat. I recognize the quality of work behind this blend but I do not approve the aromatic choice. Diversity creates wealth and rum universe is vast.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Nepochybně je hladší, kořeněnější, s delším dokončením než jejich standardní. Na druhou stranu, stejně jako ony je hlavně výrazně sladký, což ty nuance poněkud přebíjí, takže v poměru cena/výkon udělají např. X.O. 175 years Anniversary nebo Family Reserve přece jen lepší službu.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Per from Denmark with 45 ratings

This is a top class rum. Very smooth and long taste. Also a great aftertaste.
Strongly recommended!




#