Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year rum

Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year

Barbados | Aged | 56.0% ABV

8.8/10
13 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
4
5

Rate Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 Foursquare 2005 Shibboleth 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Thorsten Bouillon from Germany with 13 ratings

Outstanding aroma. Nose perfect. Its a high class sipper. Hard to get a bottle. Must have.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 155 ratings

taste - 9.5/10
smell - 9/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 2/10

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Rumambassador from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Stunning but more subtle than some others before which serves as a point of difference within the ECS range.. I am already on my 2nd bottle and will buy more if possible as I think this might become a classic like Criterion. Very very easy to drink, beware!!

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 7 days ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 414 ratings

I had all but written off Foursquare ECS rums because most of them taste too much like bourbon. If I wanted a bourbon, I could save a lot of money and just buy real bourbons. Well, this one showed up as a new arrival on the website of one of my favorite liquor stores today for only $138. So I did some research before plunking down this kind of change. This was the cheapest price and some go all the way up to more than $400. Disgusting!!! Doesn't anyone drink their rums these days instead of hoarding them to make a huge profit?

One of the top results in my research was a review from The Fat Rum Pirate. I usually agree with his opinion, so I read his entire review. Shibboleth is basically a slang term to annotate that something or someone is entirely from Barbados. This bit of advice saved me from trying to come up with anagrams for it. This was aged entirely in the tropics for 16 years and is a blend of pot still and column still rums. They are aged in ex-bourbon casks, but somehow the bourbon flavor never rears it's ugly head. Lots of tropical fruit notes and that was all I needed to know to make the 25 mile drive to grab that only bottle. The Fat Rum Pirate said it all much better than I can, so just look up his review. NO DAMN BOURBON NOTES! That was my key. How on earth this was accomplished can only be described as a Bajan miracle.

I will savor this bottle because when it's gone, it will be way too expensive to replace, if I can even find another bottle. I basically lucked out today.

And I forgot to mention that it needs to breathe in the snifter for at least 20 minutes. Then add a couple of drops of spring water. On days when you don't want the burn, just add a couple of ice cubes, and for me, this is where this rum really shines with incredible tropical flavors and no burn. It is also very rare for me to increase my rating, as is the case here going from a high 8 to a low 9.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Tomduck from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Foursquare consistently make outstanding rum and this one is no exception. A different flavour profile to the 07/08 and Redoutable and perhaps more subtle and tropical but none the worse for it! These expressions have become holy grails for rum lovers, and I can’t wait to see what 09 tastes like!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 39 ratings

First impresion-16 years seems to be too much. Only in Bourbon barels. In this case woodiness exceeded typical Foursquare taste.
Needs more sips and time and maybe I re-evaluate my rating. Till then only 8.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Woodjd20 from United States with 5 ratings

Nice pour!

Aroma: Acetone, Caramelized Orange, Black Walnut, Almond, Black Currant, Butterscotch, Chocolate covered strawberries, Dried Apricots, Mint, and Candy floss.⁠

Palate: Layered, rich, and complex. Notes of dark chocolate ganache, blackberry compote, butterscotch, banana nut bread, finishing with tangerine, and blood orange⁠.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by mulorz from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

Ve vůni cítím dubové dřevo, karamel i ovocné tóny. V chuti je cítit jeho síla, kouřovitost, nádechy ovoce, ale bohužel ho necítím tolik ani po předchozím rozlihování. Závěr je dlouhý, cítím i nasládlost, ale čekal jsem od tohoto kousku více.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Rumlover from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Really special stuff, and shows how far FSQ have come. Compare this year’s releases to the legendary Criterion and both are superior rums. Redoutable more heavy weight, Shibboleth subtler but multi layered and dangerously easy to drink despite there high ABVs. Do NOT add water!

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Joola69 from United States with 2808 ratings

Thank Your Rhum Attitude for a proper rum tasting during the 17th month of global lockdown. Foursquare Shibboleth has a decent bottle and label design. Light golden color. Super fruity and mild oakiness to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Surprisingly boozy to your palate at the end.