Posting your rating...
A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask rum

Rate A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


44 A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Na pravidelné rumové párty jsme tentokrát měli lahev od firmy z Dánska - A.H.Riise. Jedná se o limitovanou, ručně číslovanou edici, stáčenou jako single cask.
Dozrávání je z názvu jasné, sudy po sauternes.
Alkohol: 42 %
Původ: Americké Panenské ostrovy/Dánsko
Aroma: Po prvním přivonění ke sklence se mi vybavila vzpomínka na Pyrat XO, je zde patrná vůně po pomerančích, k ní se přidává alkoholová linka, cukrová vata a medovina. Zajímavá změna vůně je znát z prázdné sklenky po několikaminutovém odvětrání alkoholu, kdy se objeví aroma kyselého angreštu, přezrálého kiwi, manga a nějakého sladšího tropického ovoce. (87 b)
Chuť: V chuti medovina, sladké, lehce kořenité ledové víno. Vůbec celá chuť je o převládající sladkosti, v jejíž záplavě ale vykoukne i nakyslá kořenitost. (86 b)
Body: 87
Shrnutí: A. H . Riise X.O. reserve Sauternes cask je osobitý rum. I když mi svým prvotním pomerančovým aroma připomněl Pyrata XO, jde si svou vlastní cestou. Komu sladké nechutná, asi by se měl poohlédnout po jiné značce, kdo ale rád objevuje další rumové styly a chce okusit ovocného slaďouše, je na správné adrese. Já i mí dva rumoví parťáci jsme se shodli na tom, že nám hodně chutná.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve McCarthy from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This is probably the nicest rum I've ever tasted, it has a sweet almost caramel/honey taste to it, with very little burn. It is not a cheap rum, costing about £34 for a 70cl. bottle, but worth every penny. This is a novelty amongst rums, in that it has no "afterburn"either.
There are some beautiful fruit tastes, such as tangerine, and mango, but it is its sweet syrupy texture that brings the message home "I am gorgeous", is what its taste says to me.
I have drunk a fair selection of rums, I imagine over 150 brands, having been a fan since I was 16, and am now well into my 60s, but have never found one as nice as this. If you get the opportunity, try it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Aged in French Sauterne wine oak barrel (famous sweet wine wine), this very sweet rum is unique and special and shows pungent aromtic aromas of mangos, apricot, orange peel and some flowers.

The mouth is extremely sweet, luscious, fruit and flowery driven. Very long honey finish.

Very pleasant and surprising but could not drink more than a glass. Best as a digestive

Posted over 2 years ago by Gaétan Muespach from France with 4 ratings

Dont get me wrong, this is a good Rhum.

Is has strong vanilla à almost "malabar" nose.

At the taste, the first impression is confirmed but the explosion is real. Strong citrus taste, combined to a vanilla and grape taste at the end. Good rhum for people that like sweet rhums but I'm done after one classe.

Posted over 4 years ago by LagMo from Denmark with 1 rating

Now this is a rum that any true 'hardcore' rum aficionado would love to hate.

Sweeter than Charlies Chocolate Factory, the unassuming aroma starts of with mild and slightly cloying notes of apple-blossom & apricot that eventually deepens into heady honey tones.

These no bite whatsoever when it hits the palate, despite the 42% a.b.v. content, but the syrupy sweet molasses texture eventually ripens into a riot of flowery honey tones.
Afterburn is nonexistent but leaves a meady afterglow and sweet caramel coating on the throat that just keeps piling on unending honey metaphors till your are lips sealed shut by the sugars.

Excellent as a dessert aperitif and the comparisons to Pyrat XO is very apt, though I'd call this even more extreme.
Has potential as a very unusual high-end cocktail mixer or sipped neat for those who like their spirits sweeter than catnipped kittens assaulting a bowl of honey covered chocolates.

Whiskey & Cognac die-hards need to look elsewhere or choke to death trying to swallow this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

If you are into sweet rum this is it. I find the taste good

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

This "rum" is beyound sweet. It's litteraly like drinking sugar desolved in water. The palette has some notes of orange and a smidge of wood, but other then that it's pure sugar mayhem

Posted 10 days ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Very sweet, fruity and delicious rum with long tail. I like it in small quantities, not for all night drinking.

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Riise is killing me.
Smell: sugar syrup, pear, marshmallow, berries
Taste: incredibly sweet, fruit, chewing gum, marshmallow, spice at the end

This is definitely a overpriced liqueur.
Try Southern Comfort Whiskey Liqueur for 10€ a bottle, it's also good, maybe as good as this one.

Sweetness: 5/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 4/5

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Verím,že tento pomerne vzácny rum ma svojich priaznivcov. Je ako príjemný sladucky dezert i keď na mňa osobne sladký až príliš. Pán Riise to so sladkostou trošku prehnal,ale kto rád cíti v rumoch kopu vanilky,hrozienok a sladkých tónov - tu si príde na svoje.

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

"Single barrel", ovocné aroma, v chutí se prvně dostaví sladkost tropického ovoce, která je během chvíle potlačena 40 %, příjemný sladší dozvuk v kombinací s voltáži.
Těch 40 % vnímán v každé kapce, až bych hádal silnější procenta. A můj názor? Raději 5 těchto lahví než jedno Platinum.

Posted 6 months ago by Chris from Germany with 11 ratings

Even for a typical Riise rum more than sweet. More like a liquor. You love it or hate it.
finish is really long, creamy and smooth

Posted 10 months ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

It is a dessert rum! But I find it somehow more complex and therefor enjoyable then something like Zacapa 23. Could sip on it any time when craving something heavenly sweet.

Posted over 1 year ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Pro me jsou rumy od A.H.Riise jedne z tech lepsich. Tento rum ma prijemnou ovocnou chut - exoticke ovoce a je take dobre sladky. 8.5 bodu.

Posted over 1 year ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Minder på mange måder om alle de andre AH Riise XO Reserve. Meget meget sød. På udvalgte dage kan en Reserve være ok (7), men jeg er ikke super fan af sauterne i rom. Det bliver alt alt for sødt og frugtagtig, og der skal ikke meget til, at rommen virker fermenteret.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

The bottle of A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask is very basic with the label as a simple see through sticker. Color is honey golden. Butterscotch and vanilla are the dominant flavors both to nose and the palate, so its very sweet. Weird wine cellar spiced flavor is also there quite clearly present. This is just a plain simple spiced rum, nothing to do with properly aged dark rums.

Posted about 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Zatím jsem zkoušel 3 Riise. Tento byl nejméně zajímavý. Stále je to přeslazený likérový rum, který má sílu. Chybí mi v něm něco výrazného jak to Riise umí. Něco co přestřelí tu sladkost, krom silného alkoholu. Ve srovnání je to nyní pro mně. 1. Gold Medal 1888, 2. Family reserva 3. Sauternes.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

The base is nice, honey and fruit, but it is just so extremely sweet, to the point of tasting like a liqueur! And this is coming from a fan of sweet rums. Still, it's good and if you cam get over the overwhelming sweetness (or maybe even enjoy it?) this might be for you.

Posted about 2 years ago by Henrik Carstensen from Denmark with 1 rating

Nærmest som likør, der er i hvertfald ikke blevet sparret på sukkeret, kan bruges som dessertvin eller "konerum"😊

Posted about 2 years ago by Nigmak from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

I was taken aback by the strong spicy aroma - the rum was served warm. The sensation was followed by a very sweet and fruity taste, which had a mead-like finish. Although I really enjoyed it, I couldn't imagine drinking more than 2 glasses in a row.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kim Guldager from Denmark with 3 ratings

Nice color, light, powerful, sweet, super creamy taste

Posted over 2 years ago by jp from France with 3 ratings

very fruity, with peach and grappes taste and vanilla flavour afterwords.
good but too much sugar taste. A really different taste compare to common rhum, a nice discover, but one glass is enough. Better experience with a freezy glass.

Posted over 2 years ago by Nobby1 from Germany with 1 rating

ok...I confess...I love sweet rum. But this one isn't sweet only...it's soooo fruity!

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from Netherlands with 33 ratings

I have a handfull of all time favorites and this is one of them.
Very very sweet but that's the way I like my rum :)

Posted almost 3 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez sucré grenadine orange vanille fruit jaune tres confie pâte d àmande et le sauterne dominant.
bouche explosion de saveur déjà évoquée en nez , ç est aussi sucré que prévu , on l accompagnerai presque d un toast au foi gras ou d un bon dessert ....de noël
longueur. le côté pâtissier liquoreux n empêche pourtant pas un développement subtil et puissant et assez long sur un lexique qui tourne vers les sucreries grutier et l orange confié quand même