Posting your rating...
A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask rum

A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask

Denmark | Aged

6.5/10 (45 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
7
5
9
14
4
2

Rate A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

Very sweet with a melon after taste. Bouquet of flowers.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Steve McCarthy from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This is probably the nicest rum I've ever tasted, it has a sweet almost caramel/honey taste to it, with very little burn. It is not a cheap rum, costing about £34 for a 70cl. bottle, but worth every penny. This is a novelty amongst rums, in that it has no "afterburn"either.
There are some beautiful fruit tastes, such as tangerine, and mango, but it is its sweet syrupy texture that brings the message home "I am gorgeous", is what its taste says to me.
I have drunk a fair selection of rums, I imagine over 150 brands, having been a fan since I was 16, and am now well into my 60s, but have never found one as nice as this. If you get the opportunity, try it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Aged in French Sauterne wine oak barrel (famous sweet wine wine), this very sweet rum is unique and special and shows pungent aromtic aromas of mangos, apricot, orange peel and some flowers.

The mouth is extremely sweet, luscious, fruit and flowery driven. Very long honey finish.

Very pleasant and surprising but could not drink more than a glass. Best as a digestive

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Gaétan Muespach from France with 4 ratings

Dont get me wrong, this is a good Rhum.

Is has strong vanilla à almost "malabar" nose.

At the taste, the first impression is confirmed but the explosion is real. Strong citrus taste, combined to a vanilla and grape taste at the end. Good rhum for people that like sweet rhums but I'm done after one classe.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LagMo from Denmark with 1 rating

Now this is a rum that any true 'hardcore' rum aficionado would love to hate.

Sweeter than Charlies Chocolate Factory, the unassuming aroma starts of with mild and slightly cloying notes of apple-blossom & apricot that eventually deepens into heady honey tones.

These no bite whatsoever when it hits the palate, despite the 42% a.b.v. content, but the syrupy sweet molasses texture eventually ripens into a riot of flowery honey tones.
Afterburn is nonexistent but leaves a meady afterglow and sweet caramel coating on the throat that just keeps piling on unending honey metaphors till your are lips sealed shut by the sugars.

Excellent as a dessert aperitif and the comparisons to Pyrat XO is very apt, though I'd call this even more extreme.
Has potential as a very unusual high-end cocktail mixer or sipped neat for those who like their spirits sweeter than catnipped kittens assaulting a bowl of honey covered chocolates.

Whiskey & Cognac die-hards need to look elsewhere or choke to death trying to swallow this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

If you are into sweet rum this is it. I find the taste good

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

This "rum" is beyound sweet. It's litteraly like drinking sugar desolved in water. The palette has some notes of orange and a smidge of wood, but other then that it's pure sugar mayhem

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 333 ratings

Similar to AHR XO line, this time with apricot tones. Very sweet, but pleasant and very good price/value.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

Very sweet, fruity and delicious rum with long tail. I like it in small quantities, not for all night drinking.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 239 ratings

Riise is killing me.
Smell: sugar syrup, pear, marshmallow, berries
Taste: incredibly sweet, fruit, chewing gum, marshmallow, some spice at the end

This is definitely a overpriced liqueur.
Try Southern Comfort Whiskey Liqueur for 10€ a bottle, it's also good, maybe as good as this one.

Sweetness: 5/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 4/5

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Verím,že tento pomerne vzácny rum ma svojich priaznivcov. Je ako príjemný sladucky dezert i keď na mňa osobne sladký až príliš. Pán Riise to so sladkostou trošku prehnal,ale kto rád cíti v rumoch kopu vanilky,hrozienok a sladkých tónov - tu si príde na svoje.