Posting your rating...
A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask rum

A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask

Denmark | Aged

6.9/10 (44 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
7
5
8
14
4
2

Rate A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


44 A. H. Riise XO Reserve Sauternes Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

2a6e708139e6b89e9ee6128e8a5dbe33.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Steve McCarthy from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This is probably the nicest rum I've ever tasted, it has a sweet almost caramel/honey taste to it, with very little burn. It is not a cheap rum, costing about £34 for a 70cl. bottle, but worth every penny. This is a novelty amongst rums, in that it has no "afterburn"either.
There are some beautiful fruit tastes, such as tangerine, and mango, but it is its sweet syrupy texture that brings the message home "I am gorgeous", is what its taste says to me.
I have drunk a fair selection of rums, I imagine over 150 brands, having been a fan since I was 16, and am now well into my 60s, but have never found one as nice as this. If you get the opportunity, try it.

Afcf3e122b067c53fcfe4c4da404ee2a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Aged in French Sauterne wine oak barrel (famous sweet wine wine), this very sweet rum is unique and special and shows pungent aromtic aromas of mangos, apricot, orange peel and some flowers.

The mouth is extremely sweet, luscious, fruit and flowery driven. Very long honey finish.

Very pleasant and surprising but could not drink more than a glass. Best as a digestive

C0f02b2e77a6ca3b987a0e99512d68e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Gaétan Muespach from France with 4 ratings

Dont get me wrong, this is a good Rhum.

Is has strong vanilla à almost "malabar" nose.

At the taste, the first impression is confirmed but the explosion is real. Strong citrus taste, combined to a vanilla and grape taste at the end. Good rhum for people that like sweet rhums but I'm done after one classe.

F7a9978add6e94e4a03932fd85cbc4a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by LagMo from Denmark with 1 rating

Now this is a rum that any true 'hardcore' rum aficionado would love to hate.

Sweeter than Charlies Chocolate Factory, the unassuming aroma starts of with mild and slightly cloying notes of apple-blossom & apricot that eventually deepens into heady honey tones.

These no bite whatsoever when it hits the palate, despite the 42% a.b.v. content, but the syrupy sweet molasses texture eventually ripens into a riot of flowery honey tones.
Afterburn is nonexistent but leaves a meady afterglow and sweet caramel coating on the throat that just keeps piling on unending honey metaphors till your are lips sealed shut by the sugars.

Excellent as a dessert aperitif and the comparisons to Pyrat XO is very apt, though I'd call this even more extreme.
Has potential as a very unusual high-end cocktail mixer or sipped neat for those who like their spirits sweeter than catnipped kittens assaulting a bowl of honey covered chocolates.

Whiskey & Cognac die-hards need to look elsewhere or choke to death trying to swallow this.

6c6dce17dd7956d8990cc3d54c671998.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

If you are into sweet rum this is it. I find the taste good

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 237 ratings

This "rum" is beyound sweet. It's litteraly like drinking sugar desolved in water. The palette has some notes of orange and a smidge of wood, but other then that it's pure sugar mayhem

7011630ccd4025bf68a3c249715d9b58.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very sweet, fruity and delicious rum with long tail. I like it in small quantities, not for all night drinking.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 166 ratings

Riise is killing me.
Smell: sugar syrup, pear, marshmallow, berries
Taste: incredibly sweet, fruit, chewing gum, marshmallow, spice at the end

This is definitely a overpriced liqueur.
Try Southern Comfort Whiskey Liqueur for 10€ a bottle, it's also good, maybe as good as this one.

Sweetness: 5/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 4/5

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Verím,že tento pomerne vzácny rum ma svojich priaznivcov. Je ako príjemný sladucky dezert i keď na mňa osobne sladký až príliš. Pán Riise to so sladkostou trošku prehnal,ale kto rád cíti v rumoch kopu vanilky,hrozienok a sladkých tónov - tu si príde na svoje.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

"Single barrel", ovocné aroma, v chutí se prvně dostaví sladkost tropického ovoce, která je během chvíle potlačena 40 %, příjemný sladší dozvuk v kombinací s voltáži.
Těch 40 % vnímán v každé kapce, až bych hádal silnější procenta. A můj názor? Raději 5 těchto lahví než jedno Platinum.