Posting your rating...
Castillo Gold rum

Castillo Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

4.2/10
9 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
4
1

Rate Castillo Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Castillo Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This rum got me through our teens. It was cheaper than Bacardi and a bit better. Thanks to ABC for turning us on to it when we were poor and 18-19. Many Cuba Libras, but I’m sure I would have a hard time choking one done with my more refined pallet 53 years later.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mikkzo from Sweden with 4 ratings

Nice golden color and smells ok but.. Taste is pure alcohol with a chemical flavor. Tried it with Coke but the chemical flavor remained and was barely drinkable. Then i tryed it with pineapple juice and it tasted fine, the nasty flavor was gone. Needs a mixer that can conceal that bad flavor.

Ffffff

Posted at Sirloin House of Martinsville over 2 years ago by irie from United States with 1 rating

Needs a chaser or something to mix for pleasantness but shots are ok, $9 a LITER for this and I like it better than regular Bacardi. If you don't have extra bucks to buy like Kraken or Blackheart definitely get this!! ! ! !!!! Be careful about chugging it straight and try to enjoy it with something. STRONG alcohol and will get you destroyed if guzzling it down quick. BE SAFE MY FRIENDS.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2741 ratings

Bought a bottle of Castillo Gold. Cheap bottle and label design. Cheap at $8 per bottle. Pale golden color. Nasty oak and pure alcohol to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Does not even mix well.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Brian from United States with 1 rating

This rum is a good $5 cheaper than anything else at my local store. It mixes well especially with Coke which is my favorite. Definitely recommend.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by YohoYoho from United States with 10 ratings

Very much like Bacardi gold, to my taste. Tried them side-by-side and couldn't tell the difference. Not surprising, considering Bacardi owns them from what I've heard. Not fantastic, but not horrible, either. Good for mixing, and was finding it for $4 a bottle for awhile!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by shirleysuccubus from United States with 14 ratings

Not as bad as some other cheapies. But I say it's around the same range as canada house, flavor wise. Doesn't taste very "rum" like. But it's not terrible.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

This is my first Puerto Rican rum. Initially it has a slow burn that tapers off to something sweet. I mixed it with Coke and found the Coke's acidity really shuts the burn down. Overall this is a mixer, and should not be drunk on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by john johnson from United States with 6 ratings

claims they are from Puerto Rico which i cant prove or disprove the rum itself seems to have more of a alcahol burn then others ive tried but the back end taste has almost a sweet flavor too it better then ron rico imo but not by much