Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart Original 1804 rum

Rate Lemon Hart Original 1804

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Lemon Hart Original 1804 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

I wasn't expecting much as this rum very much plays second fiddle to the 151 in this brand but I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this offering.

Deep dark chocolate notes followed by molasses a little bit of spice. Reminds me of chilly spiked dark chocolate. Not noticeably harsh in any way, I could get used to this as a desert rum.

The bottle was reasonably priced at 27 Canadian and I expect it will be a fairly permeant fixture on my shelf.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

Having heard a lot about this brand, I have finally decided to give it a try and purchased a whole bottle, which I now sadly regret.

The rum in the bottle and glass is of very dark brown color, and since it was presumably aged for a few years, it's no doubt heavily colored.

The nose is actually rather inviting, with pleasant, sweet and tad spicy aroma of wet forest earth, prunes and dark fruit.

That impression is quickly ended by actually tasting the rum. The initial sweetness imparted by added sugar quickly gives way to intense bitterness with a strange, off-key notes of soap, aged dry salami and sacharine. The sugar cannot fully mask the presence of fusel alcohols. The body is very thin, and the unpleasant, bitter aftertaste quickly dissipates, leaving you slightly shaken and unsure of what you have actually just ingested.

Even mixed with cola, the strange soapy bitterness carries through, tainting the drink with a lingering, unpleasant aftertaste.

This liquid is quite suitable for chasing off unwanted guest, or for torturing subordinates under the guise of managerial friendliness, but it's quite unsuitable as a sipper, and only very mediocre as a mixer.

I remember reading that the brand changed hands, or that there was some recipe change, so the old version could have been possibly better, but this current one is perfectly terrible.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

In my opinion is a bullshit but there is something special. I don’t think it’s made in Demerara. Don’t buy this shit.

Posted over 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

A premium blend of select 100% Demerara rums, distilled, aged and blended on the East Bank of the Demerara River in the lush tropical Caribbean country of Guyana. Lemon Hart Original is the classic dark Demerara navy style rum, cherished by rum drinkers around the world for its authentic flavour and full-bodied complexity. The perfect example of a rum that shows pronounced smooth rum flavour when mixed with cola.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

On the dry side with little fruity, baking spice or floral notes to sweeten it up. Has some dryer notes like leather, tobacco, wood and earthy tones. Makes for a decent mixer but not very good as a sipper. Can't find this too often but if you do pick up a bottle for your rum collection.

Posted over 4 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

This is a good party/ mixing rum it has an alright taste but I do not recommend it neat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

This is the first "decent" rum I ever had and it was turned me into a rum drinker. Now I keep it in my bar for mixing with coke or other mixers, my wife loves it with eggnog at Christmas time.

Posted about 5 years ago by Ksilver from Canada with 14 ratings

Not smooth enough to sip straight, but full of character with a very interesting, almost spicy flavour.

Nice to have a rum that you can still taste in a mix drink.

Posted 3 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

We were, sadly, pretty disappointed in this one. It's fine for mixing, just to add some punch to a drink, but on its own we couldn't find anything really to say about this... it's inexpensive, so that's good? If you are looking for something to kick up a large batch drink, this will do.

Posted 11 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Top notch Demerara sipper, drier than El Dorado 12 but with more character-chocolate, smokey molasses and baking spices. I am definitely biased as my favorite rums are Demerara, followed by Jamaican.

Posted about 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This is a tasty rum, enjoyed it neat and as a mixer. Not to crazy about the screw on cap but it is what it is. Nice mouth, not too sweet and rather enjoyable for the price point.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 19 ratings

Not a premium rum but with a few ice cubes a decent sipper. Something about Guyana rums makes them a little better than their price range.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

The flavor of this rum is very nice. This is the Demerara. I love it.
On the other hand, the taste is not rich, compered to the flavor.

Posted about 1 year ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

Average tasting rum. Not overwhelming. Good priced quality.

Posted over 1 year ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

This is not a sipping rum.
This rum is full flavoured and can be appreciated in any mixed drink as the mixer will not over power it.
Lemon Hart is not harsh, however it is also not mellow and will be tasted over/through pretty much any mixer.
I love it as a change from sippers or on a cold night, with Coke.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ricardo Knight from United States with 10 ratings

It has a nice rich brown color. The nose is fragrant but not intense. There was a lot of banana, some leather, the usually vanilla, and some baked bread. The mouth feel with thin, the sugar came first, no burn, tails off with bitter. To me this had most of the features of a Demerara rum but only half as delicious.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Lemon Hart Original 1804 Rum bottle and label design looks dull. Deep brown color from artificial flavorings. Super strong glue and plenty of alcohol to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end, so better skip this one altogether.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Smooth as smooth can get. Thou I didn’t get a ton of flavor notes but smoothness accounts for something

Posted almost 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

i read a lot about caramel, toffee and butterscotch are the dominant aromas here, but for me alcoholic raisins, alcohol, and rotten wood are the defining flavors and with some good will I tasted some chocolate and caramel. This is not a great rum, for mixing ok, but a better mixing rum you can get for half of the price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Bitter molasses, thin, very sharp.

Not exactly flavorfull and outclassed by its brethren. Its unclear what the purpose of this rum is being between the 80 and 151 proof options.

Posted about 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Avec ses 57,1% d'alcool, ce rhum decape completement les amidales, domage car il a bon gout

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. N: Strong coffee, caramel, and chocolate. Butter, but that might be the hot buttered rum ordered next to me... Nah, definitely buttery toffee. P: A but thin. Not as much flavor as the nose. The caramel's still there, but it's watery. With time, gets even more buttery. Where's the earth? Where's the smoke? Short finish.

Easy to drink, but over-diluted. Recommendation: Get the Hamilton 86 (or El Dorado 5, 8) instead.

7, 7-

Posted over 2 years ago by Trevor from Canada with 10 ratings

Drinkable with decent flavour, better choices available for the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

Obviously not in the same league as it’s 151 brethren; the wonderful nose isn’t carried through. A wonderful expression of Demerara as a mixer however.