Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart Original 1804 rum

Lemon Hart Original 1804

Guyana | Gold

5.8/10
47 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
11
14
12
2
1

Rate Lemon Hart Original 1804

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

47 Lemon Hart Original 1804 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

This is not a sipping rum.
This rum is full flavoured and can be appreciated in any mixed drink as the mixer will not over power it.
Lemon Hart is not harsh, however it is also not mellow and will be tasted over/through pretty much any mixer.
I love it as a change from sippers or on a cold night, with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

I wasn't expecting much as this rum very much plays second fiddle to the 151 in this brand but I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this offering.

Deep dark chocolate notes followed by molasses a little bit of spice. Reminds me of chilly spiked dark chocolate. Not noticeably harsh in any way, I could get used to this as a desert rum.

The bottle was reasonably priced at 27 Canadian and I expect it will be a fairly permeant fixture on my shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

This be a decent dark rum. She smells sweet of burned sugar, spices, raisin (of all things), a wee bit of oak, and unless I be mistook, a hint of cocoa. The smells carry over into the taste, and I want to say there be prunes on board as well. Reminds me of my nights with a good bottle of Buckfast. She's not as sweet as she smells, but she's smooth and has a mild burn goin' down the hatch. This rum be gettin' poor reviews, but those be from dainty landlubbers, not rum-drinkin' pirates. Pay them no heed! arrrgh!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

Top notch Demerara sipper, drier than El Dorado 12 but with more character-chocolate, smokey molasses and baking spices. I am definitely biased as my favorite rums are Demerara, followed by Jamaican.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Having heard a lot about this brand, I have finally decided to give it a try and purchased a whole bottle, which I now sadly regret.

The rum in the bottle and glass is of very dark brown color, and since it was presumably aged for a few years, it's no doubt heavily colored.

The nose is actually rather inviting, with pleasant, sweet and tad spicy aroma of wet forest earth, prunes and dark fruit.

That impression is quickly ended by actually tasting the rum. The initial sweetness imparted by added sugar quickly gives way to intense bitterness with a strange, off-key notes of soap, aged dry salami and sacharine. The sugar cannot fully mask the presence of fusel alcohols. The body is very thin, and the unpleasant, bitter aftertaste quickly dissipates, leaving you slightly shaken and unsure of what you have actually just ingested.

Even mixed with cola, the strange soapy bitterness carries through, tainting the drink with a lingering, unpleasant aftertaste.

This liquid is quite suitable for chasing off unwanted guest, or for torturing subordinates under the guise of managerial friendliness, but it's quite unsuitable as a sipper, and only very mediocre as a mixer.

I remember reading that the brand changed hands, or that there was some recipe change, so the old version could have been possibly better, but this current one is perfectly terrible.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

In my opinion is a bullshit but there is something special. I don’t think it’s made in Demerara. Don’t buy this shit.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 152 ratings

A premium blend of select 100% Demerara rums, distilled, aged and blended on the East Bank of the Demerara River in the lush tropical Caribbean country of Guyana. Lemon Hart Original is the classic dark Demerara navy style rum, cherished by rum drinkers around the world for its authentic flavour and full-bodied complexity. The perfect example of a rum that shows pronounced smooth rum flavour when mixed with cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

On the dry side with little fruity, baking spice or floral notes to sweeten it up. Has some dryer notes like leather, tobacco, wood and earthy tones. Makes for a decent mixer but not very good as a sipper. Can't find this too often but if you do pick up a bottle for your rum collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Howard Ribertson from Canada with 12 ratings

This is a good party/ mixing rum it has an alright taste but I do not recommend it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

This is the first "decent" rum I ever had and it was turned me into a rum drinker. Now I keep it in my bar for mixing with coke or other mixers, my wife loves it with eggnog at Christmas time.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Ksilver from Canada with 14 ratings

Not smooth enough to sip straight, but full of character with a very interesting, almost spicy flavour.

Nice to have a rum that you can still taste in a mix drink.