Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 rum

Rate Ron Zacapa Centenario 23

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by murf from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

if you have a bottle for sale, I'll happily a trade a kidney for it. Just a fantastic rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

This is the original bottling of the 23 years old and isn't SOLERA method, but the old method, only 23 years oaks ( same method used for whisky) is out of production by many years...... the new products are only solera method and the bottle has a straw stripe

Posted almost 3 years ago by Christian Montesi from United States with 5 ratings

Beautiful color but just a bit too much whiskey flavor borrowed into the rum for my taste. Definitely has a bit of spice. Mellows out pretty nicely over a block of ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy Serwatuk from Canada with 3 ratings

I found this in a duty free shop airport coming back from Ft Lauderdale. I tried in the day after I got home and made my in-laws grab another bottle when they were coming through the airport later.
It's a smooth and tasty rum. I enjoy it straight up,, maybe with some whisky stones in the summer.

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

Well this is good, without a doubt. But its so silk-soft that its almost getting boring.

Nose: Nothing - so weak that I couldn't determine expression.
Taste: Silky soft, decent aftertaste where i could taste caramelized fruits (Banana and nuts).
This is a good rum, without doubt. And I could drink a lot of it, but it lacks a bit character in my opinion. With this prize-tag im comparing it to SFTC, and to that it is no match.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had an amazing back-to-back tasting opportunity with the Zacapa White Label and Black Label. These are genuine 23 old rums and nothing to do with the current Solera aged Zacapa's. Price tag at close to EUR 500 per bottle is outrageous. Bottle and label design with the palm tree wrap is truly unique. Dark mahogany color. White Label is smoother and less smokier than the Black Label.

Posted over 1 year ago by Klas Theodorsson from Sweden with 6 ratings

First time i rasten it i did not like it. Now it starts to grov on me.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jack Farrell from United States with 10 ratings

Had the chance to sample this rum at a party. Normally too rich for my pocket book. This is the best I've had so far in my rum adventure. I can't imagine finding one that would be much better than this one. Of course I will keep looking. If this is the only rum I was allowed drink for the rest of my life than count me happy!! I will find a way to get more of this one. Beg, Borrow or Steal.

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Guatemalan rum, blended using the solera system. Sublime stuff. This was matured in a mix of bourbon and sherry casks.
Nose: sweet and nutty, honey and chocolate. Dark brown sugar, gentle smoke. Pipe tobacco.
Palate: sweet and soft. Dark brown sugar, molasses, rounded.
Finish : Thick, medium length, hint of smoke on the tail.

I may have expected too much from this selection after reading the reviews here . It’s good but not I would still select a few others over this one in this price range like the Plantation 20th anniversary

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

For all the grand reviews and all the prestige, this was kind of disappointing. Nose has some oakiness and brown sugar, taste has a sweet woodiness. Molasses emerges on the finish with something reminiscent of a dryer sheet. Over all, the components are fine, there's nothing offensive here, but this rum feels really weak. There's no power behind, no punch to pack, it's just kind of there. When it comes to old, aged rums, I want a full experience, and this one just didn't deliver.

Posted at Jack & Joe Steak and Burger Club about 3 years ago by Rocks from Slovenia with 1 rating

I had this rum straight and it's quite nice. Enjoyed this vanilla flavour, sweet rum with strong oakey notes. Caramel smell, with sweet vanilla taste and oakey aftertaste. A no brainer for all whiskey lovers, but for me it took a few sips before I feel in love. Great rum, but I'd prefer a bit less oakey notes.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

This is Absolutly Stunning Stuff i´ve ever tried. The Price some years ago about $ 50.-. Today: $ 450 and more.
I am happy to have one in case.

Posted almost 5 years ago by André B. Christensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Endnu en som skal være i din samling. Det er et mesterværk inden for rom, og en skam den er så dyr, som den nu er.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

The true Zacapa 23 year old! If only more people could experience it, they would never touch the solera that replaced it. Just enough sweet with delicious notes.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

One of the best wich I have tested. Absolutely soft, much flower, women's rum (woman sommelier). Very tasty, difficult and hard

Posted 30 days ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 9 ratings

This rum tastes fabulous. It has a great smooth taste and does not taste like hard alcohol.

Posted about 2 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Beim Probieren war mir noch nicht bewusst welchen edlen Tropfen ich da bekommen hatte, umso größer war die positive Überraschung über den tollen Geschmack.

Posted 5 months ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

It's dark colour, elusively smooth aroma that hints slightly at spice and caramel does little to prepare you for how smooth this goes down. I could just stick a straw in the bottle. There is no indication that you are consuming "burning" alcohol. The taste is sweet to start, but not overly so, flavours of banana, caramel, but then turning dry leaving slight wood taste behind. There's a reason why Zacapa is such a well known name.

Posted 8 months ago by Rogier from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Fruity nose, spicy in the mouth and warm after. Very whisky like.

Posted 12 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

I first came across Zacapa 23 when I was working in Grand Cayman. It blew my mind ay the time. Since that time Zacapa has become so mass produced that it has lost its special appeal. It is sold now at my local costco. The flavor profile has changed. It’s the best rum to get whiskey drinkers interested in rum but it is no longer my go to.

Posted about 1 year ago by ProSafe from Germany with 13 ratings

Dunkel goldene Farbe. Sehr weicher Abgang. Leicht süßlich mit fruchtiger Note. Sehr zu empfehlen.

Posted about 1 year ago by Eric Wenger (NY) from United States with 1 rating

I'm 42 years old and have been a rum lover most of my life. However, I have a very cheap taste and usually just drink Bacardi Silver and diet soda. I'm no connoisseur and aside from a floater in a frozen Pina Colada don't really enjoy dark rum of any kind, regardless of the origin. That being said, I came across this rum via a single shot glass bottle that my parents had in their liquor cabinet, likely from some event years ago that was never consumed. I can tell you without any hesitation that I am hoooked. This rum is a wet dream in a bottle. If you like rum and don't give this a try, you're totally missing out. I'd pay double what this costs. I've never tasted anything like it. Although, I must confess, I feel sacrilegious by combining it with Diet Pepsi. On my honor as a man, try this - you will be happily surprised.

Posted about 1 year ago by sedlakjr from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

This rum is just not my style, it had too much whiskey flavour - which I don't quite like. I was disappointed, probably mainly because of high expectations. I gave almost full bottle to my friends which made them happy.