Posting your rating...
Caroni 12-Year rum

Rate Caroni 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


53 Caroni 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

"One Piece"! Like the comics of Eiichiro Oda.
I'm talking about a comics of incredible, phantasmagorical and flaky pirates. The first time I've drunk this RVM, I've had indeed the sensation that the pirates' RVM was exaclty like Caroni.
Maybe the 50° that don't dominate the flavor, maybe the big structure or the striking copper colored or the salty taste with scent of earth, perhaps the simplicity of the bottle, but these are alls factors that make Caroni an amazing, evocative RVM.

I know it should not be done, but if it's possible, late in the evening, close your eyes and try to drink it directly to the bottle...

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

With its 50%, 100proof profile, this thing will kick you in the nuts ever so gently. No sugar, no color, just a punch in the mouth. This is just lovely!

Posted 8 months ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

This heavy rum was distilled in 2000 from the last Trinidad molasses and bottled in 2012. Golden to light brown colour. Nosing reveals smell of sweet alcohol and a oaked profile which borders on slightly musty. Palate has a very dry profile. It is quite hot, oily and spicy (white pepper with a little ginger and nutmeg) and it has a very long oaked finish with very little sweetness.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Oily, smoky, and full of fruity notes. This one is a pretty heavy rum that is tasty. Of course no additives. The spirit of Trinidad in a gorgeous bottle.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bengt from Sweden with 7 ratings

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Posted over 2 years ago by Oliver from Germany with 4 ratings

... yes indeed! If someone asks me how a good rum should taste - here it is! It is rough and pleasant at the same time.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Anderledes Rom end jeg er vant til - er meget positivt overrasket - smager af gummi/fad noter brænder lidt på tungen uden at være for meget

Posted over 5 years ago by Olivye from France with 4 ratings

Le style caroni avec une belle puissante en attaque!! Belle représentation de cette belle distillerie

Posted 10 months ago by Antonio666 from Italy with 6 ratings

Not a rhum for anyone. I had my bottle in the cabinet for 6 months, just sipping one drop form time to time. Not my usual agricole. At all.

Strong and direct.
You need to get used with the tar, naphta, rubble and licorice aromas. If you can do that, you'll find a little treasure. These nose notes aren't predominant... nevertheless they are present and give this rum personality.

Give it more than a chance.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

It is no secret, that I have a huge weak spot for Caroni. Since I had already tried the 15 and 17 in this series, it was almost certain that at some point, I had to give the 12 a chance.

Nose: Brown sugar, baked apples, nutmeg, rubber and leather
Taste: Light brown sugar, smoky wood, black liquorice and a full and almost savoury aftertaste that lingers for ages.
Overall: Although it is not on the absolute top-level like its big brothers, it is still a rum that deserves its place amongst the better rums. If you should get the chance to taste this, or even buy a bottle, then you should do yourself the favour of doing so. You will not regret it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Krystian from Poland with 1 rating

Interesting but difficult for many rum lovers, as You can read in many comments. Tar and wood (but not smooth bourbon cask type) in nose. I would even say, You can smell a bit of hardware store :) Oily structure makes all the flavours very intensive.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

For pokker den smager af gammel luftmadras og gummistøvler..... slet ikke noget for mig.....

Posted about 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

Well, I tried my first Caroni, and I liked it! It was sweeter and smoother than I expected, with a long aftertaste of.... burning tires and motor oil, but with a sweeter more floral initial flavor. Very unique and although I only had one well measured glass, I wanted more. The complexity of this offering, or perhaps the whole line and the refined roughness of the flavor profile is what stands out the most to me. I am going to suck it up and add a couple bottles of caroni to my collection and so should YOU!! Try it while it’s here, this stuff is special.

Posted about 2 years ago by Olivye from France with 12 ratings

version incontournable de cette distillerie mythique!

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Great fine rum. The amazing history of this former distillery. If you still get it, I recommend!

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Das ist ein wilder junger Caroni,man muss soetwas schon mögen,absolut nicht Jedermanns Sache,daher wohl auch einige so schlechte Bewertungen von Süssrumliebhabern Die mit so einem harten jungen Trinidad Burschen nicht klar kommen.
Stark wild und scharf,trotzdem eine tolle Aromenbombe.Lange wird es so einen Tropfen nicht mehr geben,von einst ca 40 Euro ist der Preis jetzt auf ca 100 Euro gestiegen was für so einen Tropfen in ein paar Jahren lächerlich erscheinen wird. Zugreifen solange überhaupt noch Etwas zu kriegen ist. Das Gleiche gilt für den 15 und 17 ,sowie den 21 jährigen aus der Serie.

Posted over 2 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 8 ratings

I received a Christmas gift and was to drink the rum on the same day. Absolutely not my taste, a whiskey-like beverage, smokey, throat burning fuel.

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 103 ratings

Part of Rum Calendar 2016:
Is very smoky and harsh

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Pas ma came mais ça devrait plaire aux amateurs de ce style.

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank Christiansen from Denmark with 10 ratings

Ikke en rom for mig, dette skyldes nok den høje % 50. Man kan lugte procenterne i næsen meget kraftigt.

Posted almost 3 years ago by vincentb from France with 5 ratings

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Meine zweite Caroni Verkostung, ich bin gespannt, ist leider nur ein Musterfläschchen, hatte bisher "nur" den 1974 Bristol Caroni im Glas.
Schön leuchtendes Bernstein im Glas. Genau so wie ein Rum ohne Farbstoffe aussehen muss.
In der Nase schwere Holztöne wie eine alte Kommode aus den Zwanzigern, etwas erdiges fast animalisches, sehr speziell, sehr komplex. Ich freue mich jetzt auf den ersten Schluck.
Im Gaumen sehr ehrlich und hart, wieder diese erdigen Noten, gewachstes Holz, verbranntes Tannenholz, Harze, reiner Kakau und 1000 Aromen mehr, einfach nur wow ! Unmöglich alle Nuancen aus diesem Muster herauszufinden. Ich will mehr !
Im Abgang einfach nur himmlisch, ein wenig rauchig, doch etwas fruchtig mit einer dezenten Süsse.
Ich muss noch ein paar Flaschen einbunkern, eine solche Konzentration an Aromen ist fast nicht zu übertreffen. Leider wurde die Destillerie aufgegeben.
Ein Rum für besondere Tage mit Zeit und Musse. Nicht unbedingt für Einsteiger.

My second Caroni tasting, I'm curiously, it's only a sample bottle, had so far "only" the 1974 Bristol Caroni in the glass.
Beautiful brilliant amber in the glass. Just like a rum without dyes must look.
In the nose heavy wood tones like an old chest of drawers from the twenties, something earthy almost animal, very special, very complex. I'm looking forward to the first sip.
In the palate very honest and hard, again these earthy notes, waxed wood, burnt fir, resins, pure cocoa and 1000 flavors more, just wow! Impossible to figure out all the nuances from this pattern. I want more !
In the finish is simply heavenly, a little smoky, but somewhat fruity with a subtle sweetness.
I have to bunch a few bottles, such a concentration of aromas is almost not to be surpassed. Unfortunately, the distillery was abandoned.
A rum for special days with time and leisure. Not necessarily for beginners.

Posted almost 3 years ago by alexander from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Heerlijke, niet te zoete, rum met een mooi rauw randje (dieselachtig)

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

God rom, power på smagen, lidt røg og gummi (lidt whisky agtig)
Den er spændende




#