Posting your rating...
Ypioca Prata Cachaca rum

Rate Ypioca Prata Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Ypioca Prata Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 43 ratings

No age, no taste, no quality.
Only if you add tons of sugar, lime and ice goes down to the throat (caipirinha).
I do not recommend.

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is vile and undrinkable, I can’t even imagine what I would do with such a spirit apart from maybe pour it away.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Elanius from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Kategorie: světle žlutý(?) rum(?) 38%

Hodnocení: Za mě šlápnutí vedle. Bohužel jediné co mě na tomto rumu (jak teď čtu, tak o označení Cachaci jako rumu se vedou spory) zaujalo byla láhev, jinak nic. Prvním varováním byla vůně - rum spíše smrdí (po rostlinkách) než voní. Během pití je dominantou líh - rum se prezentuje hodně alkoholově. Tím zabíjí i tu jedinou nevýraznou chuť, kterou má. Jelikož si na něm nemám co vychutnávat, zbytek láhve nejspíš zředím s colou.

TLDR in english: Not for me, look of the bottle is the only positive. Rum doesnt smell nice, it stinks. Tastes very alcoholical, it has very few flavours which are killed by its alcohol taste. Will drink rest with cola or something, sorry.

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Not intersting for me, It's too brutal, smells like stinky grass.

Posted 12 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Good base for tasty Caipirinhas. Nothing to drink neat, only for mixing, though.

Posted 2 months ago by abrarey from United States with 17 ratings

Flavorless. nothing special. It does make decent Caipirinhas but not for occasional sipping

Posted about 1 year ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Firstly, this is a place for rums, so cachaça being here is a bit of a gray area. Yes, the production and distillation processes are similar enough, and true, the source of distillate is sugar cane, but Brazilians (and marketers) are keen to differentiate this spirit from the others for all the human reasons... I'm gonna review this here anyway.

Head-on, this smacks of the grassy, citrusy funk of rhum agricole or Barbancourt in the nose. Not as nuanced in scents as its island rum counterparts, but still in the same ballpark - afterall, the brethren share not only a common source, but also a processing of freshly pressed cane juice. Cachaça always strikes my palate as "warmer" and "flabbier" than the aforementioned rums, a little oilier than those rums and lest zesty, but what's detected here more than anything is the touch of sweetness added to it. It doesn't leave your mouth feeling as though it had just sucked on a lollipop, but hi, there's a little sugar here. All this said, it's great as a caipirinha base and wonderful as a stand-in for French agricoles in drinks that call for it. Oh for shame, say the purists, but this is more affordable and easily discoverable in most places, where as agricoles tend not to be.

If I were to directly compare it to a rum on all these points, it'd be the HSE blanc from Martinique. Versatile and handy, but noteworthy it is not.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Taste of roasted sugar. It is little bit stronger, but realy good.

Posted about 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. 5yo? Dry, a little spicy, still kinda funky and rubbery. I don't recall if I liked it more or less than the others, so I'll just give it a 7

"YPIÓCA BRASILIZAR CACHAÇA PRATA RESERVA ESPECIAL"

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Ypioca Prata Cachaça bottle and label design looks spectacular! Strong alcohol and plenty of funky flavors abound coming through to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end, so better to mix it up with plenty of lime and Demerara sugar.

Posted about 2 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

I eventually tried as recommended in a caipiriha as suggested by my daughter in law. If you squeeze a 2 or 3 juicy lime wedges into the bottom of a glass its tolerable. I was intrigued by the bottle and had never heard of it before.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Ostrá štiplavá vůně. Nevýrazná chuť. Jeden z lepších bílých rumů, které jsem zatím ochutnal. Přesto spíš zklamání.

Posted about 2 years ago by Malei from France with 70 ratings

Correct pour faire des mélanges et des cocktails festif.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I had my cachaca days about 13 years ago. This stuff is so vile that the Brazilian national drink called caipirinha made with lime juice is the only way to use this crap. It is strictly for getting stinking drunk. Having a rough time? Bottle up some caipirinhas made with this stuff and then go bring the entire bottle out into the surf zone and drink it down while bobbing in the waves. Also, stay in the shallow part to minimize the risk of drowning. The only reason that I did not rate it lower is because I found a use for it and did not have to pour it down the toilet. I also thank my ex-girlfriend for talking me out of drinking this crap. It also had one king hell of a hangover because it is basically unaged agricole moonshine. Pure cleaning fluid and turpentine taste.

The reason that this one was so easy to find is because it is mass marketed. Cachaca lovers rave about the endless varieties of this stuff, so I did some more research. It looks like the two cachacas from Abelha are excellent artisan cachacas. But guess what? They are not available in the USA. Of all of the cachaca produced in Brazil, only 1% is consumed by the US market. As for those claiming no hangover the next morning, save yourself the bad taste and the money by just getting a bottle of tasteless Don Q Cristal Rum, which tastes a lot better than this vile stuff that I had many years ago.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

C'est bizarre à dire mais c'est celle de mon enfance, celle qu'utilisait ma mère brésilienne pour les Caïpirinha et les Batida de Coco. Je vais être indulgent car je n'ai aucune idée de quoi elle coupe "pur" mais surement pas terrible. Bref, une cachaça pour lancer le carnaval de son village. Une boite de nuit un mardi soir, franchement on peut s'amuser quand même si on est bien entouré et tous déguisés.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

I only remember I made very nice Caipirinhas with this...

Posted almost 3 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Cachaça, version brésilienne du rhum agricole, toujours à base de vesou mais la fermentation est plus longue et le degré alcoolique plus bas, autour de 38°.
Design : très belle bouteille avec du jonc tressé, la cachaça est incolore.
Nez : vif, fruité, végétal.
Bouche : alcool et on retrouve le côté végétal avec un petit goût sucré. Pas mal.
Acheté 18 reals/965ml de passage à la frontière brésilienne, une petite infidélité au rhum agricole des Antilles françaises pour faire des caïpirinhas.

Posted over 3 years ago by Roenick from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

Dry, smells strange, strong alcohol taste. My favourite booze is dark aged rum, not young clear cachaca ;) but i understand, that it can be very good for cachaca lovers. Bottle is nice.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

I enjoy this one from commonly available cachacas the most. It's great all around one, either for Caipirinha or other mixers. Nicely drinkable on the rocks too (but Pratta is better in mixerts and Oura on the rocks). With very nice bottle design it's must have in your alcohol cabinet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Sweet vegetal taste , herb like smell and quite pleasant to sip and will make a cracking Caipirinha ! The national drink of Brazil.

Posted about 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

i drink aged sipping rims so this is a little different. Tastes very herbaceous, kinda like grass and sort of bitter/sour. Not bad but not for me I think.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Aged two years in balsam casks. A little sweeter than it's brethren the Ouro, with a little less woody taste. Quite pleasant as a sipper, comparable to my favorite (so far) Mae de Ouro.

Edit (Feb 2019) - I notice that the last several ratings of this cachaca over the last couple years have been horrible. I can only guess that some change has happened along the lines of the downturn in Zaya rum, which is a shame. I still have a bottle I bought several years ago, and I just revisited it and it still tastes fine to me.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Natalio from Argentina with 68 ratings

un muy buen regalo