Posting your rating...
Angostura 7-Year rum

Rate Angostura 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


87 Angostura 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 7 months ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Its quite neutral. Can't really think of something special or negative

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Lush of promising nutmeg, spice tea, minted chocolate and exotic local fruits initially, but these compote of fine notes gone hiding after a few seconds, before reemerge and sways towards tobacco smokes in the middle, light whiff of rubber lurking, earthy, toffee and tannic of coffee with classic banana. Well integrated, playful and fragrant without being flabby. (21/25)

P- Ripened sweet fruits coated with butter and bitter caramel, butterscotch, waxy, spices and burns charred nuances. Medium body, balanced, round and velvet. (20/25)

F- Medium, nutty, waxy and chewy with restrained spiciness and sweetness. (19/25)

Balance- 20/25

Weighted Rate:- 80pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 3 years ago by James Outman from United States with 6 ratings

It's Saturday night and it's time for the rum review. The house of Angostura can trace its start back to 1824 when a German Doctor, Johann Gottlieb Benjamin Siegert,who at the time was a Surgeon General for the Venezuelan Army. He created the now world famous blend of herbs of which we know as Angostura bitters. When he developed this blend he called it Amargo Aromatica. Originally founded in the one called little town of Angostura (now called Bulivar city),the production was relocated by his son and grandson to the Port of Spain, Trinidad in 1876. Remaining famous for its aromatic bitters the rum was starting to get well known. Their rums are and have been distilled in a 5 column still and have been awarded several awards for gold and silver for all the rums they make. The Angostura 7 year old rum is no different, 80 proof and produced by taking out of the first column a good helping of heavy distillate it is then aged in American white oak and then blended with one that's been through the entire 5 column system. Once blended it is then aged for an additional 7 years to mature in single used American Bourbon barrels. Once aged it is again blended and bottled at 40% alcohol by volume. In the glass Angostura 7 year is light amber and gold in color and leaves a thin film on the inside of my snifter. Once the medium thin legs form they slowly crawl back to the reservoir. This rum is loaded in aromatics and flavor. Upon first pouring, butterscotch, vanilla and fine pipe tobacco fill the air above the glass. After a few minutes a milk chocolate and a fine Equadorian coffee arise and join the other scents. The entry is extraordinary and smooth. Lightly sweet with honey and oak spice flavor. This is followed after adding a ball of ice, butterscotch mixed with orange zest making this one very sippable rum. The finish makes it even better a good vanilla bean flavor from the oak goes down smooth with almost no burn.
Drinks can range from the Cuba Librè to a frozen tropical drink. This eve I'm drinking it with Goslings ginger beer a splash of Austrian peach schnapps and key lime juice. Neat is the favorite but I have to have a cocktail with the review. This rum will be transferred to my onion bottle once the review is posted. For the weekend that's it from me have fun with the remaining weekend visit family if their close by or at least call them up and wish them joy and happiness. Till the next week stay safe stay alert stay alive and drink responsibly. Another great rum will be reviewed by yours truly, till then down the hatch.

Posted over 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

Good standard rum. Excellent sipper and a good mixer.

Posted about 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Just a good solid rum - nothing unpleasant about it. Not too sweet, some nice tobacco and leather notes.

Posted 4 months ago by don from Canada with 11 ratings

A very nice light rum goes with coke and lots of ice

Posted 5 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 4 ratings

Drinkt lekker weg. Gezellig tijdens een spelletjesavond

Posted 5 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 14 ratings

Not bad. Just starting out. So a good starter rum. Had it on rocks. Took a bit to come in but after a bit was really smooth.

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

I could say that is a going well with coke, but man, for the price range you should find something else without coke

Final verdict: I will not buy it again

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I finally got my hands on a bottle of this one from Angostura. All four of my Angosturas are rated at a 7, but by rankings the 1824 ranks 25th, their 1919 ranks 26th, this 7 Year ranks 54th, and their 5 Year ranks 69th. This is with 163 rums being reviewed.

If you like the unmistakable unique taste of Angostura rums, then go for whichever one of them your budget can afford. This one was $28. I personally think that their 1919 represents the best value and taste. This line of rums clearly falls into the Love Them Or Hate Them category.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew from Australia with 30 ratings

A dolid benchmark but definitely not anything special. Good mixer I think

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 38 ratings

Was expecting something better...nothing special.. dry.. ok with coke..for the price there are alot better...

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

After giving the Angostura 5-year a "7" I feel a "7" is applicable to the Angostura 7-year rum. However consider it more of a 7 for the 5-year and a little over a 7.5 for the 7-year. It's just a tad bit better.

It has a slightly darker amber color as compared to its younger sibling and has a more appealing aroma. Its flavor has that oak tones from the barrels in which it was aged. However the extra aging has caused it to cross over the line, albeit barely, into sipping territory. Definitely smoother with the vanilla and caramel tones as well as butteriness element. There some spiciness to it as well. Doesn't have as much of a burn as its younger sibling.

A very versatile rum enjoyable in mixed drinks, colas, on the rock, and even straight up.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

For the price I got this bottle, I can get better value. As a sipper try the 1919. As a mixer there are better ones for a lower price. All in all I don't see a market for this bottle.

Posted about 5 years ago by RumBo from United States with 3 ratings

While not approaching the 1824 and 1919 expressions, the 7 years old is a fine everyday sipper on ice.

Not overly bold, there are some mellow burnt sugar, spice and marshmallow notes present with a warm creme brûlée finishing off the taste.

I will definitely keep this stocked in my person shelf - especially as a trainer for those beginning to appreciate sipping rum rather than guzzling it.

Posted about 1 month ago by henkbolk from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Tasty but not great for a 7 year old.
Prisewise it’s not bad

Posted about 1 month ago by jack herrer from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

kind of average i would say, not bad, not terrible.

Posted about 1 month ago by Serbanik15 from Romania with 7 ratings

I enjoyed this rum. Very pleasant aroma. Very smooth. I did not feel the alcohol.

Posted about 2 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is hard to find but if you are into trying good rums then this is one to try. It has a very nice character and I really loved it. Its a classic aged rum no strings attached no fakeness just good aged rum at a good price that is easily taken straight.

Posted 3 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

Picked this up on sale and was pleasantly surprised that it holds its own.

Posted 3 months ago by coolkayaker from United States with 16 ratings

When drinking neat, alcohol burn throughout but in a good way. Spicy and dry on the tongue. On the rocks is where this one opens up. The ice really thins it out and brings out the sweetness a bit. Overall an ok rum.

I had to come back and give this a step up. I keep coming back to this rum for the overall taste and price. Can't be beat for $17.

Posted 4 months ago by Hogo from United States with 4 ratings

Opened this up, took a whiff and was very pleasantly surprised. Potent oak and spice notes. Much more character than aged, non-pot still rums like Barbancourt 8 Year. Similar to Plantation Barbados 5 Year but without the brandy-barrel finish notes.
I’m not much of a sipper but I’d prefer this in my tiki cocktail over any similarly priced aged, column-still rum I can recall. Great value for the price ($21 for me).

Posted 4 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

Very pleasant with and has the depth of flavour one would expect from this age, lovely subtle flavours. Enough sweetness to be tasty sipped neat but definitely not OTT in that department. It is a good honest Rum.

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

just do not know how to say. It is some path. Looking for other way of rums. Taste is still more different then classic rums. It taste some industrial, no sweetens, you feel earth, metal, alcohol, a bit a fruitnse, karmel, and oak. It is not so bad rum, but still for ppl who are search own way of taste. not recommend for beginners

Posted 4 months ago by Danny Leij from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Ron Angostura 7 years in bottle of 70 cl, premium rum from Trinidad and Tobago with an intriguing touch of spice burned.

Not the best rum outside. Its drinkable but prefer other rum.