Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
121 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
7
25
47
29
5
1

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

121 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by RosieSox from United States with 37 ratings

This brings a lot to the table, especially for the price point! The nose and taste are very similar… notes of coffee, vanilla, and hints of tobacco or is that the solid hogo it brings?!? This is an excellent darker rum and brings the funk!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

This is a serious Jamaican style rum, distilled by Wray and Nephew - to which family it turns out Chris Blackwell is related.

Not sweet at all, plenty of funk and esters. Not aged enough to be a particularly great sipper but outstanding in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Tried this one at Blackwell`s Rum and Reggae party in New Orleans 2 years ago and i find it makes great rum punches and dark n stormy`s, also good in Tiki drinks.

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

When a recipe calls for a dark rum, I first reach for Hamilton Pot-Still Jamaican. My next choice would be to reach for this one. I'll take this over Gosling's or Myers any day. It does a much better job as a mixer, and overall has a much more pronounced flavor than your average dark rum. Only $20, and fantastic most ways you mix it (ginger beer is my favorite).

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Bigbillyt from United States with 13 ratings

Minor Update, I wish we could give half bottles, this has a little more going on than I gave it credit for. It is a simple, but delicious, mixing rum, bit there are definite, but subtle, notes of coffee, chocolate and vanilla in the finish on this one, easily a 7.5 and still one of my favorite mixers.

This rum is actually wonderful due its simplicity. It is a straight up expression of Jamaican rum, which is great to find in this day and age. The nose and tasting palette are quite similar, strong nose of molasses and not much else to get in the way. The other nice thing is it is incredibly smooth. This is such a perfect blank canvas to mix with almost anything. I just tried it in a Trader Vic's Grog and it was fantastic, light and slightly sweet allowing the passion fruit and other flavors to pop and shine.
The other great news is the price, for under twenty bucks you really can't go wrong. Sure, you could use other white or gold rums that would be completely absent in a drink's flavor profile, but this does a bring a Jamaican molasses punch to the party without strong funk or other notes that are sometimes not as desirable.
Definitely give this one a try if you like Jamaican rum and need a good basic mixer.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 420 ratings

I went to a very well stocked rum bar this afternoon. This was one of three that I tried and they were out of the other three on my list. This was the darkest and tastiest of all three. The WOW factor for me was quite high. In a close second place was Appleton 21 Year. In a distant third place was St. Nicholas Abbey 10 Year, the lightest of the three.

This is a mildly spiced and slightly sweet Jamaican rum. The hogo funk is kept to a bare minimum. I was so impressed with it that I went looking for my own bottle afterwards, all to no avail. Somehow, I eventually found my own bottles.

Update May 7, 2019: Using one's imagination, this one can also be used as a Tiki topper in drinks whereby 2 parts of coconut water are used to save 1 part of white rum rated in one's lower third of their ratings. I would have included a gorgeous picture of this drink, but being so late after the initial review is not allowed. This Tiki topper simply puts any average tasting drink over the top!

Update May 21, 2019: Out of the two dozen rums that wound up in my top ten percent in my ratings, this one stands head and shoulders above all the rest when it comes to value (aka QPR). I make a toast to Mr Chris Blackwell for creating this fine rum that is also very affordable!

Update May 3, 2020: This may be my best tasting spiced rum, but at my advanced age, I can no longer handle any spiced rum unless it is in very serious moderation. My rating still stands however.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 483 ratings

This rum sells for only $18.49 (Total Wines & More, 2020 price) and at that price it's an amazing bargain. It reminds me a lot of the Appleton Estate rums, but with a little sweetness that makes it even better than the Appleton's to me.

Smells and tastes of honey, spice, molasses, and vanilla. A great rum for the money, and a great rum period!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Now this is more like it. Smells like cherries jubilee in the glass, tastes like molasses and spice, finishes full of fruit and liquorice. Wonderful, a fine example of Jamaican rum akin to Appleton. Perhaps more aging would intensify the funk which, alas, is barely present. Still, it's tasty stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 34 ratings

Farba jantárova, vôňa výrazne kokosová, veľmi príjemná. Chuť je korenistá, nasladlá, ale nie príliš sladká, cítiť tabak, dub, ovocie. Záver trochu ostrí až alkoholový. Fľaša na rum celkom atypická, skôr pivová so šrubovacím úzáverom. Za cenu cca 18€ stojí za ochutnanie, ale nie je nijako výnimočný.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Scott Nowicki from United States with 12 ratings

At first I passed this off as another celebrity-endorsed liquor, not knowing much about Chris Blackwell. But reading more about him and his heritage, I gave it a chance. And I’m pretty impressed! It’s a solid black pot rum. Decent neat, and made for a real nice Dark-n-Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Dark chocolate with dried fruits topping. Cola caramel yet bitter towards to end. Doesn't carry any hogo/ funky characteristic of classic Jamaican rum. Lots of spices and fruity.

First sip reminds me of rich fruit cake with caramel topping and coco powder. It sounds like a weird flavour but doesn't taste bad either. Personally I find it very much close to a spiced rum especially its only been through a year aging.

Woody and toffee finishing, very much of an espresso. This gives a long finishing compare to certain aged rum.