Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


98 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Tried this one at Blackwell`s Rum and Reggae party in New Orleans 2 years ago and i find it makes great rum punches and dark n stormy`s, also good in Tiki drinks.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

When a recipe calls for a dark rum, I first reach for Hamilton Pot-Still Jamaican. My next choice would be to reach for this one. I'll take this over Gosling's or Myers any day. It does a much better job as a mixer, and overall has a much more pronounced flavor than your average dark rum. Only $20, and fantastic most ways you mix it (ginger beer is my favorite).

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Now this is more like it. Smells like cherries jubilee in the glass, tastes like molasses and spice, finishes full of fruit and liquorice. Wonderful, a fine example of Jamaican rum akin to Appleton. Perhaps more aging would intensify the funk which, alas, is barely present. Still, it's tasty stuff.

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This is a serious Jamaican style rum, distilled by Wray and Nephew - to which family it turns out Chris Blackwell is related.

Not sweet at all, plenty of funk and esters. Not aged enough to be a particularly great sipper but outstanding in mixed drinks.

Posted 10 months ago by Scott Nowicki from United States with 5 ratings

At first I passed this off as another celebrity-endorsed liquor, not knowing much about Chris Blackwell. But reading more about him and his heritage, I gave it a chance. And I’m pretty impressed! It’s a solid black pot rum. Decent neat, and made for a real nice Dark-n-Stormy.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I went to a very well stocked rum bar this afternoon. This was one of three that I tried and they were out of the other three on my list. This was the darkest and tastiest of all three. The WOW factor for me was quite high. In a close second place was Appleton 21 Year. In a distant third place was St. Nicholas Abbey 10 Year, the lightest of the three.

This is a mildly spiced and slightly sweet Jamaican rum. The hogo funk is kept to a bare minimum. I was so impressed with it that I went looking for my own bottle afterwards, all to no avail. Somehow, I eventually found my own bottles.

Update May 7, 2019: Using one's imagination, this one can also be used as a Tiki topper in drinks whereby 2 parts of coconut water are used to save 1 part of white rum rated in one's lower third of their ratings. I would have included a gorgeous picture of this drink, but being so late after the initial review is not allowed. This Tiki topper simply puts any average tasting drink over the top!

Update May 21, 2019: Out of the two dozen rums that wound up in my top ten percent in my ratings, this one stands head and shoulders above all the rest when it comes to value (aka QPR). I make a toast to Mr Chris Blackwell for creating this fine rum that is also very affordable!

Update May 3, 2020: This may be my best tasting spiced rum, but at my advanced age, I can no longer handle any spiced rum unless it is in very serious moderation. My rating still stands however.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Dark chocolate with dried fruits topping. Cola caramel yet bitter towards to end. Doesn't carry any hogo/ funky characteristic of classic Jamaican rum. Lots of spices and fruity.

First sip reminds me of rich fruit cake with caramel topping and coco powder. It sounds like a weird flavour but doesn't taste bad either. Personally I find it very much close to a spiced rum especially its only been through a year aging.

Woody and toffee finishing, very much of an espresso. This gives a long finishing compare to certain aged rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum sells for only $16.99 (Total Wines & More) and at that price it's an amazing bargain. It reminds me a lot of the Appleton Estate rums, but with a little sweetness that makes it even better than the Appleton's to me.

Smells and tastes of honey, spice, molasses, and vanilla. A great rum for the money, and a great rum period!

Posted about 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Blackwell... A fairly cozy rum if I may say. Scent of raisin and maybe a little oily alcohol smell. Rich taste for being so young, caramel, dried fruits, vanilla and... oak barrel. Don't know if it's ever been close to a barrel but I taste it. A slight cognac tone also. A pleasant acquaintance I must say.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. This is a high end mixing rum and a low end sipping rum. In terms of value to taste this rum is a winner. A bit of sweetness and some heat on first taste but that mellows out quickly and fades to some vanilla, oak, and spice. This is quite smooth once the initial minimal heat fades. It works with just one ice cube, but also quite good straight up. I like my rum a bit sweeter, however for a mixed drink this one would be quite nice.

Posted over 4 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Not a bad Jamaican rum. Has a nice Jamaican Pot still flavor to it. This rum does include some natural spices with make it feel older but it does lack that oak you get on an older rum and does have some sharper edges to it. Overall a decent rum easy to drink straight up but is slightly spiced.

Posted over 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I don't like sweet rums, but the exception to that rule for me is black rum. I like the flavor of a rum that has a bitter tastes that come from a well made blackstrap rum that is light on the tails tastes like it uses true caramelized molasses rather than caramelized sugar.

Bottle: It is interesting and I guess the price range dictated the style to some degree.
Color: Deep amber, dark red-brown.
Bottle Aroma: Sweet with hints of a spiced rum.
Glass Aroma: Very similar to the bottle, but with oak.
Taste: This rum is never hot but has enough heat to be not dull, it isn't just a black rum, it really has hints of being a spiced rum as well with flavors I would associate with Xmas cookies.

When Blackwell first entered the US market the price versus the taste was unbelievable. It has since gone up a few dollars but remains a very good value. If this was planned, it was an excellent sales and marketing strategy for what is a very solid black rum. I use this rum to mix in all sorts of drinks with the favorite being Dark-n-Stormy where a ginger bitter is used with seltzer water. The lack of a overly sweet ginger beer while relying on the sweetness of Blackwell rum means this is a extremely pleasant evolution on a traditional drink and it becomes very pleasant indoors or in the summer heat.

Posted about 1 month ago by J. E. Clapham from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Don't be deterred by the styling - the label does make it look like tourist rum from an airport souvenir shop - this is a classy dark Jamaica rum, made by Wray and Nephew. It's fantastic in punches or in mixed drinks like Trader Vic's Far East Cocktail (recipe below). Excellent value, too. I'd choose this over something like Goslings Black Seal, of similar price, any day.

Posted about 2 months ago by Jack Willis from United States with 2 ratings

I had some of this when it was first released, and I wasn't all that impressed. Too much alcohol and kinda rough all the way through. I recently gave it another try and it was a whole new ballgame, or cricket match if we are speaking of Jamaica. Much more defined toffee and vanilla opening, and a lingering mellowness which was just not present in that first bottle, maybe three years ago.

I am shocked by how much the taste now reminds me of Havana Club 7. The first bottle I had tasted like a different, rougher version of Appleton Estate, or whatever they are calling it now. This is really very different. I do agree, though, that it costs too much (depending on where you buy it) but no one ever accused Chris Blackwell of selling things on the cheap. :)

Posted 4 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ich habe mir den Blackwell aus einer Laune heraus gekauft und nicht besonderes erwartet.
Das Flaschendesign passt zu der Preisklasse.

Beim Öffnen der Flasche und beim Tasting kam aber die Erleuchtung:
Wenn ich mir die Karibik vorstelle, ein frisch angestochenes Rumfass in einer Piratenkaschemme das ganze hinterlegt mit Reggae. Das ist der Geschmack von Blackwell!

Echt, authentisch ohne Zuckerzusatz und sonstigem Schmu!

Posted 4 months ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Deep dark taste. As good or better than Goslings. Nice to sip on ice. However, prefer other "aged" or "Anejo" rums

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Pur nicht so mein Fall, aber mit Cola meine momentaner Favorit

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Příjemná Jamajka, ve vůni dehet, sladkost, chuť jamajka. Můj styl je Oliver, Centenario, Autentico Nativo, El Dorado, být příznivcem Jamajky, určitě dám více...

Posted 6 months ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

This is great Jamaican funky rum with great price.

Posted 6 months ago by Greendanasaur from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Great to do rum & mixers, and rum punchs - not as funky as the Appleton range, which does make it more appealing to the uninitiated.

Posted 11 months ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Has a nice Jamaican Pot still flavor to it. A little harsh to drink straight, but a good mixer when you need a dark Rum.

Posted at Hale Pele 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

A smooth Funk like James Brown teaching George Clinton.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

In aroma You can find orange bark and cigar. In taste walnuts a smooth taste of cocoa.

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Alcohol burns, gets over it and comes the molasses, chocolate, damped old wood, buttery with hint of popcorn caramel. (84/18)

P- Medicinal, cardboard-y, sort funky with rustic dried fruit peel. Oak-y and missing any notable filler. (76/16)

F- Short-medium, tart and dry. (76/16)

B/B- 78/16. Acceptable aroma, flat and lifeless on palate.

Weighted Rate- 66pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.