Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.6/10 (106 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
6
25
37
26
5

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


106 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

not a remarkable one but a good one

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 89 ratings

In aroma You can find orange bark and cigar. In taste walnuts a smooth taste of cocoa.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Alcohol burns, gets over it and comes the molasses, chocolate, damped old wood, buttery with hint of popcorn caramel. (84/18)

P- Medicinal, cardboard-y, sort funky with rustic dried fruit peel. Oak-y and missing any notable filler. (76/16)

F- Short-medium, tart and dry. (76/16)

B/B- 78/16. Acceptable aroma, flat and lifeless on palate.

Weighted Rate- 66pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 165 ratings

Fine mixer, if you need jamaican, dark or sweeter rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 17 ratings

I'm not a fan of this rum at all. It has an unpleasant artificial vanilla taste that you wouldn't expect to see in a jamaican rum. It also sucks in cocktails that ask for jamaican rum because it is way too sweet for what is usually required. Even makes a mai tai seem like a bad drink. This to me feels more like an upscale version of captain morgan with a hint of jamaican funk.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Magne from Norway with 11 ratings

Dette er en rom som fint kan drikkes ren med is. eller blandes i drink. lukter melasse går litt over i svak krydder smak på slutten.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Tenhle rum jsem si poridil pred Vanocemi do vaječňáku. Byl vylbornej. Od te doby si tenhle rum kupuju i na vychutnavani. Sussi chut, ostrejsi vune, ale vylozene mi sedne. Tmava cokolada, ovoce, orechy...to vsechno tam jde najit.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by d from United States with 3 ratings

As soon as I tasted it, I told the Mrs.... Appleton Estates. I paid $14.99 and for that price, I'd say it's a good value. Cool label. Sipped it over ice, as is my usual custom. Washed it down with a Red Stripe. I think it would be a good mix with some Creole and some roots reggae.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 101 ratings

Beautiful bottle design. I experienced this rum as very mild and sweet with nozing flavors of chocolate, coffee and cane. These notes are also present at the palate and short to midsize finish. This rum is a good bargain (at its price) in comparison to many other medium-rated rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Liam from Canada with 3 ratings

Not the worst rum I’ve ever tried by any means. Definitely needs to be mixed though. I found it quite harsh on the palate when I sipped it but with some Pepsi it can make for a nice drink

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Smoke and Vanilla on the nose. Very harsh first taste. Flirts with chocolate, vanilla and mint beneath a VERY wooden tongue. Definitely interesting though. Would recommend this with cola. The sugar compliments the woodiness and allows the deeper flavours to come through stronger.