Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
115 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
6
24
44
29
5

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

115 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

While I know and respect Chris Blackwell to a high degree, this is a serious stand alone rum. Much better than Goslings and coming out of Wray & Nephew says good things. Not too sweet and a perfect black strap rum to get the job done.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 46 ratings

Super rich. Christmassy. A very high seven. Maybe a little too much of the black treacle taste for me, also no age statement or mention of it on the label, which makes me wonder how it’s this colour. It cost me £22 which is a ridiculous price for this kind of standard.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This rum has just the right amount of Hogo funk. It doesn’t beat you up with it like Hampden or Smith & Cross. You can sip this and enjoy it. Molasses and banana come though. Smooth and dark. Lots of punch. No sweetness. Long slow smoldering finish. Very nice Jamaican rum at a great price.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Standa from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jeden z rumů z nízké cenové hladiny a přitom sušší a chuťově skvělý. Určitě bude patřit ke stálicím u mě.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

Nothing very Jamaican going on here, A typical dark rum with some spices and flavours, not bad but nothing to get excited about either. I'll stick To Meyers for dark JA rum needs.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by DougDoesNotCare from United States with 38 ratings

I like this one for its subtle notes of Jamaican funk laced with molasses and vanilla with hints of oak. This one is great in cocktails. It's not great as a sipper, but that's alright. It gets the job done.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by chuck from United States with 25 ratings

Plenty of sweetness with a mild burn. Great in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Avast! This dark rum be decent for sippin'. She smells of a perfect balance of sweet and spice with no strong alcohol aroma. As for taste, she tastes of burned caramel, cocoa, and unless I be mistook, raisins and/or some other dried fruit. It be smooth with little burn. Enjoy this by itself - no need to go pollutin' it with other libations! The price alone makes it worthy of a taste. Aye, the bottle have no cork, and there be an image of a less-than-swarthy landlubber on the bottle, but everythin' else makes up for it. Scupper, sink, and burn me if I be lyin'...

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Well, I don't know if it's ever been close to a barrel but I taste it.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by toonstormm from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Title says it all. Perfect blend for a rum and coke. It’s smooth and understated yet not overpowered. Plus has a bit of weight behind it so is a proper drink. Really enjoyable and glad I bought it

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by J. E. Clapham from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Don't be deterred by the styling - the label does make it look like tourist rum from an airport souvenir shop - this is a classy dark Jamaica rum, made by Wray and Nephew. It's fantastic in punches or in mixed drinks like Trader Vic's Far East Cocktail (recipe below). Excellent value, too. I'd choose this over something like Goslings Black Seal, of similar price, any day.