Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


98 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I went to a very well stocked rum bar this afternoon. This was one of three that I tried and they were out of the other three on my list. This was the darkest and tastiest of all three. The WOW factor for me was quite high. In a close second place was Appleton 21 Year. In a distant third place was St. Nicholas Abbey 10 Year, the lightest of the three.

This is a mildly spiced and slightly sweet Jamaican rum. The hogo funk is kept to a bare minimum. I was so impressed with it that I went looking for my own bottle afterwards, all to no avail. Somehow, I eventually found my own bottles.

Update May 7, 2019: Using one's imagination, this one can also be used as a Tiki topper in drinks whereby 2 parts of coconut water are used to save 1 part of white rum rated in one's lower third of their ratings. I would have included a gorgeous picture of this drink, but being so late after the initial review is not allowed. This Tiki topper simply puts any average tasting drink over the top!

Update May 21, 2019: Out of the two dozen rums that wound up in my top ten percent in my ratings, this one stands head and shoulders above all the rest when it comes to value (aka QPR). I make a toast to Mr Chris Blackwell for creating this fine rum that is also very affordable!

Update May 3, 2020: This may be my best tasting spiced rum, but at my advanced age, I can no longer handle any spiced rum unless it is in very serious moderation. My rating still stands however.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jim Anderson from United States with 5 ratings

I think this is a suitable rum for some mixed drinks and punch. I would recommend trying it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

A good rum, works well with coke. Not smooth enough to work without a light mixer

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Strong flavors of fruit and spice to draw this on up as a closer semblance to a spiced rum than a Jamaican dark rum. Syrupy and sweeter than most Jamaican rums, this rum can be enjoyed neat or mixed with certain cocktails that aren't clearly over the top to decadent and sweet.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Some nice notes of vanilla, caramel and dry fruits, the end is pretty rough if you have it straight. I think it would make some great coktails thought.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kevin DeYoung from United States with 4 ratings

I enjoy this rum, and in my opinion just as good as some of the more expensive ones, great to mix but retains it's signature, this one is a can't miss mixer of quality at a reasonable price.

Posted about 3 years ago by RudeBwoyFromKingston from Canada with 1 rating

Straight up (pun intended), I tend to prefer Jamaican rums. As a Jamaican, I learned of rum -and-water quite early. This J. Wray product is a dark amber that matches its bottle and is best served to my taste with a dollop of water at room temperature. It's a young blend, strong, and for me ice heightens its harshness.

As described above, I sip it with a dollop of water at room temperature, a scenario that brings out the warm flavour of caramel and molasses. The nose is strong as one might expect for that young a blend and the aftertaste is more heat than anything - until you add that dollop which changes everything. The aftertaste loses much of its heat and the aforementioned flavours smoothly become apparent. I do find it quite impressive for its price and it's my go-to for sipping while listening to music, being convivial with friends or just relaxing, hence its rating of 8. It's a staple of my rum cabinet.

Blackwell is impossible to get in Canada but is available at the Duty Free when leaving the island. Despite its age, I'll happily compare it favourably to a Brugal Anejo or Havana Club 7 year, although at the end of the day, I'll just keep going back to Chris Blackwell's little gem.

Posted about 3 years ago by tomazzzo from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Tento rum jsem pil u kamaráda . Neznám jeho cenu, ale vzhledem působil levněji než nakonec chutnal . Není tak tělnatý a jemný jako jiné rumy , ale chuťově mě překvapil .

Posted about 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Rating kommer i morgen nå jeg er blevet ædru eller lige efter tør og sprittet, god duft

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

A lot of funky esters on this one. Probably a real back to early Jamaican imports to the US. A fun cocktail recipe. Try a .5 oz in a fogcutter

Posted about 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I don't like mixing rums, so this one is up straight. Dark gold. Quite a pleasant, spicy, raisiny nose with a tiny hint of iodine. On the palate it is very smooth. I read the database about sugar being added, and am slightly surprised that one of the readings says 0 and the other reading says a small amount. It is caramely with hints of vanilla which lead me to think that it might have had a touch of sweetness added. If it has, then it isn't over the top at all. There is still a dryness on the front pallet, which leads on to the vanilla mid pallet, and a nice spicy warm finish. Good length.

Easy to drink, if a little unremarkable.

Posted about 3 years ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

OK, the offset label and the plastic "seal" fit the story and the price is not bad. If I am in the mood for a "darkish/spiceish" rum this would be my choice, really it would be! I don't enjoy overly spiced rums but this one does not pretend to be spiced it just has a hint. Only use it as a mixer like lime and coke, but it works well in a dark and stormy if it's what you have on hand. In short, OK on my shelf, my wallet and taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Another in our rumvent calendar. We liked its smoothness and the mix of caramel, fruit, and spice on the palate.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Another one in the rumvent calendar. Tasty with a mixer, as so many of them are

Posted over 3 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Sur glace c'est pas très bon
J'espère qu'avec tu coke c'est meilleur

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

The initial smell of the open bottle, of sweet treacle and cherry was a welcome invitation. Once poured into the glass, the rum's brown / red colour was observable, along with a more noticeable alcohol smell. The initial sip (straight) was a little harsh, although the sweet "cherry coke" flavour was clearly evident. There are some other flavours in this rum, although I can't discern what they are. Once this rum is watered down a bit with some ice, then cola, it makes a great 'rum and coke'... Complex (a whole lot going on) to me... The only negative is the syrupy texture that is left in your mouth after taking a drink. Rating = 6.7ish :)

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Nose promises more. Surprisingly sweet. Could also work in cocktails.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Perfect rum for the Holidays. Starts with a cherry burst then comes a cascade of flavors of cinnamon, nutmeg, tobacco, nutmeg, orange and other citruses. So indicative of Jamaican funk and can be had for $20 USD. Ya Mon!

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

I really like this one with ginger beer. Not bad on its own neat, but definitely a cut above for a nice jamaican dark(ish) rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Vollmundig mit einem leichten Kaffeearoma. Pur, on the Rocks, als Cuba Libre.....ein echter Allrounder.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

A basic dark rum, but good all the same. I imagine that it'd be good with coke.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Only sampled this one from a 30ml dram so cannot comment on the bottle. Nice colour and great nose, smells - an abundance of burnt toffee and raisins and a touch of creaminess. Held in the mouth for any length of time and you get a slight tingle and a touch of heat, maybe spices, funnily enough i didnt think it was overly sweet unlike other reviews. A rather dissapointing finish something a bit chemically hanging around in the palate after I had swallowed. Shame as up until then I might have purchased a bottle but I couldn't see myself sipping and enjoying it enough after that.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Very nice rum. Sweet and tasty. It has toffey finish. Not woody, not harsh. Dark colour.

Posted over 3 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Prijemny rum, tmava Jamajka, vzhledem k cene nedela rozhodne ostudu.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marvin from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Silný tmavý jamajský rum - takže spíše do hořka, vhodný do odpovídajících koktejlů (dark and stormy), ale není nudný a dá se pít i samostatně.




#