Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
115 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
6
24
44
29
5

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

115 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

While I know and respect Chris Blackwell to a high degree, this is a serious stand alone rum. Much better than Goslings and coming out of Wray & Nephew says good things. Not too sweet and a perfect black strap rum to get the job done.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Blackwell... A fairly cozy rum if I may say. Scent of raisin and maybe a little oily alcohol smell. Rich taste for being so young, caramel, dried fruits, vanilla and... oak barrel. Don't know if it's ever been close to a barrel but I taste it. A slight cognac tone also. A pleasant acquaintance I must say.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. This is a high end mixing rum and a low end sipping rum. In terms of value to taste this rum is a winner. A bit of sweetness and some heat on first taste but that mellows out quickly and fades to some vanilla, oak, and spice. This is quite smooth once the initial minimal heat fades. It works with just one ice cube, but also quite good straight up. I like my rum a bit sweeter, however for a mixed drink this one would be quite nice.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Not a bad Jamaican rum. Has a nice Jamaican Pot still flavor to it. This rum does include some natural spices with make it feel older but it does lack that oak you get on an older rum and does have some sharper edges to it. Overall a decent rum easy to drink straight up but is slightly spiced.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I don't like sweet rums, but the exception to that rule for me is black rum. I like the flavor of a rum that has a bitter tastes that come from a well made blackstrap rum that is light on the tails tastes like it uses true caramelized molasses rather than caramelized sugar.

Bottle: It is interesting and I guess the price range dictated the style to some degree.
Color: Deep amber, dark red-brown.
Bottle Aroma: Sweet with hints of a spiced rum.
Glass Aroma: Very similar to the bottle, but with oak.
Taste: This rum is never hot but has enough heat to be not dull, it isn't just a black rum, it really has hints of being a spiced rum as well with flavors I would associate with Xmas cookies.

When Blackwell first entered the US market the price versus the taste was unbelievable. It has since gone up a few dollars but remains a very good value. If this was planned, it was an excellent sales and marketing strategy for what is a very solid black rum. I use this rum to mix in all sorts of drinks with the favorite being Dark-n-Stormy where a ginger bitter is used with seltzer water. The lack of a overly sweet ginger beer while relying on the sweetness of Blackwell rum means this is a extremely pleasant evolution on a traditional drink and it becomes very pleasant indoors or in the summer heat.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by RumRobATX from United States with 6 ratings

Tasted this in Jamaica and thought it was good enough to bring home.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by RumFrica from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Picked this bottle up online because I was looking for a different Dark Jamaican rum than the usual Myers's or Appleton 12 (we don't have Coruba in Holland). This is indeed a very dark rum but without the rich funky nose that the Jamaican rums are known for. This rum is sweet with strong hints of coffee bean, chocolate and toffee. Great in tropical cocktails like a Jungle Bird or Planter's Punch but also very decent went drunk neat. Blackwell is aged for two years and I wouldn't be surprised that they did a little caramel coloring. That's why I think a 7 is high enough.

Small pirate

Posted 2 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 19 ratings

Very pleasant aroma, gives you the carribean feeling. Funky nose, awesome taste, although you'd expect more after smelling it. Yet a great mixer and sipper as well.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Meget god rom til prisen. Jeg havde egentligt købt den til tiki drinks. men det meste er drukket rent.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Fourrunner08 from United States with 31 ratings

I like dark rums and I like this one very sweet like molasses. You'll need to add a few drops of water to tone down the sweetness and open it up.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

This one is like a navy rum with dark flavours.
The nose is quite complex and beautiful. I get dry fruits, blueberries, burned sugar and coconut.
Then some vanilla cookies, some molasses and dark wood.

The taste starts sweet with burned sugar, then blueberries and coconut with vanilla. It's tasty but at the end are some notes of young distillate (it's only two years old).
The middle is spicy then sweet with caramel and some bitter notes of tannins. Then again pleasant with coconut and vanilla cookies.
The finish is spicy again with flavours of coconut, vanilla cookies and blueberry muffins.

There is the issue with the dilution and it could be older. It should have more strength.
I would rate this one with 79 points. I contacted Blackwell support for an older version in cask strength, but they don't respond.

Nose: dry fuits, blueberries, burned sugar, coconut, vanilla cookies, some molasses, dark wood
Taste initial: burned sugar, blueberries, coconut, vanilla, flavours of young distillate
Middle: spice, caramel, some tannins, coconut, vanilla cookies
Finish: spice, coconut, vanilla cookies, blueberry muffin
Aftertaste: some blueberry muffins

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (15€): 5/5