Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
116 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
6
24
45
29
5

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

116 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Tried it as an alternative to Myers Dark. I like it. Highly recommend it with a lime and a bit of tonic. Makes a nice cocktail to tote around at a party.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 156 ratings

Denne rom er lidt skarp i smagen og efter smagen er ikke super.
Det er jo heller ikke en af de dyre rom, så jeg vil nok bruge den som mixer rom.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

Sweet with some spices. The taste doesn't last very long, but you shouldn't expect that from a rum this young. But for what it is, it's well worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

I ordered this at a bar and was convinced they had given me kraken instead. Very similar flavours to kraken, smooth enough to sip but too sweet for my palate with the vanilla flavours overpowering the rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

i really really like this, a nice sweet dark rum,good sipper but for me perfect with coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

As a sipping rum, it needs some serious work. It's smooth enough, and the rum flavor is good enough, but rather than having undertones of caramel, molasses or hints of spice, it tastes like it has undertones of Benzine, Toluene or Zylene. To me, it really does have a taste of unpleasant chemicals or solvents. I purchased this as a sipping rum, as such, it's fallen far short. Might be fine in mixed drinks, but that's not my thing.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

While I know and respect Chris Blackwell to a high degree, this is a serious stand alone rum. Much better than Goslings and coming out of Wray & Nephew says good things. Not too sweet and a perfect black strap rum to get the job done.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Blackwell Black rom overrasker meget, ikke så skarp som forventet, kan drikkes ren.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

good molasses, but not sweet. Has a decent mouth feel but not quite what I like in a sipper. May be a good alternative to goslings or Meyers but not a replacement.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Gosling's Black Seal and too confected to compare with other Jamaican rum's.

Both Black Seal and Myers offer a better molasses rich experience.

Appleton and Hampden Estate offer a better authentic dunder heavy Jamaican rum.