Posting your rating...
Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve rum

Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Jamaica | Aged

6.7/10
116 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
6
24
45
29
5

Rate Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

116 Blackwell Black Gold Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

While I know and respect Chris Blackwell to a high degree, this is a serious stand alone rum. Much better than Goslings and coming out of Wray & Nephew says good things. Not too sweet and a perfect black strap rum to get the job done.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Strawberry Hill blah blah blah...Chris Blackwell blah blah blah... Bob Marley blah blah blah... Shut up and pour me the glass! I dont give a sh*t about the story, I only care about what the rum is like. Well...its not bad. I like the absence of unnecessary sugar and the taste of dry fruits that reveals in your mouth after some thrilling delay. I really didnt like the bottle and that happens very occasionally to me, made very cheap impression on me, especially the plastic seal on the side.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 162 ratings

There are a berry jam, chocolate, alcohol, molasses in aroma.
Burns first the palate and throat, then the whole mouth, sharply. So that the taste can't be determined.
In the aftertaste sweetness, a soapy consistency. Heaviness in the head, strong heat, a bit bitter.
Nice rum with strong aroma. Successfully combined with a chocolate. If this rum dry then why my head hurts after a big glass?

Small 4u93db6v8yhz

Posted almost 5 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 130 ratings

Good taste but best in a dark and stormy! Not so great straight up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Christopher from United States with 4 ratings

Smooth for sure, color is a deep auburn. The smell is of rum soaked lady fingers! (For tiramisu, I'm Italian) the scent is a pleasant scent of a worthers candy or deep caramel! I'll go back to this for sure!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Sefikhugo from Czech Republic with 39 ratings

Opravdu silný rum, který hodně zahřeje, není příliš chuťově výrazný.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Typical rum from Jamaica, with good price and taste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 7 ratings

I found this to be a smooth and sweet (but not too sweet) of a rum. Great for a dark and stormy, or for sipping; especially for the price point.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

Blackwell rum is a bit strange to me for a Jamaican rum: I can't discern any noticeable funk. It's sweet, has a blackstrap molasses-ness to it, very little burn, but, unfortunately, almost no aftertaste. It'll work for sipping if it's the only thing around, but I'd suggest this as a mixer. However, as of Feb. 2016, it has the worst screw-top I've ever seen on any bottle. Mine stripped right away when opening it, and another person I know had his strip when the bottle was half finished.

It does make a very nice Hot Buttered Rum, though.

2 tsp maple syrup
45ml Blackwell rum
1 or 2 dashes Angostura Orange bitters (optional)
6 whole allspice
hot water to fill a 250ml mug
butter

EDIT: works well in a Hot Toddy, too.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is a rather sweet rum with definite vanilla, toffee, and cream flavor. Not much of a burn. More of a nice warmth with a little tingle on the tongue. Doesn't have much of an oak tone to it although it is aged. The finish however has a strange flavor which is a bit objectionable to me. Not an overwhelming bad flavor but just enough to be noticeable when taken neat. However mixed in cola and fruit drinks the finish is covered. Definitely a good dark rum for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

Okay as Golden Rum. Wouldn't put it above any other mixed with coke
Average, but great after taste.