Posting your rating...
La Mauny 1749 rum

La Mauny 1749

Martinique | Aged

5.6/10 (14 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
1
4
4
1

Rate La Mauny 1749

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 La Mauny 1749 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

I'v taken a strong liking to agricole, and have begun browsing brands to get a better feel for my preferences. First go at La Mauny. Given the young age and affordable price, I wasn't expecting anything mind blowing with this bottle, but was actually pleasantly surprised. The nose is fresh and grassy with strong notes of cane and hints of vanilla and caramel. Not bad but the alcohol has some presence in the nose. Sipping reveals a fairly direct and simple agricole, but in a good way. The grassy tones are now very present, supplemented by hints of cane, caramel and finally oak on the finish. Neat or mixed, works either way.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dmitrov from Belgium with 9 ratings

Mediocre rum that is to expensive for the limited taste

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 6 ratings

............................................................

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Robe claire. Arôme de levure et herbe. Assez léger. Atypique et vraiment pas mon type de rhum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 49 ratings

Watery, light oak with typical agricole funk - almost "dirty". While oak is present, it strikes a balance behind the more vegetal notes of the distillate. Overdiluted?

I don’t know how to review this rum. I had written commentary on how raw it is on the edges but I keep returning to this bottle time and time again. The real problem is that ambrés in general aren’t reputed to be top tier agricoles so I fear that once I get more into the style I’m not going to be able to rate them high enough. Hold on.

This review is subject to change as I get more into les jus de canne.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

La Mauny 1749 is a starter Rhum Agricole, both on the price and contents. The bottle is fairly high end, color is very light, strong odor of vanilla and alcohol to the nose, and then the super dry finish. Not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

I have no comparison yet for this agricole. You can taste this rums origin better than the molasses variants. A nice oak age does give the tastes you want and need from your rum. What sets this of from the non agricole section is a hint of planty bitterness to it that i taste more in whiskey or cognac than my regular rums. Great new experience in my rum drinking lifetime.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Cal from Canada with 4 ratings

Nice colour, smell and initial taste but turns to a bitter aftertaste quite quickly

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Very clean and direct rum. I love the nose, so much cane in it. Also the aroma makes you think the rum would be smooth, which it really isnt which i find very entertaining.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 39 ratings

Rhum doux en bouche mais avec une touche d'explosivité au final qui révèle des arômes fruités.